We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutiq Bar

Boutiq Bar
Paulay Ede u. 5., Budapest 1061, Hungary (Terézváros)
+36305542323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #391 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Description: A Daiquiri we serve with mango, a Cosmopolitan is like Sex and the city and the Caipirinha is really spicy. If all this is still not enough for you senses to be tempted, then we shake spirits with caribian rose peppercorn, thai lemongrass or the one with the vanilia and cardamoned. Now, you have to admit, it is hightime to try one, isn't it?
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We popped into Boutiq Bar for a drink, and quickly regretted not bringing more forints out with us! The menu was really interesting, the drinks beautifully made and the service great.

So, we returned a few hours later, by which time it was beginning to get very full - we were offered a table for an hour but were asked to move as the people who had booked it turned up early. I don't think it's fair to expect your table to be made available to you before the time you have reserved it, and I felt a bit annoyed. However, the staff were apologetic and cleared us a little space at the (packed) bar. We were a bit in the way here, but it was better than nothing.

It was an awful lot of fun being at the bar. The mixers really know their staff and were all very friendly. As the night wore on and Boutiq became less crowded, we were able to move to a more comfortable spot where we were served by an excellent barman with a raft of experience who talked us through our drinks, let us try liquors and handed out shots he had concocted.

This place really offered something different, and we spent far longer here than we had intended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a cocktail bar should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Boutiq is your bar tender's cocktail bar: comfortable atmosphere and extremely knowledgeable staff, without all the pretension that comes with many other cocktail bars. In fact, the customer service here is above and beyond what one would expect from any bar, anywhere, period... Coming from the US, and having lived in London for 6 years and now Budapest for 2, I find myself very critical of poor or even "acceptable" service in Europe. I have never had an issue at this bar. The menu is extensive and continuously changing with inventive and unique drinks. You're by no means forced to choose off the menu, but honestly, you can order a rum and coke anywhere... And no matter where you go, it's gonna taste the same. Try ordering a Sazerac at the bar across the street, or anywhere on Kiraly utca, for that matter!

If you're one of those self proclaimed mixologist critics, PLEASE, stay in your London or New York bars! It's not that Boutiq isn't for you, this city isn't for you. In Budapest, people are too busy enjoying their night to worry about the lighting or what material the chairs are made out of. Here, the drinks speak for themselves. If you're out to get drunk, go to a pub, if you're out to dance, go to a club. If you're out to have a great cocktail and good company, go to Boutiq!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Where Masters and Celebrities learn...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

One of the best places in Europe for mixed drinks. The guys really know how to make it right.
The so called Masters and Celebrities of the Bar Tenders world are here mistery guests to watch the secrets...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east london
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Better cocktails bars in budapest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Went here on a friday night. Very busy nowhere to sit, nowhere to stand. Cocktails were cheap by international standards but expensive for budapest.

Had 1 cocktail and left. Seemed to be far too much ice not enough drink.

Lastly the menu is a bit of a joke as nothing seemed to tell you what was actually in the cocktails so you are basically picking by the names.

Rumpus tiki bar was much better the next night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I like to travel around the word and visit outstanding bars. This is definitely one of mine favorites

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boutiq Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Boutiq Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutiq Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.