We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and good placed hotel in Budapest!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Hotel Zara Budapest to your Saves list
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and good placed hotel in Budapest!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this splendid hotel where the staff was very helpfull, the restaurant excellent and the room very clean and nice! We also enjoyed the overlooking bar and the beautiful frontdoor!
I should recommand it to everybody for a Budapest break!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Machteld2013,

Thank you for the recommendation! I hope you will return, and you will give a chance to serve you on a five point service level!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    748
    126
    25
    13
See reviews for
232
1,114
87
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JOHOR BAHRU
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

As the hotel was pre booked by the tour agent, I didn't have any idea about this hotel until we checked in on that day itself. The tour bus stopped right at the door step of the hotel in the city center of Budapest. We entered through a very old and conventional rotating door which is not powered by electricity. It was quite heavy to push through the door. Soon we were at the lobby to check in for the night. This hotel has no compound as it is situated right at the city center. The lobby is quite vintage with a pianist playing at the corner of the lobby.
I was quite disappointed to find out that the room is small and worst the blanket provided is so small, exactly the size of the bed, which is not suitable for winter season! The washroom is small either. However breakfast is great with variety of food available. My room is facing a wall with a big painting. The room is clean with friendly staff. We were too rush on our tour, so I cant commend on other facilities of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear HPLIM,

Firstly thank you for your feedback although you gave us only three points. As you write also in your review, your visit to Budapest was a rush, so probalbly that was the reason that you didn’t call the Housekeeping for a bigger - eventually for a double size?- blanket. Fyi, the size of the blanket is 135x200 as per international standard and has nothing to do with the season (the filling has to do with it). Regarding the „very old and conventional rotating door” I would like to inform you, the main building of the hotel – wich was actually the former Hungaria Spa, more than 100 years ago - is a national heritage building, so we had a very unsparing ordinace for the restauration. This is the reason why we worked with a goldsmith, who has used archive photos for the restauration. This copper revolving door is unique in Budapest. I appreciate your nice comments about staff and cleanliness.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at the Continental Zara for 3 nights with my fiance for a City Break. Upon arrival we were greeted by the front desk staff and checked in efficiently. Upon getting to the room we immediately noticed that the double bed we requested was not present, and that we were given a twin room. It was only because we were so tired after our journey that we did not go back to reception to change the room, instead just pushed the beds as close together as possible and lumped it. Other than that, the room was very clean (daily maid service) with great pressure on the shower. Both areas a little small, but more than adequate for our purposes.

The hotel location was excellent, with some great restaurants and bars/pubs nearby. We ate at the Italian restaurant opposite the hotel on the first night and had an excellent meal there. The hotel breakfast in the mornings was very good, with plenty of choice. We didn't use the Spa facilities so cant comment on that. We only used the bar once, as it was like nearly every other hotel bar I've experienced: soulless. Its not the hotels fault, its just the way hotel bars generally seem to be.

All in all, this was a very good hotel which I would happily recommend to any of my friends/family looking at a city break in Budapest. I'm glad I chose the Zara over some of the more recognised chain hotels in the city. (The Marriot, Intercontinental and Hilton are all ugly buildings which ruin the wonderful skyline Budapest has to offer)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Golfandshowhound,

After reading your really all-in review I have immediately started to think how we can give some „soul” to our Galery Cafe, although personally I like it very much. If I can ask you, find me at your possible future visit, and with a good coffee we can discuss it. On the other side I do apologize that we gave you a twin room instead of a double room. By the way, thank you for your high scores and also thank you for your recommendation.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Continental Hotel Zara is a perfect hotel, in line with the spirit of Budapest. The service from the reception to the bell boys was immaculate, as well as the design of the rooms. The only problem is that the rooms are a bit too narrow, however cleanliness and atmosphere compensate for this. Most important sights are within easy reach. Good restaurant within the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear gmarkov1981,

As the General Manager of the hotel I can’t wish better review as yours. I’m very proud of my team and also for the hotel. Thank you for your nice comments about ARAZ Restaurant. We awaiting you back!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Best bits: - Decor and way hotel is set up makes this hotel great. Reception and piano lounge on ground floor with amazing toilets too. 1st floor has a very functional cafe/bar. Nice and cosy away from front door where most hotels have theirs. Smallish pool/Jacuzzi/steam room on top floor. Pool is very small.
The staff work incredibly hard to make your stay perfect. Advising you on tours and days out. Bar staff are very attentive.

The bad bits:- the rooms were hot and temperature control was complicated. Hot food at breakfast was Luke warm.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The New York palace cafe is a must on your to do list
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Yvonne42-12,

I’m sorry that we have lost one of our point because of the temperature both room and breakfast food. But on the other side thank you that you say we are still superb! Thak you again for your booking.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a short city break in Feb, Monday through Friday.

The hotel lobby is quite large, with a grand piano at the rear amongst big comfy leather chairs, it is over looked from above by the hotel bar which is very smart also, unfortunately we only discovered it on our last night.

On arrival we found the reception staff, namely Kinga, quite brisk and impatient with us when we questioned the room rate as it was about £30 higher than what we had booked via booking.com, I figured I would bring it back up on check out but forgot, so I was left with a little bit of a bad taste from that. We also had to pay the room rate up front, and some more to cover extras that we might rack up as well - we felt this was quite odd for a nice hotel like this, I would feel that practice is more suited to a budget hotel.

The room was a good size (classic double I think), the bed was large and very comfortable. The room was always spotless after housekeeping, there was a turndown service offered every night and also a little chocolate. It was kept to the right temperature thanks to the easy to use thermostat. We were on the 6th floor and the room was VERY quiet, we didn't hear another room once and the hotel certainly wasn't dead.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night and it was terrific, delicious food with prompt and efficient service!

We also made use of the spa facilities on the top floor, the water could have been a little warmer but again it was clean, well staffed and very handy to have use of.

Overall we had a lovely time, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel was smart with great decor and in a good location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Speightaz,

Thank you for your nice comments about the cleanliness and about the service of our ARAZ Restaurant. Also thank you for your positive criticism about the Galery Cafe, I’m thinking a quite long time already how to advertise it more efficient amoung our hotel guests. On the other side I’m very sorry for the behavior our concierge Kinga, I will personally talk to her soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in early February and couldn't fault the hotel at all . All staff friendly and nothing was too much trouble . They arranged transfers to and from the airport for us . Breakfast was very good and the bar area was a relaxing break from all the walking and sight seeing at the end of the day ! Reasonable prices and good service .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Bethanyshuan,

Firstly thank you for your high scores. Good to read, that you found us „friendly and well organized”! I hope you will return soon!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Hotel Zara Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel Zara Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Continental Hotel Zara Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.