We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Save Saved
You added Continental Hotel Zara Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top Marks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the place. Lovely staff. Clean rooms. Good location. Food more than acceptable. We would definitely stay here again. And recommend a stay here for a lovely relaxing time. Rooftop spa and pool is excellent. :-D

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your time and efforts on placing this short but suggestive review. This sounds brilliant both for the potential guests and for us too.

Thanks for the great scores and see you again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,040
    570
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
177
873
65
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed there for 5 days for a city trip. Our room was very clean, so was the rest of the hotel.
The Welness-area was not that big, but nice enough to swim a bit or sit in the jacuzzi.
Breakfast was fantastic, everything filled on, good food and nice drinks. A lot of variety and friendly staff.
I almost cannot find negative points...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback on the breakfast and on the wellness area. I must assume you had a pleasant stay with us, you could not even find any negatives, which sounds us very complimenting.

Wish we would deserve the highest scores based on your compliments!

Anyway, many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Well located on the pest side of the river within easy walking distance of the city.
Managed to get a fantastic deal staying for 3 nights with breakfast included (breakfast is self service and has more than enough choice).
Hotel is beautiful and very well maintained.
Service and attention to detail is remarkable.
Highly recommended as a base for exploring the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Helene H,

It is so flattering to read such nice satisfied reviews! On the other hand also very dangerous for potential guests. What happens if we fail or cannot meet the high expectations? Reading some reviews with a score of 4, full with compliments and positive remarks, I have to think that we cannot exceed expectations, which are sometimes too high.

Many thanks for your recommendation!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Came in summer and stayed a couple of nights - the swimming pool & sauna was really good and the breakfasts incredible. Came back for my birthday in February. Not quite the same as we had booked through a different agent ( check carefully if you want to use the pool without extra charges ) - we had really wanted to use the pool/sauna every day this time...
Breakfast still amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I hope by the different reservation arrangement you still enjoyed your stay. In certain rates the entry fee to the wellness are is really not included, but I am sure the 6 euros price is reasonable.

I was satisfied to read that you liked our lavish breakfast!

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from staying 5 days at the Zara Continental and thought it a really comfortable, well located and just generally nice hotel to stay in especially as I was alone. The staff are friendly and helpful, they have an excellent breakfast and good room service and there is a rather nice spa and a pool on the roof.I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your nice compliments and feedback. All in all you liked everything, we hope next time we will deserve the maximal scores.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Continental Hotel Zara and we had a great time. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. I found the bed too hard and, although they couldn't replace it(understandable) they arranged for extra duvets to be placed under the sheets to make it softer for me. The breakfasts were very good and well varied. All in all an excellent base to explore Budapest.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor(non-smoking) and found it very quiet and easy to access the bar and recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you found the mattress too hard what is really unique. I am happy that my colleagues found a solution for it.

It makes me happy to that your room on the 2nd floor was quiet and you were satisfied with the selction and quality of the breakfast too.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this through a groupon deal - very reasonable price and though looked really nice in pictures. It measured up equally when we arrived.

Service on the reception and restaurant was really friendly and helpful!

The breakfast was fanstastic- all quality ingredients and plenty of selection too. Often a buffet breakfast can be mass produced, poor quality food and lukewarm. Not the case at Zara - all fresh and left me full up till evening meal.

The hotel also boasts a luxury spa with gym too. Only complaint was there was no air conditioning in the gym.

Really recommend this hotel. Great price and luxury stay. Feels very boutique and great location to explore Budapest!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really thank for your excellent title and scores. I was more than pleased to learn how much you liked our breakfast. Yes, we especially emphasize the quality of the breakfast with fresh ingredients as a good breakfast is a very good start for the day.

Thanks a lot for your recommendation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continental Hotel Zara Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel Zara Budapest 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Splendia, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Continental Hotel Zara Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.