We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zugligeti Niche” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zugligeti Niche Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zugligeti Niche Camping
Zugligeti ut 101, Budapest 1121, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #37 of 471 Specialty lodging in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Zugligeti Niche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is really special. Everything centres around the beautiful old tram stop building. This has a bar serving meals (eg. goulash and very good chips), good coffee, and excellent pancakes in the morning. Marta and the staff are so welcoming and hospitable, and the place is kept impeccably clean. Even in busy August, when what seemed like, the entire Italian Caravanning Club were there, it always felt like the showers had been cleaned just before you used them. When we were there, the whole camp smelt of wood smoke giving it that extra ambience!
Even though it's a long, thin, linear site, it didn't feel cramped, perhaps because of the lofty trees that surround the place. A quirky and welcoming site, which was the highlight of our road trip! Also, well positioned for Budapest. The bus takes about 40 mins to the main train station, and bus tickets are available from Marta,who can also provide helpful maps. The end of the bus line is right outside the campsite. There is free wireless in and around the tram stop building. A calm haven in a busy summer city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After reading so many positive reviews for Zugligeti Niche Camping, I was very keen to come here and see for myself. My expectations were exceeded!

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. Martha and Co are excellent hosts, the facilities (wi-fi, hot showers/bathrooms, laundry) are plenty and clean, the grounds are well maintained and the nature surrounding is beautiful. The idea of being a solo female camper was somewhat daunting before I arrived but I always felt safe, enjoyed great hospitality, I felt at peace and at home.

I really can't rate this place highly enough, I think if you can pitch a tent then you should definitely stay here!

Also there is public transport to the site, bicycle paths to the city and a chairlift next door that goes to a beautiful lookout over the city. The restaurant serves great food (+ free breakfast) which you can enjoy in the lovely indoor/outdoor dining areas.

So there you have it. Bring your friends, family or just yourself, I guarantee you will enjoy it!

:-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Väldig bra camping bra att äta och fint sanitär och trevlig personal.
Very nice campsite with very nice people and excellent service.
The good thing is that you get a great breakfast in the morning that is included in the price.
We received a bottle of wine with departure. We really want to go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, holland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A wunderfull small campsite, first camping we ever visited where breakfast is included. A nice start of a day in budapest: sitting in a lovely former tramstation with your fellow-campers enjoying a daily changing buffet. Small campsite, bus to the center around the corner. Bathrooms simple but clean, friendly staff, and a bottle of hungarian wine as a goodbyepresent.
What a wunderfull way to start to travel through Hungary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The camping is small, you have to be a little bit easygoing about space ... BUT the camping is very comfortable, showers and bathrooms are clean, the restaurant offers good food at convenient price. The staff is really nice, they will help you in any way. We had a group 24 campers and the camping manager helped us to find a bus for more than 50 people to reach Godollo castle. This was GREAT. She knows the way to do business! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Re-visited Zugligeti Niche after exactly a year, and its still outstanding. Really enjoyed the (inclusive) buffet breakfast. The deep shade, in Budapest's notorious summer heat, does make a lot of difference. Easy to get to the city centre with a direct bus right from opposite the site entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Only a brief stop whilst we were completing our three transports trip to Elizabeth's lookout and the children's railway

Highly recommended as very hospitable and friendly bar/ restaurant we discovered by accident but would recommend to others

Really needs better sign posting as a super stop off before taking the 291 bus back to Budapest

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zugligeti Niche Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zugligeti Niche Camping

Address: Zugligeti ut 101, Budapest 1121, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 471 Specialty lodging in Budapest
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Zugligeti NICHE Camping is, the harmonious "nest" in the recreation zone of Budapest. Our prices include taxes, free breakfast, hot running water, internet connection etc. Discounts for groups, for children under 14 years etc.Bus services going every 18-20 minutes give you freedom venturing into Budapest to visit Buda Castle, museums, theatres, exhibitions etc.Restaurant = "58-as kisvendeglo", with Traditional Hungarian dishes.Dogs are welcomed. Open all year round! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zugligeti Niche Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zugligeti Niche Camping to your Saves list