We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an Amazing night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faust Wine Cellar

Faust Wine Cellar
Hess Andras ter (square) 1-3) | (inside the Hilton Budapest, at the Dominican Cloister), Budapest H-1014, Hungary (District I / Buda)
00-36-20-3263503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 421 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be our guest in our authentic Faust Wine Cellar under the Dominican Cloister - the part of the UNESCO World Heritage! We are offering about 80 sorts of Hungarian wines and 30 sorts of "Pálinka". During the week we are organizing special wine and "Pálinka" tastings guided by our sommelier!
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such an Amazing night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

What I loved the most about the Faust Wine cellar is it's supreme location! The faust wine cellar is located right next to one of the most beautiful churches I have ever seen in my life, which made the hike up to the top of the hill incredibly majestic! The wines were delicious and the staff was excellent and incredibly knowledgeable. This was the highlight of my trip and definitely a must for anyone visiting Budapest.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    91
    12
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We double dated at the wine cellar and we were sat down in a dimmly lit cellar with candles and blankets for all the seats. There was a great atmosphere and feel as soon as you walk in. The wine was amazing and came from all over Hungary. The two men working the tasting were very friendly and helpful. It was one of our favorite things in Hungary and definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to experience something different.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So romantic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The host was delightful and knowledgeable, the wines were delicious, the mini cheese scones were amazing and the cellar is so nice! The setting made the trip, with the candle light and brick barrel ceilings. You find it by going INTO the Hilton Hotel!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Intimate wine cella in a monastery dungeon, a must-do for winelovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited Faust wine cellar on our last day in Budapest. As we arrived quite late, around 8 pm , we did not expect we could do a tasting anymore but once arrived we were more even pleasantly suprised.
Even the way to the cellar adds to its charm, located below the Hilton, you descend some 15 meters down in the dungeons of an ancient monastery, we arrived in a small intimate, candle-lit cave where we were greeted by a very friendly couple. Although we were too late to do a full-scale wine tasting, we were lucky that one table became free and we could start tasting wines by the glass.
The owner, Gabor, is a nice gentleman who runs around from table to table, helping, advising and answering all your questions.
Although they close at 9 pm, we continued our tasting a little bit and were never pushed to finish, this is what i call service. Also you don't feel pushed to buy bottles at any moment, which is also a great plus
We tasted some 3 glasses of wine and we left very pleased with some 2 excellent dry white bottles of Tokay, this was just a perfect way to end our citytrip in Budapest.
Please do mind though that we were lucky, the cave can only house around 20 people, so i guess sometimes you'll have to come back or make a reservation, there are also closed some weekdays (we had to come back)
In short: when you are a winelover and want to do some "private" tasting, this is the place to be.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place and exprience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was so good we went twice in a long weekend. We are not wine experts in anyway and found the experience both excellent value and highly informative. The first visit was on our first afternoon, our second was on the Sunday night which also included dinner. Gabor's (the owner) enthusiasm and knowledge was infectious and we left knowing far more about wine than we did before. His choice of wines was also spot on, i don't think there was one we did not like, white, red, rose or sweet. The cellar is situated under the hilton hotel (access through the hotel) and is the original cellar of the old church of which the hilton is built on/around. Truly exceptional experience if you are looking for something a little different from the run of the mill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Faust Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Faust Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faust Wine Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.