We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Budapest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Budapest Walking Tours

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Vorosmarty Square, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 20 960 5295
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 4 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Budapest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We did the morning walk on 4th December. Esther was a wonderful guide, very friendly,entertaining and informative even teaching us a bit of Hungarian on the way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Bolina1947,

We appreciate your recommending our tour as a great intro to the city, in the name of your guide Eszter and all of us.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,311
    339
    60
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect! A definite must-do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I did the morning "Free Budapest Walking Tour" on Sunday during our weekend visit to Budapest.

Our guide was Emma (sorry if the spelling is wrong!) who handled the group expertly. She took us around the key sites to see, giving us a bit of history and teaching us a bit about Hungarian culture and the language. She walked fast, but not too fast, and spoke fast, but not too fast, meaning we didn't have too much opportunity to get cold!

The tour is just the right length, showing you what you need to see while also giving you some ideas of where to go after the tour to do your own thing. Emma spoke brilliant english and was really helpful and friendly.

I can't recommend the tour enough - I only wish we had more time to do the other tours!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear MARSonTour,

Thank you for your highest possible opinion, and for highlighting precisely why you liked our General Tour so much.

Emma and all of us guides, we send our regards, awaiting you back in Budapest for our thematic tours in the future!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We did the general walking tour on the morning of 6th. December. The tour was well organised from the outset and the large group which had gathered at the starting point was promptly divided into two groups and off we went! Our guide (forgive me, I can't remember your name) was extremely informative and entertaining and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are so glad we did this walk. A must do in Budapest.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jcguido,

We’d like to say thank you for your great review and for recommending our tours in Budapest.

Have a nice day, and we hope to see you in our beautiful city again!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I did the free walking tour in November, and as with many free walking tours it was great. Seems that since they have to work for their tips they put a lot more effort into the tour making it fun and seeing great sites along with way with interesting facts told along the way.

Really enjoyed it, and would recommend anyone wanting a good intro to Budapest to join this tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Xj0r,

We appreciate your great opinion on our tours, and for telling the travel community about us.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The free walking tour were the best part of my trip! We did three tours (General, Jewish, Communism). They were very comprehensive and the tour guides knowledgeable, friendly and AMAZING!!!!!!!! Each tour was about 2-3 hours and believe me, there was alot of walking, but frequent stops and the ability to take photos! Please enjoy these walking tours.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear LateTraveler_05,

We’re grateful that you took all three of our tours and your great review of them.

It was truly rewarding to read that you think they’re really worth taking.

Have a great day, and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Budapest Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.