We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diversified and enthusiastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Budapest Walking Tours

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Vorosmarty Square, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 20 960 5295
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 4 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“diversified and enthusiastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

it was our first experience when we did the general walking tour. it was just after landing. the tour guide Angie was so enthusiastic with a motivated voice and happy smile. we were authentically introduced to the famous points of attractions (nice walk up to buda castle), to local food ( even to a delicious locally made chocolate with red dots :), and we became addicted as Angie promised), to transportation in addition to many tips about the thermal baths, the free activities and anything we could ask for ( the caps color of water bottles were explained too).
Overall it was excellent.
The second tour was the communism one. the guide was really knowledgeable, having lived through that era and shared his own experience with many examples about all the subjects we discussed. it was very informative and emotional
Thanking the group and wishing prosperity to all members.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Loulou H,

Thank you very much for taking the General Walk with Angie and the Communism Walk with me (you haven’t mentioned my name but I’m the only male narrator on this tour).

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,054
    282
    48
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must do in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A really good tour. Fun ande informative. Take comfy shoes and cosy clothes and enjoy! The tour guides are fab!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Nikkihay84,

Thank you for your brief but powerful and valuable recommendation of our tours. See you again!

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely informative, fun, and great for city orientation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I did this tour first thing in the morning the first day we got to Budapest! It helped orient ourselves within the city and we both learned so much about the history and current state of Budapest/ Hungary that we didn't know! Our guide Ági gave us so many extra tips about where to eat, what to eat/ drink and which sites may interest us specifically. We went to one of the restaurants he recommended (Frici Papa) and it was delicious, huge portions, traditional hungarian food and cheap, which is exactly what we requested! Highly recommend this tour for anyone heading to Budapest!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear MammamiaBee,

It was to our pleasure to have you on Ági’s General Walk. We hope to see you on our thematic tours too in the future!

Sincerely,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently went on the general walking tour and thoroughly enjoyed it! Orshi was our leader and she was fantastic. Really insightful and made the tour very humorous. Learnt and saw a lot more by doing this tour than we would have if we had attempted to do it ourselves. Efficient way to see many sights in the space of a couple of hours. The leaflet with the 'do's and don'ts on was very helpful too! Would highly recommend this and is probably most beneficial to do it on the first day you arrive!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Sarw000,

We’re glad that you had a great time on Orsi’s tour – she is one of our newest colleagues, but she’s already a rainmaker. Thank you for your positive comment, and have a nice day!

Sincerely,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“history of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The tour guide Norbert was very friendly knowledgeable and provided helpful details about the city and it's history. shame didn't stay long enough to go on other tours they were providing. Of course it is courteous to give some money as those guys are giving their time and providing a well worth tour.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Bendj_UK,

In the name of Norbert and all the other guides, it was a pleasure to have you on our General Walk. We’re looking to meet you on the thematic tours upon your next visit to Budapest.

With kind regards,

Aron M.
Guest Relations Manager
The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Budapest Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.