We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Budapest Walking Tours

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Vorosmarty Square, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 20 960 5295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 288 Activities in Budapest
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 4 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good "pay-as-you-like" concept, magnificent tour, humorous. I absolutely recommend this. Should be the first thing to do in Budapest.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Joostnulnegen,

it was great to have you on our tour – we are grateful for your recommendation. Have a nice day, and see you again!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,838
    253
    44
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Allington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great exercise and you get to see more of the city and learn more too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great guides and very knowledgable too, would highly recommend this tour as an introduction to Budapest so that you can then plan your next stops to learn about each location visited in the tour.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Steve E,

Thank you for your good rating of our tour in Budapest. We hope that you and your friends will be visiting our beautiful city again!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very enjoyable tour with useful tips and recommendations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The tour guides clearly love their city amd the enthusiasm certainly rubs off on you whilst you walk around with them.
We did the genaeral tour and learnt alot about the history of the country and the city in a short period of tine.
The tour is entertaing and fun to do, provided us with alot of practicle advice for our trip and some great recommendations that we would not have tried otherwise. A good introduction to the city, glad we made it one of the first things to do.
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting budapest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Helene H,

We’re glad you enjoyed our General Tour so much! Please return to our beautiful capital for our other tours and new experiences.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Must when you arrive in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We literally checked in to our hotel, dropped our cases and rushed to make the start of the 2.30 general tour starting off from St Stephens Basillica. Our Guide Anna was brilliant - very interesting, humerous and very knowledgable about everything. Just what you need for a start to a 3 day city break.
I had made contact by email beforehand and they had sent me directions by email so we knew just how to get there. Very helpful.
It was a dull, grey, cold day with a FREEZING wind but even losing contact with our feet and hands didn't put my husband & I off the tour (which says a lot for Anna's interesting facts!).
The tours are free and the guides rely on the tips as their income so as they spend a full 2 hours and 30mins on the tour it seems reasonable to be fairly generous.
Anna also gave us a map marked with recommended tourist spots, restaurants, pubs and cafes and an information sheet to help with everything. Very useful.
Everybody should do this as soon as they arrive in Budapest!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Jeancoul,

I was a pleasure to have you on our tour in Budapest. Thank you for your thorough and positive review of Anna’s tour, and your careful planning in preparing for the walk.

Your review is an excellent reminder to other travellers to dress up in such a way as to be comfortable for two and a half hours in the cold Budapest winter (milder than Prague and Vienna on average, we might add). Spring is on the way.

Again, we are grateful for your recommending us, and we hope to see you again!
With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tour ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our Free Walking tour with Anna. It was wonderfully insightful and gave you enough facts to be able to remember without being boring or having to concentrate too hard. I would encourage anyone to do this on their first day as she gave us tips on where to go and how to get the most from our stay in Budapest. A fantastic tour for as much as you are willing to part with, I thought that it was worth 10 euro's. A great start, thanks Anna.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Phileas_Frog82,

It was wonderful to read your account of the trip you’ve taken with Anna in Budapest. Thanks for going into the details about the usefulness of the facts you’ve learned on your tour.

We also appreciate your generous contribution to our project – see you again one day.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Budapest Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.