We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unworthy meals in pleasing environment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Icon The Restaurant

Icon The Restaurant
Hess Andras ter 1-3, Budapest 1014, Hungary (District I / Buda)
0036 1 889 6757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #300 of 1,981 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: International, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: Innovation and tradition meet at Hilton Budapest’s Icon Restaurant. Modern and elegant, the stunning new Icon Restaurant embraces the future and yet pays homage to the history of the Royal Castle District. Icon has introduced warm, fresh and contemporary décor throughout to create a relaxed, friendly and informal atmosphere. The Icon is ideal for getting a taste of a culinary experience or to host a special event in the private dining room. Featuring an upscale 250-seat restaurant with a private salon and 16 panoramic windows guests of Icon can choose from a distinctive Hilton Breakfast to an extraordinary à la carte lunch and dinner menu as well as a sumptuous weekend brunch.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unworthy meals in pleasing environment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Attended a business breakfast - enjoyed good program + excellent service, but meals were below average: half-baked scrambled eggs, quick-frozen croquettes, tough crescents, bakery filled with some artificial jam... So: location and service 5, meals 2.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food in the Hilton Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent New Year's eve in the Icon restaurant. Food selection was fine. There was a Jazz trio making the evening more special. We dined there on one more occasion and I have to say without the groups in the New year the experience was much more enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Icon The Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable dining experience at our
restaurant.
I hope we may book your table again soon!
Best regards,
Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hotel handy and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The wait staff was very good and the menu contained local and non- local food. We ate early so there was no issue with reservations but I imagine it might be a good idea later. Opens at 6:45 so if you are loking for an early meal, no can do.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Icon The Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with us and other valued Travellers of the Trip Advisor Community.
I was so happy to hear that you found the serivce and attitude of our restaurant team professional. I will make sure to share your feedback with them. Please tell your friends about our hotel and come back to see us again.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view. Almost something for everyone.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My breakfast was included in my 3 day hotel stay. Beautiful dining room and 180 degree view across two very large dining rooms. The maitre'd was very gracious, quick and hard working, but there seemed to be a hit or miss on waiters being helpful. There was some confusion over sections and maybe some laziness or competitiveness amongst them over your table not being their job or their section, sadly. So, it varied from excellent to completely ignored.

Buffet contained all the usuals for Europe.
Homemade excellent nut-filled mueslix and assorted cereals with yogurt and fruits, fresh and prepared fruit salads, both. Four kinds of juice.
Cold cuts, cheeses, salmon and cold fish with the accouterments of capers, cream cheese, pickles, onions, cucumber slices and tomatoes. The hungarian sliced salami was paprika rich and spicy good.
Hot bar was vividly orange scrambled eggs, excellent meaty bacon, party sized brats and paprika rich poultry sausages. Varying potatoes each day, kind of soggy-steamed, but great roasted tomatoes and grits. Great selection of gourmet individual mustards, honey, jams and marmalades. Of course, being Budapest, the apricot preserves were the best.
Staff served tea and coffee pots to your table, and pitchers of orange juice, so you could make your own refills, or brought espresso and lattes from the kitchen.
Great selection of breads to toast yourself, and at least 20 kinds of muffins, pastries and sweet breads. One extremely delicious quick bread filled with citron, fruits and nuts was my favorite.

Wonderful start to my morning, but didn't excite me like a Hilton breakfast should.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Top friendliness and top view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Icon Restaurant is part of the Hilton Budapest. We had dinner here for our anniversary and we made the perfect choice. Laszlo, the restaurant manager, warmly welcomed us and escorted us to our table: it was a big surprise to get a table with one of the best view of the city (overlooking the river, the parliament and just in front of the “Burgberg”.
The menu has a wide selection which can make happy everyone: from the classic (like for example Caprese) to Hungarian dishes, vegetarian and the Hilton Classic (i.e. Hilton Hamburger, Club Sandwich or Caeser Salad). Laszlo recommended us something Hungarian and we enjoyed these dishes. My wife took a delicious goulasch soup and I was positively surprised by a salad with goose liver stripe as starter. Auch the main dishes were pretty well prepared and delicious. We had the chance as well to try the dessert: my cheese cake with the caramel sauce was a dream!
Laszlo recommended us as well a good cabernet sauvignon from Hungary.
During the dinner the service was always kind and attentive, avoiding that our glasses were empty. Everything was good accompanied by piano live music
I can only suggest this restaurant: friendliness of the staff and the breathtaking view are two of the best characteristics of this location.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icon The Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Icon The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icon The Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.