We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely- Couldn't have asked for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely- Couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Me and my sister stayed here from the 03/03/13 for three nights. On arrival we were met by lovely staff who made us feel very welcome. This seemed to be the theme throughout our stay with members of reception happy to help with any questions we had.

The room was clean with everything you could possibly need. It was also surprisingly quiet for the central location of the hotel. There are a series of small extras, such as the wellness centre and complimentary mulled wine, which really make your stay special. There was lots of choice at breakfast and was open until 10:30 am which is good for those who enjoy a lie in.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Budapest!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear”Emily W”, I would like to thank you for your honorific review placed on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I couldn’t have been delighted more reading your appreciate words regarding the customer service what we provide. It was also a pleasure to find out that your room and other hotel facilities have met your expectations and you could take advantage of the complimentary homemade mulled wine. I trust that you will grant us another visit in the near future and would like to thank you again for recommending us to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    226
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
202
479
72
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I am a repeat customer, this is a very nice hotel. Location is very close to the Opera House, a few minutes walk down a mostly pedestrian-only side street. Convenient to public transportation, and lots of good restaurants, upscale shopping in the neighborhood. Neighborhood is safe.

Hotel staff are very accomodating, speak excellent English, and good directions / recommendations. They were able to print out our airline check-in and boarding passes which I always appreciate. Rooms are clean, spacious by European standards, and well-equiped and even have kitchenette facilities.

Room Tip: Splurge on a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear”Richard H”, I would like to thank you for your fantastic comment left on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that you concerned our location good and were satisfied with your room including its amenities and cleanliness. I was also pleased to be heard that hotel staff’s service exceeded your expectations. I would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As previous reviews have said, the Opera Garden Hotel is an ideal place to stay in Budapest. The central location was walking distance from most sights and close to public transport. We also found many good restaurants in the neighborhood. We took advantage of the free transport from the airport which was efficient and polite. The staff was always helpful and followed through on any questions or problem. We had a slight problem with the lock on our door and it was attended to right away. They even offered to move us to another room which we declined as we were quite settled in our room. We stayed 4 nights in February and enjoyed the excellent breakfast buffet, as well as the mulled wine. The room was a good size with a large bathroom, by European standards. We also enjoyed the spa and sauna in the basement. All in all, a very good stay and one I would recommend to anyone going to Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear”Kiama5”, I would like to thank you for recommending Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to other travelers on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you found our hotel an ideal place to stay and concerned the location good. It was also a pleasure to be heard that our facilities have met your expectations and you found hotel staff to be both helpful and professional. I truly hope that we will have another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at the Opera Garden Hotel this weekend for a Hen Do. I have to say out of all the countries I have travelled to and hotels I have stayed in, the staff at Opera Gardens are the most nicest, friendliest and helpful (especially 'Bela' who works at the Hotel reception). The Deluxe apartment was fantastic, spacious and very clean!! Breakfast was included, which was lovely. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Budapest, I would definitely recommend Opera Gardens. The location is great and central to all the bars, clubs and restaurants. Everything is pretty much walking distance. Definitely worth the money!

*Room 208*

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear”SimranS”, I would like to thank you for sharing your honorific thoughts about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on Tripadvisor. I was impressed to read your appreciate words regarding the hotel staff’s services and will share with them. We truly believe that the high level of personal service has to be the most important service in every hotel. It was a pleasure to find out that your room and its cleanliness have also met your expectations and you liked our buffet breakfast. I trust that you will grant us with another stay on your next occasion in Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a great choice if you're on a budget, OK to not have the Danube view, but would still like to stay in a beautiful hotel at a great location.

CLOSE TO EVERYTHING: The hotel is not by the Danube bank which means you won't get views of Buda or Pest but is in an ideal central and accessible location. It's close to Andrássy út and its many shops and restaurants. The Opera House and the Opera metro stop is next door (metro line that will take you to Szechenyi & Heroes Square). It's 400 m from St. Stephen's and a 15-minute walk from Chain Bridge and access to Buda.

CLEAN, PRETTY ROOMS: Clean lines with simple, modern decór is the overall motif of the hotel. Pretty wallpapers and four-poster beds add to the charm. Perhaps more important, the bathroom is clean, modern, functional and shows no hint of being a budget hotel.

Take all the above and add a great breakfast buffet, spa-sauna-jacuzzi ensemble, all the mulled wine you can have to stay warm, and sincere, courteous service—like us, you're certainly bound to enjoy your stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear”nowwhatstheplan”, Thank you for your positive review left on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you found Oper Garden Hotel & Apartments a great pleace to stay on a good value. It was also a pleasure to find out that you concerned our location perfect and were satisfied with your room and its cleanliness. I would like to thank you for the appreciate words as well regarding our buffet breakfast and wellnes facilities. I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for four days in January and loved the hotel! It is very modern, very clean and the staff is incredibly friendly (and their English is perfect, I might add). The bed was comfortable and the room came with a little kitchenette which was convenient. The location was top-notch. It is off the very busy streets, very quiet yet close to the Opera house and Andrassy street as well as all the tourist locations and public transportation. The breakfast was very nice. We had a wonderful experience there and definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear”Sasha35805”, I would like to thank you for your excellent comment left on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and concerned our location good. It was also a pleasure to be heard that you found hotel staff to be both helpful and hospitable. Moreover I was glad to find out that your room and our buffet breakfast have met your expectations. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through an online comparison search engine, and got a good rate. Using the Trip advisor reviews, we decided to stay here. We managed to get three nights for £160 which for a 4* hotel was incredible.

The welcome was superb and we were upgraded to their superior deluxe room. This had a large bed, table kitchen with fridge, cooker, crokery and kettle and a bathroom. Te room was ample space and clean daily, with a note on the pillow with the thought of the day.

We had free complenentary endless supply of mulled wine which kept us warm.

Unfortunately we forgot our swimming costumes but the sauna and jaccuzi looked amazing and the gym was small but enough to use.

Location is central, easy to get to and close bu is the apresto little pizzeria with cheap, tasty food.

Amazing hotel and no complaints. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear”Sarah E”, I would like to thank you for your honorific feedback left on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that you found Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments a perfect place to stay on a good value. I was also delighted to find out that your room and its amenities have met your expectations and you could take advantage of our complimentary extra touches. I do appreciate again for recommending us to other travelers and trust that you will grant us with another stay on your next occasion in Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#12 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.