We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Hotel Zara Budapest to your Saves list
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel during December 2023, and it was brilliant. The hotel was included within a flights package, so it was very cheap in comparison to others we had looked at! The rooms were clean and adequately sized. The staff were friendly, attentive and spoke good English. Breakfast was typical of the Continent, i.e cheese, ham, frankfurters etc. The only drawback of the Hotel, if any, was the 'Wellbeing area'. Simply, it just isn't bug enough for the number of guests it has to service. In general, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recomend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Chris T,

I appreciate your praising words on your brilliant stay. Lucky you with the good deal! Nice to hear that you were satisfied with the rate too as some guests find it occasionaly high compared to other hotels. I am sure however that our hotel is always good value for money considering the wide range of the services and the unique facilities.


I am very greatful for your recommendation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    864
    149
    29
    17
See reviews for
262
1,310
99
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have stayed here before but this has been our cheapest stay yet. £90 for a 3 night stay. Check in was quick and business like. The room although on the small side was very comfortable and we both commented on what excellent sleeps we had. The public areas are beautifully designed

Location in Dohany is excellent. The Synagogue, second largest in the world, is a 5 minute stroll away. There are lots of keenly priced bars and restaurants, and more have opened since our last visit 4 months ago. Way cheaper with just as good quality food than those around the tourist traps around Vorosmarty Ter and Vaci Utca. The closest metro is Blaha Lhuja which is a 5 minute walk away. Alternatively walk 10 minutes to Deak Ferenc where the 3 metro lines converge

Only gripe was the very expensive breakfasts at 30 euros for the 2 of us which was almost as expensive as the room. Again we chose to have breakfast at Cafe Ladro turn left and a 2 minute walk away. A very good breakfast for 2 was £6.

All staff were very pleasant and polite and spoke English. On arriving back at the hotel staff were always on hand to help with the large revolving door and welcome you.

Wi fi worked well unlike previous trips

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Alan H,

I thank you for the overwhelming attributives which were not fully refleted in the final scores unfortunately. I am sure you had a very special deal therefore the price of the extra breakfast was not in line with the room rate you paid. I have to say the rate of the breakfast is normal considering the normal room rates, but I understand it was a big difference in your case.

I think your feedback on the service of the front staff and on the free wifi were all useful information for future guests.

Many thanks for your review and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Its a beautiful hotel and the service is lovely. The revolving doors are brilliant and everyone is so accommodating, except one concierge who didn't break a smile at all during our conversation. But maybe she had a bad day. But you get a welcome pack with all the attractions, adn tips on where to go, so that was really helpful for us.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best i've been to considering the price we paid for it! The room is compact, but there are no complaints.The pillows are a little to bulky but then again that's a small issue. Wifi was incredibly useful and great for it to be included in the price. I would ask that they forewarn customers that they take their deposit in euros rather than forint, as this charged my prepaid card commission, which I won;t get back now.

But on the whole, I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your excellent scores despite of some discrepencies and misunderstandings. I just guess which Concierge was who did not smile since it is not characteristic to any of them. We will change some of our pillows as of next year, that is the good news, but I am sorry for it.
It sounds me strange that for the released pre-authorisation a commission is charged. It has nothing to do wether it is a forint or a euro deposit, no commission is charged for a transaction which did not take place.

I hope we can personally clear this situation during your promised next stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel at the start of this month and it really is a very good hotel indeed, spotlessly clean, modern and really excellent choice for breakfasts. Location was good, a 5-10 minute walk to the centre but we knew that before we booked. Lots of nice touches (a loan umbrella if it's just started to rain, lots of plug adaptors English to continental - oddly enough we forgot to take ours for the first time in years). Would thoroughly recommend it. The only advice I would give is to check what exactly is included. We did venture to the Wellness centre with it's great heated pool, saunas and jacuzzi - great facilities. On the first occasion we just walked in, got our lockers keys/ borrowed towels, absolutely fine, just gave our room number. On the 2nd occasion we were asked for12 euros for the 2 of us and it was only then that I found out that it was chargeable. The room information said nothing about a charge, I was not told when I registered and indeed I ended up paying for that first use. Not a big deal because as I say the hotel is really good, just a little more attention to the hotel facilities information required.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sahring your experiences with the readers and giving us such high scores despite of the miscommunication on the wellness entry fee. I can just guess what happened. I assume the first free entry was a fortune for you and an oversight from the receptionist. I apologise if this information did not reach you from our travel agent. Our receptionist are trained to recap all the details of the reservation upon check in, but I have to say from your example that there is room to improve by trainings.

I hope the small nice touches compensated you for the inconveniences with the entry fee in the wellness area.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is a beautifully renovated former bath house in the heart of Budapest. The staff is friendly and the interior is lovely. However, some of the design elements, particularly in the bathroom, interfere with function. My room was comfortable but quite small and without a desk so I would not stay there again on a business trip. It would also be nice if they allowed guests access to the sauna before 9 am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I hope your decision is not definite not to return due to the unfunctionality of the room. I have to call your attention however that we several room types with different sizes, even corporate (business) rooms we have with proper desk. I high season we are planning to open the wellness area - including the saunas - earlier than 9 am.

I recommend you to request either corporate room or a deluxe eventually an executive room to enjoy your stay as most of of our guests do.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked a deluxe room and although it was very clean and tidy it was still quite small. We had a kettle but no point to plug it in? We had an adjoining room which was not brilliant as we could hear everything the people next door were saying, and got woken up every morning at 4am when they came in and again at 9am when their alarm went off. Breakfast was lovely, but make sure you go down before 10.30am as they start clearing up and make you feel like you should rush. But overall the hotel was lovely, the people friendly and it was in a very good location.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get given an adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that even the deluxe room was not spacious for you enough. I think the bigger problem was the noise from the adjoining room what I am really sorry for. I am sure we would change it for you if you had let us known it or we had room available. Unfortunately I cannot figur out from yor review what happened.
Breakfast is served until 10.30 since from 12.00 we open the restaurant for lunch and the entire restaurant must be cleaned and the set up changed by noon.

Despite of the above two valid critical remarks, I am very grateful for your high scores.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a great first experience of Budapest, firstly to stay in a hotel like this....excellent!! The revolving door entrance is usually pushed for you by the 2 doormen who take your bags as soon as you enter. All staff are as pleasant as this also. They say that the Dubai staff are the most attentive, well they must be outstanding as this Hotel's staff are the most pleasant that I've come across yet. The foyer of the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are small but also beautifully decorated. The hotel has a brown and gold theme to it, which makes it feel classier than the 4 stars that it's given. Lighting in the rooms is a bit dark if you are trying to hunt for things in the dark wardrobe but still OK. The spa is good, not great and there is a small charge to use it, even although I thought that it should be free if you were a guest. Food is wonderful with the Hungarian Goulash etc. but wait til you go down for breakfast. Second to none. The choice is superb and all freshly cooked. The hotel is within reach of the hub of Budapest, the food market, the Danube and all the other tourist attractions. Highlights of Budapest are the Spas, the House of Terror, the Food Market, the Food, Goulash soup, the Spas and the Zara breakfast, oh and did I say the Spas. The outdoor Spa in winter is bracing to walk through snow to enter but once you're in, so warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

it is really complimenting to compare the service of our four star superior hotel with the service of a Dubai hotel. We try to do our best and despite of our best efforts we fail - at least according some reviews. Fortunately not in your case. The choice and the fresh ingredients are really far above the average four star hotels' offer, but reading such satisfied reviews, it is worth for it.

I hope you will return when the rooftop outside pool is in operation to enjoy the view of the city.

Many thanks for your review and scores and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Hotel Zara Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel Zara Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Continental Hotel Zara Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.