We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jozsef krt. 5, Budapest H-1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #62 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed just for one night here but the room was very nice and comfortable and clean. It exceeded my expectations as I was just at the Budapest Marriott and was not so impressed with that hotel. The hotel is a good value and they don't charge a lot of money for using their internet (I think it was free). This hotel is in the city and it is very easy to catch the underground or the trams to different parts of the city. Buy your transportation tickets in advance as they do not sell them on the trams or the trains. As this was my last night in Budapest before coming home, I left all my change in the room for a tip. However, when I checked out, I was short a few forints and the helpful staff at the front desk gave me the change so I didn't have to exchange my dollars. That is service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    208
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
55
189
40
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

During my stay in the hotel personal belongings were stolen from the room.
The hotel staff provided their assistance in communication with police but general impression from the stay was very poor.
No compensation was provided by the hotel management.
Be carefull when you stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

I chose Courtyard by Marriott Budapest because I have good experience of this chain hotel in other cities... unfortunately, the good expression had been ruined this time.

Hotel room is ok, Courtyard standard. But the hotel was packed with tours. Lobby, lounge and breakfast place were filled up with people from morning to night. If you want a quiet hotel to stay, it is definitely not your choice.

Service was terrible. No smile from hotel staff especially those at the reception. When they were handling check out for other guests, I asked a quick question to a staff looks like the supervisor who was doing nothing - can I take tram across the river to castle. He didn't bother to listen to my question and refer me to reception staff.

On my last day, airport mini shuttle supposed to pick me up at 1:45pm. When it was 1:41pm, I asked the reception who actually called for shuttle, whether I should get on the bus outside. She didn't check or even look at me then said 'the shuttle bus outside is for the crew', I told her the one for crew has gone and this one just arrived'. She replied 'you needed to call the shuttle 24 hours in advance', I told her 'you made the reservation for me yesterday'. Then she told me the one picking me up is on it's way. I didn't trust her as she is not actually helping, I went out to check with the driver and it's the right one.

When I asked questions like any WIFI in hotel or late check out, they replied me only with the price, no personal conservation at all.

Also, the breakfast was not nice, average varieties but bad quality, e.g. the scrambled egg was stiff, guess they mixed the egg with water. The restaurant is crowded every morning, needed to line up a bit at buffet table. Couldn't get a table on the last day, as the staff didn't clean the table after the guests gone.

The hotel is two metro stops away from city centre, however, there are lots of other choices with similar price around the main tourist spots. I will not stay in this hotel if I go Budapest again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

I have no words to describe how amazing this hotel is, the location is perfect, if you are looking for food you only cross the street and you see mcdonalds infront of you!!! If you need a drive you walk 1 minute to the metro!!! If there is anything u need to buy you walk 5 minutes to andrassi street where you can find everything you want!! If you need to exchange the money you find a shop with arabic name(crossing the street and going left- 2 minutes walking) there u can find a good value of forint!! The breakfest is OK, could be better but it's really ok for europe. The service in the hotel is great, whatever u need they will help u, if u dont know which sights to visit u can ask in the reseption and they will guide u with the map. The room was very clean and big! Well decorated. Difinetly worth every $. Have a good stay! :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed a longweekend in this very nice hotel. The hotel is quite new and you can tell! The room i stayed in, not sure if it was a standard room as i booked though a third party website, was huge. The breakfast was very nice with an extremely serviceminded trainee. If someone from the managent reads this he has glasses and no nametag only trainee but i bet he wont be trainee for long!

What i didnt like was the experience in the reception both checking in and checking out! While the receptionists were nice there was a supervisor (?) present at both times standing at the side of the desk looking straight at us with a stoneface. He didnt move he just stood there as a guard. Not very welcoming but the worst part was the RIP OFF taxi. I asked the receptiob for a taxi one evening and whe it came it was the hotel car and i only went three blocks, five mins, and it was a total rip off. I payed less the day after when i went to the airport but then i just got a taxi at the street

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions and is clean and good size.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I don't understand the reviews that say this hotel is in a "bad" neighborhood. It is in a "busy" neighborhood and the surrounding area still has vestiges of the old Soviet dismal buildings but there is little or no danger even after dark. We walked everywhere. The staff is totally service oriented; the rooms are beautifully maintained and cleaned and the price is very reasonable.
I would definitely choose this hotel again upon my return to Budapest.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and were not bothered by night noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center

Address: Jozsef krt. 5, Budapest H-1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Budapest
#44 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#50 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#63 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoys a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops.Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well.The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Budapest City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.