We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean hotel @ Budapest center , definitely preferred hotel in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jozsef krt. 5, Budapest H-1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #62 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good clean hotel @ Budapest center , definitely preferred hotel in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel was a bit difficult to reach by car, and if you miss a specific exit you may end up driving a clover route to finally reach the place because of the one way roads.

But having finally reached it, I can say that the hotel is superb - Very clean, nice furnishings, good working airco, good tv, good bathrooms, good breakfast selection (a fine mix of fresh cooked eggs, champignons, and fruit). Room also has good fast internet (which is not free, but was included in my rate...).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

We enjoyed reading your compliments on our guest rooms and the facilities which are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I am very proud that the breakfast selection was a pleasure for you.

I hope you would consider to stay at our hotel again the next time when you arrive to Budapest.

My very best,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    208
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
55
189
40
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very good as usually you can expect from a Marriott hotel. Room was excellent, only missing thing for me was that the hotel does not have a lounge. Will definitely stay there when back to Budapest next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us such a positive comment. We are more than happy that we could ensure you every expectation from a Marriott brand. We are also glad that you have enjoyed our spacious rooms. As Courtyard is a select service brand among the Marriott brands, instead of a lounge we offer a modern lobby, where our guests can chat, relax or connect to the Internet with the free lobby WiFi access.

Again, thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We would be more than happy to accommodate you at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center when your travel brings you back to Budapest.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff was great and always helpful. Right next to the subway at a very central place. The breakfast was excellent, well prepared, with a variety of goods. It was the conference hotel but I would probably choose it anyways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center and writing such a positive review. I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our staff. I am happy that you have found the breakfast tasty and abundant as well as that you were satisfied with the central location of the hotel.

The employees will be thrilled to know their efforts were acknowledged and appreciated.
Let me thank you once more for your valuable feedback and I cannot wait for the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future which will be hopefully as pleasant as this previous one.

My very best,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel sits smack at the intersection of the metro (line 2) as well as the tram. Getting in and out and all over town was a breeze. Hotel staff is pleasant but the real fun is at the bar. Daniel and his team make for fun happy hours! Rooms are typical Courtyard--not many bells and whistles. Happy with the amenities for the money I pay. Breakfast spread is very good but I'd be grateful if they'd work on their scrambled eggs. I had dinner there one evening and the foie gras was unbelievably wonderful! Concierge was nowhere to be seen most of my stay even though business cards were all over the place. My four nights at the hotel were most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Perfect springboard for sightseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experiences and write such kind words regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

I am glad to learn about your compliments on our rooms and location – indeed we ensure easy access to both metro line 2 and the tram. It fills us with joy that you were happy with the restaurant, especially with the happy hours. Please be assured that we have noted your slight negative comment as well.

Once more, thank you for your generous feedback. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Another city, another F1 weekend, another hotel!

Marriott is not a brand I would usually choose to stay in as i've been disappointed many times in the past, but this trip i've ended up in this '4 star' property.

Firstly the good points. The front desk check-in was efficient even though I was never asked if I was a Marriott Rewards program member. The hotel seems to be vast with rooms down labyrinthine corridors which are well signposted. The rooms are a good size with A/C which works properly, this is not common in Budapest. Internet in the rooms is either wired or Wi-Fi and whilst expensive works well.

Now to the bad:
There is no luggage service. Your taxi will dump you outside as quickly as they humanly can (parking restrictions) and you are then left to get your luggage through the revolving doors. That's fine if you have one bag, but more than that and you will have to hope then nobody steals the others whilst you negotiate the door. Why they don't have a bellhop is completely beyond me.

I usually leave hotels early in the morning and expect my room to have been cleaned by the time I get back late afternoon (16:00) so that I can get through the shower having spent the day baking trackside. Here 'the rule is they have until 17:00 to clean rooms' and whilst mine was done promptly once i'd called housekeeping twice (no answer) and then complained to the front desk that is not acceptable in a property which claims to be '4 star'. If housekeeping cant get them clean earlier then you need to hire more staff.
I asked to speak to the duty manager. An hour later and no sight nor sound of them, nor a call to say when they might find time in their clearly very busy day to talk to me. I now remember why I don't like the Marriott chain.
Won't be back in a hurry as there are many other better properties to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our spacious rooms and the methods of Internet access. It fills us with joy that you were happy with our efficient staff as well.

I am sorry to learn about your problems with the taxi service. Our staff at the reception would be delighted to help you with the luggage next time, please inform us previously about this need.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the service provided to you by our housekeeping staff. Based on your feedback we are going to perform an in-depth examination of this issue.

Your review will aid us in further improving the experiences of our guests, which is of prime importance to us.
We sincerely hope you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back as an in-house guest whenever your either business or leisure travels bring you to Budapest.

Best regards,

Ferenc Horvath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was a awesome and a very reasonable rate. Good food, clean rooms that have been recently renovated and a great location with public transit literally out the front door. I did think that the market and bar were a little pricey compared to other places in the area, but they were convenient. Also, I wish that free Wi-Fi was included in the rooms and not just in the public spaces. The staff was always attentive and courteous. I would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center. I highly appreciate your honest feedback.

It fills us with joy that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs. It was also a pleasure to read your description of the rooms. Please be assured that I will share your praising words with the entire staff. I am glad that you were satisfied with the public transport. I am delighted to inform you that we have completed the installation of the new routers, therefore, Wi-Fi Internet is now available in all of our guest rooms.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

very good location but sad stuff not smiling at all and not helpful when asking question they answer it with taffy way they don't want to answer but the the stuff in the breakfast was very helpful and great
no one to take the bad from outside the hotel very rude , and they did`t to take the luggage to from the room when checking out
but clean hotel and very good location and near from the hip off hip on tour

Room Tip: the main entrance view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Budapest, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Michanova,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the traveling community regarding your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center.

I am pleased to learn that you liked the cleanliness and the central location of the hotel which ensures easy access to the more important stations of the city.

Nevertheless, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the reception staff by finding them sad and unwilling to react to your questions.
I would like to assure you that your remark has been transferred to the Front Desk crew in order to prevent any repetition of this matter as guest feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Let me thank you once more for your valuable review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Best regards,

Ferenc Horváth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Address: Jozsef krt. 5, Budapest H-1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#50 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#63 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoys a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops.Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well.The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.