We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homebase” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Save Saved
You added Continental Hotel Zara Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“homebase”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Nice hotel,location is very good case u are placed in the middle of city,all the sightseeing are close by.Standard room was more than enough,nice beds,tv,sound proof,beautiful bathroom and also a good swimming pool on rooftop to relax after a long day.Place is new and really clean,spend there five days and even get a small jar of marmelade as a christmas gift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Christmas is already far away when we surprised our guest with a small jar of marmalade. It is good to read that you still remeber well all the small details like the nice beds or the soundproof walls. Yes, you are right the neighborhood is rather an advantage nowadays with plenty of bohem bars and pubs.

Many thanks for your review and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,130
    637
    112
    23
    10
See reviews for
199
940
73
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Continental for 2 nights in January 2013 and although the hotel was very comfortable, we had a room facing the atrium and found it a little noisy at breakfast time. The location of the hotel is ideal, with the majority of sights within close proximity. We ate at the hotel, Araz restaurant and the price of a 3 course meal with drinks was extremely reasonable with great food on offer. If we were to go back to Budapest we would certainly consider staying here again. The shower in our room was amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very greatful for your review picking up some of our strength like the amazing shower in the bathroom. I was sorry to hear that you experienced some noise from the ((kitchen?) or from the terrace of the breakfast room (?). The terrace is not open in winter some heavy smokers use it in the cold. For the noise I apologize a lot.

Many thanks for oyur feedback and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner gave me a 3 night break at Continental Zara as Christmas present after being recommended it by two friends.
We were allocated a standard room which was ever so slightly on the small side, as was the bathroom. It was very comfortable though.
Ladies, if you have long/thick hair take your own hairdryer as I was disappointed that the hairdryer was quite weak AND located in THE BATHROOM. Made me very nervous drying my hair.
The breakfasts were okay. Nothing special.
My partner used the spa but didn't think it was worth what he paid for it.
The hotel decor was beautiful, especially the public areas. There was a great mural on a wall which would otherwise be really dull wall.
Location wise the hotel is about 15 mins walk down to the main tourist part of town.
Recommend getting the hop on/hop off bus tour (reception sell tickets). Ticket lasted two days and included a river cruise down the Danube.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review and your high scores despite you found the standard room quite small. I am sure you may know we have bigger rooms as well. I found hairdryer in the room and not in the bathroom only in the UK. Since the majory of our guests use it in the bathroom it was abvious to install it there.
I am happy to read that you liked the mural and the entire decor of the hotel.

Many thanks again and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just back today from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Zara Continental and could not fault it one tiny bit!
Staff were wonderful, hotel was spotless! It was exactly what you expect from a Hotel and find hard to get these days!
Would definitely go back again!
Rooms were a bit small but perfectly adequate and shower was marvellous!
Breakfast was really good and the choice was excellent, the staff worked really hard at keeping everything replenished!
We ate one night in the Hotel and again it was wonderful and if you charge it to your room you get your drinks half price which was a perfect deal.
Area did appear to be not the best but was okay and we felt safe enough walking about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your kind review and for oyur compliments on the staff. I did not know that our showers are so good so far, but several guests highlighted it recently.

It was also good to read that you benefited from the 50% discount on alcoholic beverages if dining in our ARAZ restaurant. I hope you were satisfied with the food and with the service as well.

The area around the hotel is quite bohem with pubs and bars but still safe despite the outlook.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent hotel, very friendly staf, clean and modern rooms. Standard room is a bit small, but interior design is very nice and comfortable. Enough to choose from at the breakfast buffet, but the coffee was a bit off taste. Eventhough we had a double bed, with 2 single sheets, it wasn't quite as romantic ;-).
There is a gym and also a spa with rooftop swimmingpool, which cost an additional 6,00 euros each time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your high scores despite your critisism. The enrance to the rooftop wellness area is not included in the group rates and in - not direct - travel agency's rates. It is recommended to check it in advance. Direct reservations - no intermediares - include the complimentary entrance to the wellness area.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Budapest for a late Valentine's getaway. What a wonderful find this hotel was! Pre-trip arrangements made by email were all tended to by our arrival. The airport transfer service was awaiting our arrival at the airport. Check in was efficient and the staff very friendly and attentive to our questions as tourists in the city. The room was maintained to an excellent standard... And the bed and pillows... Best nights sleep I've had in ages. The Concierge desk was able to provide tourist information, tickets, maps, etc which was very useful. The restaurant provided a great range at breakfast and the evening dinner menu was a fabulous choice of Hungarian and other European dishes - great recommendations from our waiter. The spa was very clean and a great way to relax after walking the streets and sights of the city. Wold be lovely to come back in summer when the outdoor terrace is in use. Staff were all extremely friendly and attentive to the needs of each guest - their spoken English was faultless. I could not recommend this hotel enough for a wonderful stay in this beautiful city. Excellent service

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

how complimenting it is to read such a good feedback! Many thanks for sharing your experiences with the readers of Tripadvisor. I am sure your honest feedback ahs more value for us than any advertisment. Good to hear you liked the bed and the pillows (recemtly re-filled), since this is one of the most important things in a hotel room.
We are planning to fill up our outside swimming pool early April so you are welcome again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A really nice hotel, the staff are polite and helpful, the rooms are clean and stylish...and the beds comfortable to sleep in. You can choose what type of pillow you would like. The showers lovely and hot. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel (10mins max). Great location without the city noise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

yes you are right, the comfort of the bed is important, therefore we do not accept any compromise in this field and even offer more than our competition.
I was happy to read that you found the room silent although our hotel is located in the downtown. I think you are are when when you find our hotel good located within easy access to most of the sights of the city.

Many thanks for your short but suggestive review.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continental Hotel Zara Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel Zara Budapest 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Continental Hotel Zara Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.