We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prima, join it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Budapest Walking Tours

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Vorosmarty Square, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 20 960 5295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 288 Activities in Budapest
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 4 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Prima, join it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We joined this tour and were very glad to spend time in international team with a very polite, nice and cute Judit. She told us a lot of interesting things and facts.She was telling about not only dates and historical moments, but also about present life in Hungary, Budapesht and so on. She made her best and I would like to thank her once again))

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Svetlana M,

It was our true pleasure to welcome you on our General Walk with Judit as your guide. See you on our thematic tours as well!

With kind regards,

Guest Relations
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,838
    253
    44
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went on the general tour and the communism one. I found the general tour really useful to get an idea of the layout of the city as well as learning a lot about its history from our excellent guide Anna. The communism tour was even more interesting, with personal anecdotes from the guides to create an idea of what Budapest and Hungary as a whole was like under communist rule. I would highly recommend both of these tours, and if I had had more time in the city I would definitely have gone on the Jewish district walk.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear GraceElizabeth92,

It was great to meet you on two of our tours. We hope you’ll be back to do our Jewish Walk someday!

With kind regards,

Guest Relations
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The tour covers some of the most interesting sites to visit in both Buda and Pest sides. the tourist guide was very helpful and communicative she tried her best to transmit the passion she had for the city. the walk wasn't too long with loads of water breaks, and is probably the best way to start your visit in Budapest.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Saccoman2014,

We’re glad to hear that you liked our tour, and thank you for recommending us. Take the other tours we offer the next time you’ll visit Budapest!

With kind regards,

Guest Relations
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budapest Walking Tour (Communism)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really enjoyed the communism walk - interesting and enlightening. I think our guides were called Aron and Gurta, sorry if that's wrong! But they were both great :) Really good at answering all our questions!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Nicola C,

It was a pleasure to read your positive comment on your Communism Walk, don’t worry about the names, you almost got them right :) See you again on our other tours!

With kind regards,
Guest Relations
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A must tour for first time in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I really believe that is a must for new comers to Budapest . We enjoyed the tour very much and it really broaden our knowledge . The guide was terrific and overall we were very happy we went for that tour. Highly recommended !

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Maximbu,

Thanks a lot for pointing out that taking our our tour is of the best value when done as early as possible after arriving to our beautiful capital city. Have a nice day!

With kind regards,
Guest Relations
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Budapest Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.