We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value Ive ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free taxi transfer
Ranked #11 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best value Ive ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel has the best value for the money Ive paid. We spend four nights in a beautiful small room in the 4th floor (therefore sunny and silent) and were really happy about everything. The service was great and nice, the breakfast also and even the cleaning stuff was pretty nice! Its amazing to see how much attention those people paid for their guests.

Tip for TV junks: Bring your own Apple TV (or whatever), because the fast internet connection allows to stream TV directly to your mobile device. The basic TV program isn't that good..

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the upper floors, because some have their windows to the inner courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear „bruns-berlin”,
I am extremely happy that you liked your stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. Your kind praising remark regarding the work of the reception in our Hotel is much appreciated and very motivating for us to continue delivering the highest level of service.
I was really happy to read that you have highlighted the work of our Housekeeping staff, and our good breakfast selection. I would also like to thank you for honouring our Hotel with your generous remark as the best value you have ever had. Should you decide to return to Budapest again, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    264
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
231
558
79
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location of the Hotel was very nice and well connected to most tourist spots in and around the city. The Hotel in itself was very clean and beautiful. I stayed at the facility for 4 days during my recent Business meeting at Budapest. We were a group of four Managers and were put up at four different adjoining rooms. The rooms had all modern amenities including Satellite closet, nice linens, television, mini-bar, coffee maker and a wide range of complimentary toiletries in the washroom. The service too was excellent, though we did not require too many such calls. All we ordered for were a few cups of coffee (We were too lazy to use the coffee maker). Very fast and effective service. The front desk was really helpful and offered us a load of guidance about nearby tourist spots, where we could spend some time. Of course we did not get too much time to go sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear „JakeTporry”,
I would like to thank you for your valuable time leaving your great comment on Tripadvisor. I was my pleasure to see how much you were satisfied with our central location and the overall quality and cleanliness of the Hotel. I would also like to thank you for highlighting the long list of the room amenities we provide. Your kind words describing our service fast and effective are highly appreciated. I was proud to read your opinion about the professional work of our reception staff.
Should you decide to visit Budapest for a family trip next time, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff to be more than helpful.The room was clean and contained everything you would need for a fantastic stay.The area was excellent with lots of restaurants close by.all in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely be happy to come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear „scarybear”,
I would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I was delighted to read that we could to contribute to an enjoyable city break in Budapest. First and foremost, please let me to thank you for your recognition of our staff for their efforts in making you feel at home. I was also happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room, and liked the area in which we are located in. Should you plan your next visit to Budapest, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were here for three nights and had a wonderful stay throughout. The hotel has a sleek, contemporary yet modest design and is situated in the nice end of town, just off the upmarket Andrassy Road and close to a metro stop which finishes near Széchenyi Chain Bridge (under 10mins - approx. £1 pp). We stayed in an executive room (identical to the main picture) on the 3rd floor, which had a high quality finish, was spacious and clean. Can't say we had any issues with noise ourselves.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel facilities were good, we used the hot-tub and sauna which is a very nice space. We chose the bed & breakfast option, which was of good quality and reasonable selection.

We arranged our taxi to the airport through reception which was a similar price to what we paid at the airport to get there (approx. £20).

Overall, would definitely recommend this lovely hotel for anyone visiting this beautiful city.

Room Tip: 308 was the executive room on the corner of the 3rd floor and is identical to that shown in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear „Ian M”,
Let me thank you for your great comment left on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments.It made me very happy and also proud to see that your room and our other services have been able to live up to your expectations in all aspects and you had enjoyed your time with us.I especially would like to thank you for pointing out our central location in the downtown of Budapest. Your positive review is highly appreciated and I honestly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My stay at Opera Garden was most enjoyable. The offer personal touches not normally seen at this price. The hotel was full of nice little things that made the stay very enjoyable: complimentary bottle of wine with a hand written welcome note, mulled wine to warm you up in the evenings, unobtrusive placards with pointers on how to operate all the things in the room, key card envelope with preprinted room # and wifi access code. The staff seemingly always had a smile on their face. The breakfast was a perfect balance between healthy and hearty with a few fresh sweets thrown in. Everything in the hotel seemed new. The location was also excellent being a couple of blocks off 2 main roads / metro lines.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear „garry s”,
Thank you for your detailed and positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your experience with all the readers of Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you were pleased with all the little touches and services and with the way we provide them. Futher I was happy to read that you have also enjoyed our breakfast selection and describing as healthy and hearty at the same time.
We hope that you will visit Budapest again and you will grant us another chance to be at your service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 3 weeks and the experience over all was excellent. Noise was in no way a problem. On only one of the nights was there any noise at all and that was minimal. It was clean, the bed comfortable and the service was excellent. The staff at the front desk all spoke perfect English. Their recommendations for restaurants and directions to tourist destinations were very satisfactory. The breakfast staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast itself was very good. My only complaints were that room was small and there really wasn't a chair to lounge in, however I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear „CRloverNY”,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for leaving an excellent comment on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I was happy to read that you found our hotel quiet and that noise was in no way a problem. I was so proud to see your praising words regarding our Front Desk staff. I was glad that they could be at your service with helpful recommendations during your stay. Please let me highlight that our executive rooms are larger than the superior ones and most of them have armchair as well. It was also good to read that you were satisfied with our breakfast selection and with the staff. Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan a next visit to Budapest and I will provide you one of our largest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, not sure what the hotel part of the hotel was as what we saw and stayed in were apartments. The location, staff, breakfast, cleanliness, modern quality look to the apartments were all fantastic and I would of rated my overall stay as 100% excellent if it was not for the layout of the apartments and the noise I experienced on all 3 nights.
The apartments are on 4 levels basically going around in a circle with a lift in the middle, tiled floors, noisy doors we could hear everyone coming and going at night..between the hours of 10pm and 1am we heard 21 times of doors, feet, conversations it was very annoying as we needed sleep...our city breaks are full on we want to see everything so late nights do not happen so rest is a must. I rang reception on the first evening to complain they were really good and explained we would be moved the next night to the quietest room they offered. I felt relieved as I couldn't cope with another night of that.
We were moved from room 305 to 407 it was on the top floor next to the roof terrace. There was only 1 room in our passage way so thought this would be great however we could still hear noise from the main stairway,doors and feet again. It was raining heavy on 2nd night so could hear all the rain on the roof terrace, 3 separate fans were on and off all night and the mini bar fridge was noisy, dustbinmen came by around 6am and the cleaners were about from that time so it was a very very noisy place to stay overall and for this reason I would never return and I am surprised not many reviewers have said similar. It was a real shame as everything else was great. But for me sleep quality is important.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear „Nicobar_11”,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for leaving a comment of your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on TripAdvisor. It was my pleasure to be seen that the location, the staff, the breakfast and also the cleanliness have met your expectations. We try to do our best day by day to provide the highest quality of services to our guests. Regarding to the noise you mentioned please accept my sincere apologies. I was sorry to read that you could not have a good night sleep during your stay. After you reported to my colleagues that the first room you stayed in was noisy we immediately offered you another room on the top floor. Our aim is to reach 100% guest satisfaction and to make every guest’s stay a memorable one. We have soundproof windows all around the house. We got really a few complaints about the noise and that is why we take your complaint even more serious not to happen again with anyone in the future. I would like to call your kind attention that the mini-bar can be turned off not to hear the noise of it. Regarding your comment about the noisy cleaning staff I can assure you that I will look into this matter and talk to the Housekeeping Manager to avoid similar situations in the future. Please contact me directly should you plan a next visit to Budapest and I will provide you with the quietest room we have. I trust that I will have the chance to show you the real Opera Garden feeling in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,859 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.