We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eszter was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Budapest Walking Tours

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Vorosmarty Square, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 20 960 5295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 289 Activities in Budapest
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 4 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Eszter was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This tour was awesome. Eszter was one of the funniest people I've ever met!

So much rubbing of statues!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear GavinMacKay,

Thanks for your positive review, and we couldn't agree with you more.

With kind regards,

Áron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,832
    253
    44
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great way to learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed these tours very much.we took all the tours offered.all recommended.the guides are real professional.highly recommended!!
Facebook.com/freebudapestwalkingtours2007

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Irisetgar,

Thank you for taking all three main tours we offer. Your brief but powerful recommendation helps us a lot!

With kind regards,

Áron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dexter, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Free Communist Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The surprise gem of our Budapest visit. We soooo enjoyed our 3 hour tour (with optional tip) of "happy communist Budapest". Extremely interesting and informative. I highly recommend!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear MarcyCrna,

It was our pleasure to welcome you on our Communism Walk. We hope to have you back in our city for the other tours.

With kind regards,

Áron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not my favorite European tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've been on many free walking tours in Europe, and this was not one of the best. It was very light on information and I felt like we learned more walking around on our own. I learned many things after the fact that would have been very interesting points to mention on the tour. Nothing against the guide, just the general information provided. I've found on other walking tours, you learn quirky facts about the cities that make you view the city in a new light, but I just never got that same feeling with this tour.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear enc0027,

we’re sorry not have won your acclaim. Maybe next time! :) Have a nice day.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect into to Budapest!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were 6 college kids travelling through Western Europe on Spring Break and this was absolutely one of the highlights of our trip. We had a great time, learned about the culture, the layout of the city, and (most importantly?) where to go out! It was an informative, entertaining, and fun tour! We were not bored at all and ended up doing 2 more tours with this group later (Bar tour and Communism tour). They never cease to impress - a truly awesome experience!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Shannybee88,

Thanks for doing three of our tours, and for your enthusiastic account of your experiences. We hope to see you and your friends again in Budapest.

With sincere regards,

Áron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Budapest Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.