We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free taxi transfer
Ranked #11 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At home in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I traveled for two weeks in Europe with my wife in August, including a few cities in Czech Rep., Hungary, Austria and Germany. Opera Garden was the best hotel we stayed in, although not necessarily the most expensive. Excellent staff, always warm and helpful. It was clear from the beginning that they were focused on providing great service and making their guests feel as comfortable as possible. Very good breakfast, comfortable and clean room, excellent location by the Opera House (as you would expect) and a subway station. Not far from the Danube, a nice walk in the evening, with lots of entertainment (bars and restaurants) nearby. Opera Garden was recommended by a friend and became our favorite hotel in Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear „Julian H”,
I would like to thank you for taking your time and effort to evaluate us on Tripadvisor. It is really great to see that you enjoyed your stay in our Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It makes me feel proud to read your commending words on our staff’s service. Thank you for describing them warm and helpful. It was glad to see that you could take advantage on our central location. I am really happy that you enjoyed your visit to Budapest and it would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you back to our Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    264
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
231
558
79
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great location. behind the opera house. Very central, and could get everywhere easily on foot from there. Very close to the Metro as well.

Service is so good, I felt spoiled. Everyone, from the reception desk to the servers in the breakfast area, went out of their way to assist me with anything. When I checked in, they handed me a package of city guide brochures and maps, and briefed me very professionally about the hotel. When I asked one of them about trains to Vienna, he gave me some great advice, showed me the ticket office on the map, and printed out the train schedules for me.

I was given a room on the 4th floor. The lift goes up to the 3rd and I took the stairs to the 4th, but it wasn't any trouble. The room was big and roomy, and included a kitchen and small eating area. Bathroom had l'Occitane toiletries and thick towels (even a towel heater).

Lots of options in breakfast buffet: cereals, bread, home-made yoghurt, cold cuts, cheese, etc. You can also request them to make you omelettes, porridge, or special juices. There's seating indoors and out on the courtyard if it's warm.

But what I loved are the nice little touches - free fruit available during the day, and complimentary mulled wine during the afternoon. So comforting. Then, for breakfast, they serve champagne!

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear „BKK83”,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your 5-star rating on TripAdvisor. I am so glad that you were fascinated by our staff from the front desk to the servers in the breakfast area and that they could be at your service during your stay. I was delighted to read that you concerned the location great and that you described your room big and roomy. I would like to thank you sincerely for highlighting our free touches such as the fruit, the mulled wine or the champagne at breakfast. Please let me know if I can assist you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, UK
Level Contributor
217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We looked on TA before our recent Budapest trip and found this great place. It was good for us as we had opera tickets, so it was close by. Overall we had a fantastic stay in this nice building which consists of a central courtyard and a pleasant roof terrace. Our room was very clean, as was the standard throughtout the hotel.

I think some of the UK hotels could learn a lot from this place in terms of cleanliness and customer care. The room was great with a small cooker, fridge and microwave. Breakfast was plentifull and again well presented and a good choice. This place has nice touches, like fruit presented to take to your room, and hot mulled wine when we came in from the days adventures.

Front of house staff are accomodating, and speak good English which helps as my Hungarian was laughable!. They helped to point out local restaurants and arranged tickets for the spar baths, so a big thank you for all for your efforts.

We would not hesitate to book again as it was value for money. it is fairly central as the Opera undeground station is just on the main street. We got a 3 day transport ticket which was great value for money, so no problem getting anywhere, and lots of restaurants/bars near the hotel.

Note, they also have a little spa area and fitness room.

Dr Malc

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear „DrMalc”,
I would like to thank your time you recently took to leave an excellent comment on TripAdvisor. I am always glad to read such a perfect comment about our hotel. I was happy to find out that you were pleased with the cleanness and the equipment of your room. Further, it is my pleasure to see that our free touches like the complimentary mulled wine or the fruit served every day could add some extra to your visit. I was also pleased to find out that hotel staff’s service exceeded your expectations and that they could help you with recommendations. I trust that we will have the chance to accommodate you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Gervais les bains
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Warm welcome from front desk set the tone immediately for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Rooms very good, lacking nothing, Breakfast excellent including options for dental patients avoiding dairy products. Fast wi-fi. All staff very smiley. Great location for Opera and sightseeing and shopping.
No negatives; thanks to all!

Room Tip: No comment on the 'wellness' area/spa as I did not have time to see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Hawkins1250,
Thank you very much for sharing your fabulous review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I was happy to read that from the first moment the staff’s could make your stay even more enjoyable. I would like to thank you for describing the breakfast excellent and highlighting the products for dental patients. Furthermore, it is my pleasure to be seen that our free wifi could be at your service during your stay. I would be more than happy if you would grant us an other visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We are stayed for 1 night. The hotel pays attention on guests welcoming: welcome drink sangria by lift, chocolate on the pillows, small complimentary bottle of wine with glasses on the desk with welcome card in handwriting what in these days is hardly ever.
Room: here was kitchen side with tea, coffee and goods to make a meal. A bed was comfortable. Just strange frame up around the bed. Would be more romantic if here would be suspended baldachin :) Nice bathroom.
Two level`s breakfast room in 2 levels. You can start breakfast with glass of champagne! Food is very good with variety of coffee. You can take coffee away in the paper glasses. Separate smoking area.
Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear „Ievy_777”,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment of your recent experience at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on TripAdvisor. I cannot be grateful enough for all your kind words regarding our free touches such as the sangria or the champagne at breakfast. I was happy to see that the room and all the equipments met your expectations. It really makes me proud that you described the staff to be both nice and helpful. Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan a next visit to Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Opera Garden for 2 nights in September. It is a lovely hotel in a central but quiet location. The rooms are very nicely furnished with super comfortable beds. Very clean. Free sangria in the afternoon. Breakfast is included in the room price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the train station which we missed but they were so understanding and accommodating in sending us another. Greg in particular was extremely helpful. He answered each and every question with a smile and arranged a full day tour for us so we could see as much of Budapest as possible in the short time we were there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear „galemor”
Thank you sincerely for leaving an excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I was delighted to read that you were pleased with the staff and that they could do everything to make your stay even more better with providing useful information and organizing sightseeing tour. I would be more than happy to welcome you back to our Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Opera Garden as part of a group of 8 during August whilst at the Szigit Festival (we're not camping people!).

We had two apartments, sleeping four each. They were two bedroom and very a comfortable size - enough for four adult males! Everything you need included - nice bathroom, excellent shower, well stocked, reasonable priced minibar etc.

Staff were efficient if not always smiling! However, nice touches like preparing one of our group fruit & pastries for when he left at 4am go a very long way.

There is a hot tub & sauna in the basement but it’s only open for a few hours each day and as you would imagine quite small but nice if you've been walking all day.

Good location, 5 minutes away from underground and a short walk to lots of bars, restaurants etc.

Budapest is probably one of the best cities i have visited. plenty to do, plenty to see and an excellent nightlife so suitable for couples, groups & families. Friendly people, easy to get around, cheap and very hot in summer.

Will definitely go back for a weekend to see more of it as we spent a reasonable amount of time at the festival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear „BigBoyG”
I am glad to see that we have such guests like you who take their valuable time and post their comments on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you concerned our rooms comfortable and spacious and that you highlighted our central location to other travelers. I cannot be grateful enough for all your kind words regarding our staff. I am happy to see that they could be at your service during your stay. Regarding your comment about the wellness area let me kindly inform you that the fitness equipments can be used 24/7. Due to cleaning works we have to close the sauna and the Jacuzzi for a couple of hours during the day. I am really happy that you enjoyed your visit to Budapest and it would be the greatest pleasure to welcome you back to our Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,856 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.