We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, you will NOT be disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Hotel Zara Budapest to your Saves list
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, you will NOT be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from a midweek break at Continental Zara Hotel, Budapest (located on the Pest side). This hotel is beautiful, amazing building (with a great history behind it) the decor was excellent, spotless & rooms cleaned daily. The Reception & Concierge staff were very polite, friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Travelled with a family consisting off 18, 15 & 8 years old - they all loved it. Plenty of choice at breakfast. It's a 15 min (straightforward) stroll down towards the river and the centre of Pest. Book it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Great feed-back, excellent summary of the product and the service, thanks a million!

We will be delighted to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    743
    124
    24
    13
See reviews for
232
1,105
85
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautiful hotel with excellent service and in an ideal location for sightseeing. We had a standard room which was lovely, spotlessly clean and very quiet. A king size bed which was very comfortable with 2 pillows each and individual quilts. A hairdrier and a small selection of toiletries were in the room. Heating/air conditioning controls to enable you to control the room's temperature. The shower was brilliant, very powerful and a never ending supply of very hoy water. One small moan is that there were no tea/coffe making facilties in the room although there was a mini bar.The whole hotel is very well decorated, spotlessly clean and all staff are friendly and give excellent service. We were half board and found the food to be of very good quality, well cooked and very nicely presented. Breakfast was a self serve buffet and the choice was supurb. Cereals, pastries, hot and cold English and continental style. The evening meals were very good but if you are half board the evening menu would be a little restricted if you were there for more than a couple of nights. (3 courses either soup or a starter (a choice of 4 of each), a main (4 choices) and a dessert (4 choices). That said, the food was excellent and plentiful. The hotel's spa area is lovely and the views from the roof top pools are stunning. (pls note there was a 6 Euro charge to use the facilities). The hotel is a 10 min walk from the Danube and most sights are within walking distance. We went on the hop on/hop off bus tour (giraffe) which was very good value at 5000 ft per adult. This was for 2 days and allowed us to do the red and yellow bus routes and the boat tour. All had a good English commentary. English is widely spoken and all menus have English translations. Pls note - almost nothing, including the sights and museums are closed on bank holidays. If you need to eat outside of the hotel there is an excellent Italian resteraunt a couple of hundred yards down the round. A really good trip and I highly recommend Budapest and the hotel Zara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Gill T,

I think you have very nicely presented our Hotel and its services. I could not present it more convincing! Many thanks for the suggestive desciption.
Tea/coffee making facilities are on request basis in the standard rooms, I am sorry that this information in the Guest Service Directory did not reach you.
The entry fee to the wellness area is not included in some travel agent's rates, but I think the 6 euros/person is well worth for the experience.

I thank you for the recommendation of Budapest and our Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just in a few words, main advantages:
- great building,
- nice interior in the room,
- helpful staff,
- very good breakfast (except coffee machines).

However:
- standard room is really tiny,
- bathroom is even smaller,
- very noisy air-condition,
- location a little bit off.

To be honest for the price I paid it was a bargain :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Jasio,

Thanks for your praising words on the building, on the interior, on the staff and on the breakfast. I appreciate your critisim too and call your attention that we have bigger rooms than standard rooms in three more categories. The location is in a lot of cases even an advantage due to the bohem style of the neighbourhood with plenty of ruin bars and pubs.

Lucky you for the good deal!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I booked the Continental Zara, Budapest as a long weekend break in October 2012 for our anniversary. I had read the reviews and thought "it can't be THAT good" but my goodness, HOW WRONG I WAS !
From arriving at the door of the hotel and being met by friendly, helpful, happy staff to checking in and having our room upgraded and then finding a bottle of wine in our room and a hand written message from the hotel manager welcoming us and congratulating us on our anniversary, right the way through to checking out and being told that we could leave our cases safely looked after while we went into town for a last meal and then used the hotel wellness centre and pool(s) on the top floor, and every superb minute in between.
We took the 200E bus from the airport to the town centre underground station (400HUF or about £1.14p pp) and then walked the 10 minutes to the hotel as is was sunny and quite warm. The hotel is very well situated for all of Budapest and we walked the whole of the cities sights over our four days there without using public transport once (although it is very cheap and easy to do if the weather isn't too good). Price wise, I am afraid that I use the old and trusted "cost of beer" method to rate how expensive a city is and Budapest, I am happy to say is very good value IF you follow the usual simple rules that say "drink in the city centre bars and you will pay about the same as in England. Walk a few hundred yards from the centre and the beer gets cheaper. The same rules apply to eating out. On our last day we sat at a street bar (Heaven and Hell, you will see it on the way from the underground to the hotel) and paid 75p for half a litre of Soproni and thought that I had done well, that is until I saw one review where they had found it at 50p during "happy hour".
All in all, a beautiful Hotel (the manager should be very proud of both the hotel and his staff), a beautiful city and still very good value. We WILL be back.
Sid and Angela

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms will have a great view across the city as all the streets are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sid and Angela,

Yes, you are are, I am very proud of the Hotel and of the staff. I am delighted to read that we did not fail. It is always very risky if a guest arrives with high expectations. I think you gave a very nice description of the Hotel and gave very useful information to the readers of Tripadvisor.

Many thanks for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor and fpr the excellent scores!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We spend four nights at zara and we had a wonderful time. Our son is 1 years old and his bed was already in the room when we checked in. The staff was friendly and helpful. The spa-area were wonderful, specially nice when traveling with a child. I had a massage which were very good. The breakfastbuffé was a little bit crowded but good. I can truly recommend hotel zara.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Karolina L,

Thank you for your cordial review. Travelling with a one year old child is always a challenge. If we met your expectations than I am very delighted.
Our masseurs are very proud to read your compliments.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Perfect mix of luxury with relaxed atmosphere! Very friendly and helpful staff; we stayed 4 nights and got tips on where to go from everyone including receiption, concierge, wellness staff and waiters!! Rooms very comfy. Arrived in Hungary along with a mini-heatwave, so roof top pool at 10am was an unexpected bonus. Spa was a first for us and great introduction for future breaks.
Breakfast usual fayre for a city international hotel and nicely varied. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Tina J,

Luxury sounds me too complimenting! Continental Hotel Budapest is 4* superior property although we strive for perfection. I was very pleased to read your review and I really thank for your post and for the excellent scores.



Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Continental Zara is just perfect, in every sense, to visit Budapest. It is located in the Jewish neighborhood, very close to Greta Synagogue. Thus you can walk to almost any touristic attraction in Budapest. Rooms are quite large and very quiet. (Most of the) staff is nice. The breakfast buffet is perfect. In addition we got a good price, 58 euros per night in king-size bedded room (breakfast included). Therefore, although I do always like to mention something negative in my comments, I have nothing negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Taziro,

Your scores count double - since there are no negatives in it! I appreciate your honest feed-back especially as they come from a demanding guest.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Hotel Zara Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel Zara Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Continental Hotel Zara Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.