We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIVINE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruszwurm

Ruszwurm
Szentharomsag u. 7, Budapest 1014, Hungary
00-36 1 3755-284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Aracaju, Sergipe, Brazil
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“DIVINE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We also came here based on our tour guide recomendations, as she´d pointed out that was the oldest pastry shop in Budapest having survived dictatorships and wars!

The place is quite cosy and charming and the staff is very helpful and friendly!

I had a superb chocolate cake, and my husband had a divine strudel and a great gelato (as they also serve gelatos over there).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    176
    59
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old style cofee restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Very old and nice sweet pastries restaurant. Excelent interier, house made limonade, stylish furniture

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“Very tasty Ruszwurm Kremes cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This cake and the style of the place are well worth the visit. The lemonade is based on soda and is not cold enough for a summer day. I wish there was some music on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
“Beautiful interior, fantastic cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place with it's historic interior and fantastic cakes. As a cukrászda (bakery) it is more targeted to selling cakes then serving them, so don't be disappointed if there is no table available, but enjoy a picnic in the beautiful neighborhood!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Try the ruszwurm cream cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We came here based on the recommendation of our tour guide as this was her favorite cafe. With a lot of history and charm, it is tucked on the Buda side so perfect spot to stop for cake and coffee after sightseeing. We ordered the house special cake which is sort of like a napolean. It was really tasty. Cute and charming especially if you are sitting out on the sidewalk.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruszwurm also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ruszwurm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruszwurm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.