We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Save Saved
You added Continental Hotel Zara Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel gives off an aura of being very grand and luxurious and it most certainly has the look and feel of it. The Hotel is beautifully designed and the always-friendly staff look immaculate.
For the price the hotel was a steal and definitely is a 4* hotel, a real gem in the heart of Budapest.

There were a few minor gripes, however our stay in the hotel was ultimately very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks your overwhelming feedback and hiding your minor critisism what I am very open in order to learn for the better service.

I was pleased to read that your stay was pleasant.

Thanks a lot and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,114
    629
    112
    23
    10
See reviews for
195
934
73
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Some little things could have been better but overall it was really good.i really liked the rooms and the services...and one thing that was great about it was the design and decorations and the colors in the rooms and bathrooms..that was impressive...I also loved the kind staff .they were so freindly and they alway had big smiles...:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words. I would have been very corious to know what little things could have been better. Without it we do not have the chance to change or correct it. May be you can share your thoughts with me directly, I would appreciate it.

Many thanks and kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is right in the heart of the city with great food and sights in all directions. Do not neglect the amazing rooftop covered with grass, places to layout and a pool. You can gaze out over the city as the sun goes down or just close your eyes and relax as you listen to the gentle sounds of this charming city. The staff are outstanding, the rooms are luxurious and immaculate, and the price is just right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I could imagine from your wholehearted review how relaxing it was laying on a sunbed in the grass rooftop above the city. I appreciate your compliments on the staff, on the roof and on the rate-value ratio.

Many thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice design, good conmfort, excellent location.
Could be a little bit cleaner- espcecially the spa area. Pool area is overcrowded too small for the amount of guests. No free parking. Our room was noisy since it was overlooking the street with some cafe's working very late.
Breakfast is excellent, wide choise, nice dishes, service staff very good, outside area for smokers not so great as insides a bit over crowded. Staff ok, might be a bit more pleasent.
Would recommend it for short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and for your positive remarks and even for your critical observations. When the hotel is full especially in the summer months tourists take breakfast quite late and most of our guests like to enjoy the unique roof top wellness area. Sometimes it is really difficult to scope with so many guests at the same time. Since the entire hotel is non-smoking we at least have the opportunity to provide space for the smokers in our inner courtyards and they are not forced to use the front of the main entrance.
No hotel in the city center grants free parking except if it is in a package and not all the guests are coming by cars. If they would not use our parking space they could ask for a discount on the room rate, this is why this service is additional.

Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent two nights in continental zara and we enjoyed our stay. The staff is really helpful and the hotel itself is really nice and classy. The rooms are quite small, especially considering the prices of the rooms, but this is compensated by the beautiful spa, garden and pool on the rooftop. When temperatures are high the pool is great to relax from a day out in the city. The continental breakfast was excellent too. Quite pricy, but the rooftop made it worth the money for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for oyur valuable feedback. I hope you found good value for our facilities and services especially the lavish buffet breakfast and the roof top wellness area.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here with my MBA cohort. The staff members are wonderful. Three of the staff in particular were extraordinarily helpful. Najat, Gyula and Adam directed me to great restaurants, ruin pubs, and helped arranged for visits to the Gellert and Szechenyi baths.

Watching the sun set from the roof top in a pool is absolutely amazing. The breakfast and BBQ party is delicious. I wish I could stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your kind review especially in the names you highlighted. It is always very complimenting to read if a guest receives personal care and attention. I was happy to read also, how much you liked our USP the roof top swimming pool with hte breathtaking view on the city.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I have no idea what kind of people have given this hotel good rating. Either they are friends of the owners/getting very very cheap rates/or has little idea about what a good hotel looks like. We entered the room and it was stinking of stale a. We had to open all windows but it quite does not help. The room size is tiny and dingy. We are paying more than €100 a night for a little box. Although we specified that we want a double room, they have us a twin room. I just checked in and am very disappointed at the size of the room vs the price we are paying per night - in a city where a can ride of 25Km takes € 20! Very very disappointing place.....pls think about value for money before you book this hotel... pls...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your emotionally overheated review. I hope even you cannot seriously think that the owner can write more than 1200 positive reviews and/or can so many guests pay cheap rates. I am afraid your problem is rather with the size of the room and not with the twin rooms (which was actually booked) and could definitely not with the stinking of stale. We have extra offered you a higher category room with more space and amenities for a surcharge but it was ignored. Wish I had known what you mean on a ride for 20 euros!
I sincerely hope the fruit basket as a gesture of the management for the birthday upon arrival was a surprise and was appreciated. Nevertheless your room rate is also far less than 100 euros.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continental Hotel Zara Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel Zara Budapest 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Continental Hotel Zara Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.