We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, perfect location, fantastic staff, excellent value - stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hajos utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free taxi from Airport
Ranked #11 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant hotel, perfect location, fantastic staff, excellent value - stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon in Central Europe and we spent 3 nights at the Opera Garden Hotel. The hotel was perfect for us. The room was very modern and large and the breakfast was excellent - loads of choice (both hot and cold) and it's possible to order items (omelettes, boiled eggs etc) directly from the chef. The location is also excellent - very central and just a 2 minute walk to the Opera House (which has a metro station directly outside it) and the price of the hotel is amazing.
We also loved all the "little touches", such as the free mulled wine and the fact that the staff had noted on our booking form that it was our honeymoon and taken the time to write us a note and put a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room on arrival (the only hotel out of the 3 we stayed in throughout the holiday to note it was our honeymoon).
Overall, we couldn't fault the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear ”Tones1979”, Thank you for posting a fabulous comment on Tripadvisor. I am absolutely glad that you found our hotel a perfect choice. It was great to read that you were satisfied with our breakfast products including the extra options. I am delighted for the appreciate words in relation to the hotel room. I am also glad that we could make your honeymoon a memorable one with the ”little touches”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    219
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
192
450
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The rooms and public spaces are contemporary and well designed – though please note that the rooms are not large – with a kitchenette. Plush towels. Very good beds and linens. The hotel was spotlessly clean.

Friendly and helpful staff. Extensive breakfast. Excellent location in the heart of Budapest one block behind the Opera House. 2 minute walk to Metro on a pedestrian street.

Our family had two rooms for a couple of days in November 2010. This hotel is an extraordinary value. Using the prepaid option we paid less than 100 euros/night for a room that could easily cost twice that.

I still marvel at what a great value this hotel is. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear”danb208”, I would like to thank you for this fabulous comment left on Tripadvisor. It was great to read that you were satisfied with our exclusive big plush towels and the bed with comfort mattress. I am glad that you highlighted the cleanliness at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments for other travellers. I am also glad that you found our location excellent. In addition I would like to thank you for the appreciate words regarding the hotel staff and buffet breakfast. I trust that we can welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I can't really add much to the positive reviews already posted. This is a brilliant place to stay. Little touches like the complimentary mulled wine by the lift were nice. The reception staff are really well trained and first class. The hotel is clean and comfortable throughout. It is in an excellent position for seeing the city. Simply couldn't fault it at all

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear ”Jurneyman”, I would like to appreciate for your fantastic comment left on Tripadvisor. I am glad that we could make your stay perfect and found our location excellent. I was also delighted to read that our staff’s service exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed at the Opera Hotel for 4 nights at the end of September. It was our first visit to Hungary. The city is amazing and our stay at the Opera Garden Hotel was perfect. The location was great, on a quiet street with cafes nearby. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The front desk staff was very pleasant and very helpful with restaurant suggestions, directions, taxi arrangements. Breakfast was wonderful and again, the staff was helpful and so pleasant in the breakfast rooms. Our room was lovely, bright, tastefully decorated, quiet and comfortable. One thing I would be aware of when reserving is the elevator does not go all the way to the top floor. I know that many people, me included, look for hotels with elevators.
I hope to return to Budapest and would definitely stay at this hotel again. Our stay at this hotel made the entire trip to Hungary a delight. It was a lovely place to call home for our time in this magical city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear ”travelnyc312” I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your honorific feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a real pleasure to read that we could make your stay memorable and share the Opera Garden experience with you. I was glad to read that to read that our staff’s service exceeded your expectations and you were satisfied with your hotel room too. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the stairs beetween the 3rd and the 4th floor. Due to the extra floor built on the top of the hotel we were unable to lengthen the elevator. I am pleased to inform you that me and my colleagues are always more than welcome to assist anyone with their suitcases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel which was recommended by a Budapest dental practice. The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout the whole stay and the room was modern and very clean. There was a roof terrace where guests could relax and the hotel was in a good central location. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear”JudyGa09”, Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were satisfied with your room, its cleanliness and found hotel staff hospitable. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annecy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

we spent a week at the opera garden and everything was just perfect ! if you want to stay in a quiet hotel with a nice staff, clean and nice furnished rooms, a great service, a wonderful breakfast, and all these close to all amnities, choose this hotel and not another. Small details like : occitane products in the bathroom, hot red wine offered at tea time.... just great we will come again and again !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear ”annecy”, Thank you for recommend us on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure that we could make your stay enjoyable I also would like to thank you for the laudatory words in relation to our service, staff , breakfast and the hotel room. I was glad to be heard that you set a high value on our l’Occitane products and the home made mulled wine which we offer complimentary for all of our guests during cold nights in the winter period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I was a lady travelling alone for business, which I often do, and I can honestly say that this hotel is one off the nicest and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in, its not a large hotel, but for me its what I like, The staff were more than helpful, even to the point when I was sitting outside after a delightful breakfast when it got chilly a waiter bought out a blanket for me
When I go back to Budapest there is know doubt that I will still stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear ”Ladytraveller037”, I would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. I appreciate for your honorific and kind words regarding our hotel. It means a lot for us. I was also delighted to read that hotel staff’s service exceeded your expectations We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#11 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#13 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.