We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location 20 mins walk to riverside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jozsef krt. 5, Budapest H-1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #62 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
MILTON KEYNES
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location 20 mins walk to riverside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights in Dec 14 at the this hotel. We walked to Riverside where they have a big Christmas market and a good shopping area. Hotel is very central and has Tesco's , Spar, Burger King and Mcdonalds in the same square as well as traditional Hungarian cuisine so will cater for all tastes and budgets. Hotel clean and staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard are quiet but rooms at the front facing the square are great for watchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    208
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
55
189
40
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for 4 nights 24 to 28/11/14. A well located hotel right in the heart of Pest offering
easy access with a 20 to 30 minutes walk to shopping centers and the Danube.Spacy clean rooms
well equiped,wonderful beds offering excellent quality sleeping,friendly helpful staff,acceptable
breakfast.A good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Courtyard as part of a tour group. This is a great looking hotel with great rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful but the breakfast was average. Free wifi is also just available in public places.

This hotel has a great location and if you are willing to walk then you can get to most of the places. We strolled from the Castle comp,ex back to the hotel while doing a bit of shopping at the Christmas markets in the pedestrian quarter.

I will seriously consider this hotel for a next visit to Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated in Budapest citycenter. Very good and friendly personel.
Rooms are very modern and well equiped.

For meetings and conferences very good. Little extra during the breaks; cake, pudding, fruit!

It looks and is very comfortabele and clean. Metro is very close. Just 1,2 km from the riverbank and the "posh" part of the centre. It is a Nice walk. Very close is also Some of the popular nightlife around.

Room Tip: I had a Nice room with view on the plaza. Very big Windows, Floor to top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was great, the tram stop as well as the metro was right in front of the hotel. Service was good too, staff members were very friendly. Easily accessible from the airport if you get the airport shuttle, the hotel staff helped us arrange for the return pickup as well. Rooms were new, I liked the overall standard of the hotel. Again the staff were very polite; they wished us whenever they saw us. Would recommend this hotel.

However, we wished the hotel had provided free internet in the rooms, although this was easily remedied by the free internet available in the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed four nights at this new'ish hotel. Its convenient to the metros and trams, about a mile from the river and the tourist central area in Pest. I had a nice upgrade to a suite and faced the courtyard instead of the street as I am noise averse.
Overall, very comfortable, modern and clean. The room was great.

The breakfast was average, friendly service. The gym was small but they had a sauna for use as well. I used a nearby gym which was was full size and very reasonable (1490 HUF a visit).

I heard a little noise from some construction and movement upstairs as well as hallway traffic. Manageable though. This hotel is a great value, Id still go with the Marriott on the river if had more euros to play with but this is a great option for those of you who have been to Budapest before and can deal with being a little (a real little) away from the tourist center.

Room Tip: get a courtyard view if you want to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was staying several times over several weeks in the Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Hotel.
The main reason was the fair corporate rate we got, but besides that, i was overall satisfied with my stays and therefore decided to come back.

The location is around the edge of the city center, which i personally found as pretty perfect: you got the metro and tram stops right next to the Hotel, you can even take a 15min stroll to the city center and its posh pedestrian areas; you got the lively old Jewish quarter just 2 streets away, and on top, you will still have more the feeling to experience the 'real' Budapest, rather than just the shiny tourist facade downtown. Hanging out in the city center, your forehead will say TOURIST and you better keep your hand and eyes on your belongings (like in pretty much all big cities) - but around the Hotel, i felt as safe as in my hometown.
The Hotel is partly integrated into a shopping mall, a Bank, fastfood and very good decent restaurants are all close by. The Hotel is connected to a public garage (of the mall - new, light, clean, secure) and you will get reduced park vouchers at the reception if you ask for it.

The reception was nice and quick, i always found the receptionists friendly and welcome. Once, when i was asking for a new reservation the other week, i was reminded the other day from the lady there (when i was just passing by) that she took care of it! Much more than I expected.

My personal highlight are the rooms of the Hotel: if you ask or are lucky and get some rooms in the old part of the Hotel (as it is build out of a , around 100 years old building , and a modern part which is integrated in a shopping mall) , then you will get very spacious rooms, extreme high ceilings, a small balcony and great windows. The bed was great to sleep and the best of all was the silence... I got once room 285 which is just in front of the elevators, but as much as i tried, you cannot hear the smallest sound through the door. The only sound from outside, was the occasional rumble of the tram passing by. Blackout curtains do the rest for a perfect sleep.
Internet was not always free of friction, but once it was running, i had no further complaints. There is a fridge in the room, but it comes empty, so if you want to get some filling, you either go the Hotel own shop next to the reception, or your stock it from the shops outside.
Laaarge shower! i love it!

Now last not least, to the only downside of my stays: the restaurant.
On my first stay, we had dinner there as we were tired and arrived late. I ate in good restaurants and mediocre ones. I like fine dining but i am also happy with just simple food. But that i have to tell you here that the food i had was actually a bad experience, does not happen very often.
The waiters were nice, but nothing more. The starter i had came with an undefined black mass of former vegetables - what was supposed to be caramelized was just cloying, acid, uneatable. The main course was a steak with Bearnaise sauce. Where the meat was the only OK food at that evening, did the Bearnaise come as a small bowl of liquid butter with egg crumbles (!??!?) The eggs in the Bearnaise have just coagulated! A mistake that is without excuse for anyone who claims to be a cook.
The breakfast experience was unfortunately influenced by my first evening. My fellow travellers found it OK, but i could never enjoy it - and therefore had my breakfast outside the hotel.

Nevertheless, i DO recommend this hotel. For all the above said and if you (like me) are not so much looking for hotel food anyway, you will have a nice and comfortable stay in this Hotel!

Room Tip: i can definitely recommend the rooms 281-285 - ask for rooms in the old building part, as the ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferenc H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor from your recent stay with us.

Thank you once again for sharing your positive experiences from your stay with us. Also thank you for the compliments about the building, the location and our rooms.

I wish to extend my sincerest apologies that you were disappointed with our restaurant.
As one of our valued guests, we would like to regain your trust in order for you to enjoy our hotel in the future.
Please rest assured that your comments are forwarded to the F&B department and will be discussed shortly.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Address: Jozsef krt. 5, Budapest H-1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#49 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#63 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoys a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops.Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well.The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.