We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location nice rooms all new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Hotel Zara Budapest to your Saves list
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“good location nice rooms all new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

very friendly service
all new hotel with 5 star feeling
good breakfast although not varied it has a good choice of breads and toppings
good location close to the jewish quarter and city center can be reached by foot
i would definately recommend this place
also has a sauna and a small inside / outside poolfor relaxtion after along day of sightseeing

Room Tip: just make sure to ask for a room towards the inside of the hotel its a beatuiful sight and its quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    744
    125
    24
    13
See reviews for
232
1,107
85
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

It was my second stay at this hotel and I already had written review last year. In this review I mentioned about constant repair noise during all nights. This noise does normal night sleep impossible. Manager answered my review and said that this noise would not disturb customers any more... I believed it and returned to this hotel this year. Manager's words were just lie. Nights repairs continues and we did not have normal night sleep until changing our room. Moreover, stuff started reparing in days too, so you will listen perforator and it's not possible to have a rest in day too. All advantages of this hotel are brought to nothing by constant repair noise. You will listen it in day and night and you will never sleep. What is sense of pools and etc. if you can't have normal rest even in night?
This is huge disrespect to the customers!
One more thing. Personal took money for staying 7(!) days before our departure! It's absolutely wrong and I met this thing at first time.
I don't advice you to stay here. Bad choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

stayed for three nights as part of a group, the hotel is in a bit of a dark street, but when you go through the huge brass revolving door, the sheer opulence of the place just wows you. Breakfasts excellent, coffee and bar excellent, rooms very good, free wi fi everywhere, (which frankly should be standard in all hotels) the location is a little off the beaten track but only a 20 min walk to the danube, very pleased with the staff in all departments

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We reserved this hotel for a weekend through Groupon. There was some miscommunication during the reservation process, but everything worked out fine in the end. We got the room on the 6th floor - it was small, but really nice. We used the parking facility of the hotel, which was really handy. There's a vallet service - you hand your keys over to the receptionist and get a receipt in exchange. What we really enjoyed were the two swimming pools and jaccuzi on the roof of the hotel building - having a swim in the morning and overlooking the rooftops of Budapest is a surreal experience. What we liked less were the crowded breakfasts. Although the staff dis its best, when both coffee machines broke down one morning, chaos ensued. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay in the Zara Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

What an amazing hotel. We were like fish out of water in this hotel. We arrived with dirty backpacks looking worse for wear having been back packing around europe for a few weeks. This was our last stop for 3 nights before going home and decided to treat ourselves to somewhere nice. We were not dissapointed. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was lovely with a large comfy bed, slippers and a bathrobe for extra comfort. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety. We were greeted every time we passed reception, had doors held for us, bags carried and a friendly smile from all staff. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Littlestar123,

Not just the hotel is amazing but oyur review too! Especially I liked that you noticed "a friendly smile of all staff" This is the most important, although the rest (room, breakfast etc.) is not marginal neither.

I hope you will have spirit and time to return!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Visited Budapest for the 1st time with my husband and 90 years young father-in-law. Very good service received at check in and even got an upgrade which was excellent given there was an extra sitting room area for us to relax in and decide where we were going dueing the day and where to eat in the evening - also managed to get a late check out too. The only down side for me was the sharp corner on the bed stead which were catched very easily by my husband and I and we came away with a lovely bruise from our initial meetings, only happened the once but just be aware that you may have a similar problem! Room very clean and well maintained as well as toiletries provided, even thought the windows were double glazed I was woken daily by the dustbin men at 4 o'clock but I am a light sleeper and afgter the 1st night, my husband slept through this so didn't spoil our stay. Information provided by hotel for restaurants and trips to take very informative, but didn't like the fact that a surcharge was taken if you wanted to pay for these by card rather than cash. Dined at the hotel the first night and then at hotel recommended restaurants and all were excellent giving a good mixture of local cuisine too! We also had something to eat in the galleria bar and the quality of the food and cakes were of a high standard and helped feed us up for our journey home. We didn't walk to restaurants as my father-in-law was a little tired by the evening after our days out and about and booked our taxi via reception which whilst a little dearer than the local taxis gave excellent service and chats about the locale. We did not use the pool or spa so cannot comments about exra costs for using the facilities but given previous comments you may want to check this out if you're looking to use this during your visit in case similar services can be found freee of charge elsewhere. Although the hotel appeared bust with large groups checking in during nour star, we didn't have a problem finding a table for breakfast and good buffet choice of hot and cold breakfast options. The is also an eating area outside to accomodate smokers - we stayed inside as we don't smoke. We wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front and may be why I heard the dustbin men's visit so may want to stay fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The location is good, a quiet street a walking distance to the Danube. The room was nice and comfortable and the breakfast was rich, but I was surprised they charge guests for the use of the pool. The only major problem was the inflexibility of the staff at check-in. I arrived before 11 am, but did not get the room a minute before 2 pm, although I requested that I get it earlier saying that certainly not all rooms are being cleaned at the last moment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Hotel Zara Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Zara Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel Zara Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Continental Hotel Zara Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Zara Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.