We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Great, Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquaworld

Aquaworld
16 Ives Str, Budapest H-1044, Hungary
+36 1 231 3760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Aquaworld is one of the biggest indoor water theme parks in Europe offers unforgettable entertainment to visitors of every age throughout the year. The adventure centre is covered by a giant dome, 5-storey high and of a diameter of 72 m. It is so big it could host comfortably a family of blue whales, the biggest animals on Earth. The monumental replica Angkor temple surrounded by suspension bridges, towers and pools is a breath-taking sight. The world of the "serene statues" is a perfect counterpoint to the use of the most modern architectural and technical solutions, in line with the Aquaworld conception, to create a modern shrine of aquatic culture offering complex adventures to visitors. Aquaworld is located on the northern outskirts of Budapest, at the Pest abutment of Megyeri Bridge, along the M0 ring, in a green area, yet close to the town centre. It has an outdoor car park with a capacity of more than 1000, easily accessible via the Aquaworld exit of the new Budapest M0 ring.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great, Great, Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

So much fun in this park.
Value for money is great.
The facilities are very good and everything is well maintained.
there is a free shuttle from the heroes square.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    10
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Escape from the heat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Kind of in the outback of budapest you need to take the yellow line to ..... then the tram to...... then a 15 min walk located next to the ramada hotel.

Be sure to be on time we had to wait one and a half hours to get in cause it was full and everybody decided to go swimming it seemed.

They did however make arrangements to make the wait bareable we got free drinks of coca cola while waiting in line and thankfully the line was inside away from the hot sun.

Once in we got electronic wrist bands already preprpgrammed with acces to your locker.

If you buy anything it gets charged to your wristband and you pay on the way out great system no hassle with wallets or loose money

Price is a bit high but then beverages and food are low once in overall a great way to escspe the heat for a few hours

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mons
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars, great 3-day visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Bad comments first - misses the mark with the key 6-10 year old demographic. They have, and enforce pretty well, height restrictions on 8 of the waterslides. Mr. 7 years old at 125cm was just a tad too short for everything. His overwhelming, bouncing-off-the-walls, excitement got a bucket of pool water dumped on it when we got blocked at the mountain tube slide. Wait until your kids are 10yr and 150cm tall for best effect.

Good news, though - hits the mark on 0-6 year olds - super kid's areas inside and outside, rated up to 10 years old. My son ended up spending several hours each day in these spots and didn't miss a beat, he was pretty pleased with the jungle & kids wide slide there, and playground. lots of support for little one. Plus appears to be infant & toddler swimming lessons early each day, 0800h or so.

Also a huge success for 10-15 year olds- 8 great slides to try to kill yourself on. I went down all of them, and yeah, there's mostly a good reason for keeping little dudes off some of them. I'd relax the standard on a couple. But this age group will wear themselves out all day long.

And no issues for the 15-40 year old group - slides AND bikinis everywhere. Ah, such a feast of eye candy for all ages. Which brings us to the 40 and up - slides starting to get to be not so much fun, but an endless parade of beautiful women is always welcome.

For the ladies, there's plenty of beefcake, too.

Lots of pools, check out their website, which has a pretty good, accurate video tour thing.

We spent 2 full days in this place, and my son cannot wait to go back (Great, getting to Budapest is soooo easy and cheap) (well, actually it is).

Lots of lifeguards, and they were on the stick, whistling infractions and keeping order. Watched them deal with a HUGE (ridiculous) fight between two groups of dudes over ownership of an innertube, they did a good job. Water testing is constant, and they did shut down one pool for about 5 hours, guess some little guy lost his swimdiaper, who knows.

We stayed at the adjacent Ramada resort with a half-board package. Not a bad way to spend a long weekend; 2 or 3 days and you'll be exhausted.

As stated elsewhere, it's a long way from city center, so don't plan on much pool AND shopping, that would be hard. Think of it more as a cruise ship on land experience.

And, while I can't comment on the overpricing issue, for me, from Belgium, stuff was not very expensive compared to Belgium! Win for me and the local economy!

Would definitely go back. And despite my opening remarks, my son cannot wait to go back either.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roros, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Too much advertisement for such a small waterpark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

What to say about Aquaworld? I would say it depends on your “very personal” opinion. Away from the city center (around 30 minutes by bus) not so much :)
If you are staying at Ramada, then probably you will find out this Aquaworld a super cool place to visit, but if you are an around 30 years old couple, probably you prefer something different. The ticket pricing depends on how long you want to stay:
From around 2600HUF for 2 hours on weekdays to 4990HUF the whole day. At the bus Hop on – Hop off you also have the opportunity to buy the 4 hours ticket for 3600HUF.
Once you get there and validate your entrance, there is a big mixed changing rooms with lockers included in the price. The locker works with a kind of plastic watch which acts like a time controller and open – close the locker. There are also individual changing rooms, showers (separate man from woman) next to the lockers, hair dryers and bath clothes dryers.
Regarding the leisure park, in my opinion it worth’s only if you are going there with kids as they have animation program. If you are expecting as they promote “One of the best indoor aquatic park in the world” then you are not on the right place.
There are only 8 slides and the swimming pools are too small for such an amount of people. 2 big Jacuzzi, always full and difficult to find place on it… 1 crowded swimming pool and only 2 small ones outdoor swimming pools. The slides were also not really good… we have a normal – regular silhouette and we constantly needed to use our hands to impulse ourselves in the middle of the slide. We even saw a man crashing with his forehead in the end of one of the tubes as the space is much reduced … so we decided to stop sliding … ;)
Regarding transport, you have 2 options if you go by public transport: Either Bus 230(450HUF) or Hop on – Hop off sightseeing bus (Free). Check the schedules on internet. The free one has a very narrow schedule (around 4 trips a day each way). I would also like to remind you to validate your ticket because we suffered a very awkward situation  We left Aquaworld in order to catch the 230 bus leaving 3.50pm because we were a bit disappointed as I will explain soon. We ran to catch the bus, we paid the tickets and we forgot to validate at the machine. Wow! A controller came and asked for our tickets and when he realized we were tourists, he made us get out of the bus and pay a fine. It doesn’t matter if we told him to ask the bus driver about the truth or be understandable, as the bus was empty and he saw us running and sitting with relief otherwise we should wait for one more hour. The thing is that after trying to talk to the controller and invite him to call the police so they could attend us, he said: “OK, you pay now to my pocket what you have in your wallet and I forget”. We were running late to continue with our narrow schedule and we were in an industrial area (bit scary and unsafe) so we decided to just give him the 4000HUF remaining in my wallet and go… What an unofficial robbery!!! We were so surprised and shocked by the whole … Now thinking twice we should never probably get out of the bus… quite naïve… :(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Do not go there with small children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The park itself is very very average. Good thrilling rides, a lot of pools, overpriced food and good atmosphere. I have enjoyed the whole day there.
If you are thinking of short holiday in Ramada Resort - do not stay there. I cannot imagine three or four days there. It is very far from the city center, you will have to wait for bus for ages, everything is very hard to find. Much more better is to stay in the center - hotels are much cheaper there and you can travel to aquaworld when you are tired of tourism. Believe me, the resort is not worth of money you will pay for the hotel.
If you have small children - under 10 years or under 140 cm, do not go there. There is only one attraction for them. All other are for higher and older.
It is possible to bring your own food and drinks there - the coffee is extremely cheap, food and other drinks are extremely expensive even they are very average.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquaworld also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Aquaworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquaworld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.