We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could easily be made better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Apartments Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Senator Apartments Budapest to your Saves list
Senator Apartments Budapest
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kiraly Street 8. | 1st Floor, Budapest 1061, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good but could easily be made better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from the Senator Apartments in Budapest and in general the place is very good, there are a few things that could easily be done to make the apartment excellent.

The positives:
Very good location, close to Deak Ter for all transport links and sightseeing buses. Apartments located on Kiraly Utca which has a couple of supermarkets, bars and restaurants close by.
Our apartment was very quiet considering its proximity to town/bars etc (I did request a quiet room).
Clean, spacious apartment (we had a studio for 2 people)
Well equipped including crockery, pans, utensils, microwave, oven, hob, dishwasher, washing machine, dining table, large TV, good storage space etc.
Excellent WiFi, fast and didn't drop out.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

The negatives:
The bed was very hard and uncomfortable, wooden slat base with thin mattress so felt like sleeping on a board, we added the mattress from the sofa bed along with the usual mattress just to get a decent sleep, this wasn't ideal but was better than nothing.
The curtains in the room were not fit for purpose, we had a large window/door onto balcony. There were 4 curtains but they were not long or wide enough to cover the window so you had big gaps, the curtains were also light coloured with no lining so the room wasn't dark enough at night and the sun came through early in the morning.
Lack of cleaning, we stayed for 5 nights and didn't have any cleaning/fresh towels etc. We saw that there was an extra charge for cleaning for longer stays (4 nights or more) so didn't know if we had paid for this. It turns out this is optional and you have to request it but this wasn't made clear on arrival.
Towels provided were small and thin, would be nice to have good quality towel if not being changed for whole stay.
Better signs for finding the place are required, luckily we had used street view before the trip so had a good idea of location.

Overall the apartments are good value for money and a well located base for a stay in Budapest. My advice to the owners would be to invest in better mattress and curtains, a relatively small cost that would make a big difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Customer Service at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear live4holidaysJLS,

Thank you very much for your extended review. It was very helpful and included valuable information for the management: we very much welcome your advice regarding the curtains, matresses, and towels.

As far as housekeeping services go, we offer cleaning for 10 € and (as you wrote it well) it is available on preliminary request, which you can make at the Reception. You see, it is necessary because we have to know how to plan the day of our employees so that they can provide the best quality service for every guest without being overloaded with unattended extra work.

Thank you againg for sharing your recomendation with us, and see you next time at Senator Apartments.

All the best,

Miss Hajnal Budai
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    90
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
55
63
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The taxi driver dropped us off to an abandoned shopping complex and told us that this was our hotel. Don't bother looking for a sign out the front to clarify, there isn't one. Management likes to make you guess every step of the way. You then walk a few meters (try to avoid all the rubbish scattered everywhere) and finally find a sign on the 2nd level advertising a Real Estate Agency and Senator Apartments. So you take a guess and head upstairs. Yes apparently this is 4 star??

After we have been given the keys we make our way to the apartment, yes big and spacious apartment and close to town. A couple of the highlights from our time at Senator Apartments
1. Stayed in room 412 - the shower head cant be moved around (this sits up very high on the wrong wall, great if your 6 feet tall). We ended up holding the nozzle and had to hose ourselves off at night.
2. No towel rack in the bathroom.
3. No phone in the apartment.
4. Stains located all over the seedy looking couch.
5. No dishwasher, though space for one. After filling up the sink in the kitchen you have approximately 4minutes to wash the dishes before the water starts to drain.
6. No daily cleaning of emptying the bins - this comes at a cost
7. No dryer, yes a washing machine but whats the point when it takes two days to dry your clothes on the flimsy air dryer?
8. The amount of noise at night coming from some apartments is ridiculous. Long term tenants are hard to manage?

This apartment may be the place for you if you are young and want to be close to town, and don't mind doing it tough for a couple of days. The unfortunate thing here is it wouldn't take much for this complex to actually become a 4 star hotel.

I have noticed that any negative review management seems to pounce on, stating its a lie, like it or not this is the truth.
Be honest with yourself Senator Apartments.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Customer Service at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jwind44,

We very much appreciate guets' contribution regardless whether it has a prasing or a negative tone. We believe that negative reviews are just as important as positive ones, since this is the way we get feedback on those areas that need more attention and improvement. We are very sorry to hear that you were left so unsatisfied with our services, but in the meantime we would like to add a few small comments to your review just to avoid any incidental misunderstandings with future bookers.

We feel that you are right in many ways, like noticing the rubbish outside on the street, pointing out that the bulinding seems a little bit empty, and that a few units in bulindig A can get some noise during the weekend. (We recommend them to those who want to get invlolved in the nightlife of Budapest, rather than those who come for relaxation).

However you mention a few points that we feel, need a little clarification just to avoid any similar misunderstandings in the future.

1. Insufficient kitchen equippment: guests are informed about all the items that the apartments come with at the time of the booking. But if you feel that anything is missing, you can always let us know, and we are happy to make up for the shortage.

2. Insufficient cleaning service: similarly to equippments, our services are also indicated on the internet. But let me include here a short reminder on how cleaning works at our hotel.

We change towels and bedding, and empty dustbins in every third day for no extra charge. This service is avaliable only on preliminary request, which guests can make at the Reception.
Full cleaning (also on request) is an extra service, the cost is 10 € / apartment.

We would like to ensure you and others that we take into account every single opinoin, and we see them as a guide for further improvement.

Thank you again for the contribution, and see you next time at Senator Apartments.

All the best,

Miss Hajnal Budai
Senator Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Loved it, great service at reception. Apartments clean, comfortable and stylish. Great location, by public transport links and a walk away from shopping areas and the River. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Excellent customer service from the initial booking, to follow up emails and overall general correspondence. Very reasonable price for lovely apartments right in the middle of Budapest! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Customer Service at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear AlessioDB,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We appreciate your good words especially on our staff's work.

We like to keep in touch with our guests from the very begining to ensure that they are given every necessary information and help that one could need during a trip to a foreign country.

See you next time at Senator Apartments

Miss Hajnal Budai
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The apartments were very nicely furnished in a great location in downtown Budapest. I stayed in one of their apartments on a weekend for two days. The place was spotlessly clean and the building where the apartments are located is extremely clean and modern. My apartment faced the side street and had great large glass windows in both the living and the bedrooms. Bathrooms were really nice and modern including a clothe washer and a dish washer as well! the apartment even had plenty of storage for clothing etc and a fully equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights last week, and had a two bed apartment. It was massive, spotless, and really nice. They are relatively new apartments. Yes, the reception and outsides of the building do resemble something of a shopping centre - but the apartments you couldn't fault, especially given the price! Right in a central location too, will definitely book again on returning to Budapest.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Cara1103,

Thank you for your positive review.

We appreciate your good words on the size and cleanness of the apartments.
Our two-bedroom apartments are, indeed spatious enough for 6 person not only to sleep, and eat, but also to sit together in the livingroom area and relax comfortably.

Thank you for mentioning the central location and our good prices too!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist

Senator Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night (I would recomen minimum two nights) with 8 friends.. Excellent location, new furniture, loads of space, very clean and with a huge balcony... Only little problem were the soft matresses. Anyway I would highly recomend this place !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senator A, Receptionist at Senator Apartments Budapest, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Filip K,

We are pleased to hear that you liked the apartment, and the central location.

We would be glad if next time you could stay for a longer time to be able to discover more of the city.

Best regards,

Hajnal Budai
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Senator Apartments Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Apartments Budapest

Address: Kiraly Street 8. | 1st Floor, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Apartments Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senator Apartments are housed in a brand-new building next to the fashionable Vaci utca, a 5-minute walk from Budapest's Chain Bridge, and provided with free Wi-Fi. The rooms are fully equipped, with a modern, high-standard kitchen, a flat screen TV and design furniture. Air-conditioning is available in some units for a fee. Some apartments have a balcony. Breakfast is available upon request in a nearby restaurant. A gym, cardio, a hot tub and a pool are available in a sports center nearby. Sightseeing tours can be booked at the reception. From the Senator Apartments you have easy access to Deak Ferenc Ter, Budapest's main metro station. A wide range of restaurants, pubs, leisure and sports facilities are located nearby as well. You can park your car on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Senator Apartments Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Apartments Budapest Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Apartments Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.