We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free taxi transfer
Ranked #12 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Poprad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is first hotel I have visited second time and I will visit it again. My first visit was in cca 2009 and I must say, now I found only good improvements. Welcome card at the table, welcome wine, free hot wine at the lift, helpful staff...those little things make you feel like you are really welcome here... Even its not directly in the room, you can ask for everything at the reception and you will have it in minute...bathrobe, slippers, extra pillow.... Great restaurants and bars are very close to the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear”Juraj A”, I would like to thank you for sharing your excellent comment on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that you choosed to stay again at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments based upon your nice memories from your recent stay. I was also delighted to find out that you could take advantage of our small improvements and were satisfied with everything. Please let me know if I can assist you with your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    264
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
225
553
78
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The house keeping was horrible: they emptied our wallet (20 000 HUF).

The hotel itself is clean and realy central, they have good recomendations for tourists.

So if you go to this hotel, do not trust the employees, they have their own keys and they enter your room without knoking even if you are still inside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear”Nic n”,Thank you for placing your comment on Tripadvisor about an experience that could not happen at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. We value all of the guest reviews. I was disappointing to read that you discredit the hotel staff’s service and accused the housekeeping department with stealing. I kindly inform you that we are taking very serious your statement however we do not believe that it has happened here at our hotel. We strongly reject your accusation. Please note that my colleagues working at Housekeeping are reliable and part of the hotel team for long time now. Furthermore nobody reported issue like that during their stay. I hope you understand that housekeepers need to have master keys with them that open every guest doors in order to do the room cleaning. I kindly inform you that we certainly understand and accept guest statements if those are based on a real personal experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have never took the time to write a review before,but this is such a wonderfull hotel with so much
attention to detail and genuine care for the costumer,that i felt i had to share this with other people thinking of staying here.I travelled with my three sisters and we stayed in a two bedroomed apartment which we had no complaints about at all.From the moment we arrived till we left we felt very wellcome and would defenitely stay here again.We found a fab resturant/bar around the corner called MOST with very affordable and delicious food!The people in this city are most helpful i have ever met anywhere and ,
I am already looking forward to my next trip to Budapest!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear”annedundalk”, I would like to thank you for sharing your honorific thoughts about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on Tripadvisor. I was impressed to read your appreciate words regarding the services we provide. Your review is a real source of motivation and this is what we work for day by day. I would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you and your sisters again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crondall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On our first visit to Budapest, we spent two nights at the Opera Garden and were impressed with our experience. For exploring the city, the hotel is very well located, modern and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculately clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was excellent. Altogether a great experience and we would definitely stay at the Opera Garden again. Congratulations and thanks to all the management and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear”Paul D”, I would like to thank you for the fantastic comment you left on Tripadvisor. It was a real pleasure to read that you found Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments a great place to stay. It also makes me feel proud to find out your commending words on our staff’s service and the buffet breakfast we provide. I was delighted to read that your room, the cleanliness and our location have met your expectations. I hope that you will grant us another visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Opera Gardens Hotel. Both times in winter. Both times with teenagers in tow. This is a small but top class hotel with staff who are professional and very accommodating. It has a very comfortable feel about it , from the service, the breakfasts , the hot tub downstairs and the hot spiced wine greeting you at end of the day . Sometimes, when you are a long way from home, it is nice to find a place that feels like this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear”Lorraine 1997”, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay again at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments and for taking your time to evaluate us on Tripadvisor. It was absolutely delighted to read that our services and hotel staff’s hospitality could make your stay a memorable experience. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Level Contributor
249 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Budapest last weekend, thanks to Opera Garden!

ROOMS: First of all, we were actually able to get something that slept all 4 of us, it had a kitchen (which we didn't use) but it was lovely, plenty of storage, table & chairs for 4 & 2 separate bedrooms...one with 2 twins, one with a double, and a single bath. It was nicely designed & laid out, luxuriously furnished all the way down to the l'Occitane toiletries! Everything was neat & clean. The price was perfect in comparison to what we normally find in large cities throughout Europe.

SERVICE: We received impeccable service here, from the numerous communications prior to our arrival about arranging cabs, dinner locations, and things to do, to our time spent there asking directions on the map, last minute dinner reservations & tours & tickets. They were always friendly, smiling, and genuinely willing to help. A nice hand-written note & bottle of wine (which we did not drink) were waiting in our room upon arrival. The day we put out our 'do not disturb' sign, we were left with a nice note letting us know that should we desire room service was available until 7pm & to just let them know. Truly a very personalized, yet non-intrusive service staff here!

BREAKFASTt: It was a lovely breakfast, laid out buffet style with a nice assortment of cold items, cereals, breads, fruit, veggies, cold meats & cheese. Loved the cinnamon croissants & other pastries, the coffee/chocolate machine was nice & the variety of juices as well. There was a hot section with very nice scrambled eggs (I do not say this lightly, it is hard to find good scrambled eggs on a buffet, but these were!), bacon & sausage...the only issue here was the burner to keep them warm didn't seem to work very well or wasn't set very high...by the time you filled your plate & got to the table, the eggs were rather cool, though not cold. You can also request specific items from smoothies to omelets & porridge. The staff here was very nice & friendly as well.

LOCATION: This is truly a very nice location! Just steps from the Opera, where you can also find the Subway to the Heroes Square & the Széchenyi thermal bath as well as a stop for the hop on hop off bus tours & walking distance (easy!) to many lovely restaurants! We even walked back from the central town district, which was easy & took no more than 20 minutes.


The only items I could see that could be improved on were the warmth of the eggs on the buffet, the softness of the toilet paper, and the softness/thickness of the towels...but these are little things & this hotel is truly a very nice place to stay that will not disappoint you...the only thing I wonder is why they only have 4 stars & what it must take to get that 5th star??? This is definitely as nice or nicer than 5 stars we've stayed in!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, on the 2nd floor...really liked the separation of rooms so you only have to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear”LookingforFamilyFun”, Thank you for evaluate us on Tripadvisor. I was impressed by your fantastic comment regarding your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It was great to be heard that you appreciated the location, the style and design of the rooms and the amenities we provide. It made me feel absolutely proud to read out your commending words on our staff’s service what I am going to share with them. I truly believe they are our most valuable asset. Regarding the buffet breakfast it was nice to read that you highlighted this service and our menu have met your expectations. Please accecpt my apology in relation to the settings of the burner, we will certainly inspect it. Further I would like to thank you for the recommendations. Our goal is to ensure that every guest leaves with a feeling of satisfaction from their visit, nevertheless we admit there is always room to improve. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After a lot of research we chose to stay here while in Budapest for New Years and we were not disappointed! After finally negotiating the Hungarian Public Transport system we found this hidden gem. Away from the busy tourist traps and situated barely 5-10 minutes’ walk from St Stephen’s Basilica and 15 from the Chain Bridge (dependent on how fast you walked), you couldn’t feel better located.

Right from the beginning the staff were very friendly and helpful, taking us to our room and showing us the facilities rather than giving us basic directions and sending us on our way. From 4.30pm complimentary mulled wine was on offer near the lift, which was perfect to thaw out! The staff recommended a number of fantastic restaurants to eat and made arrangements for us to get to the airport on New Year’s morning. We were going to use public transport but after the staff mentioned it was going to be very busy, we decided to take their advice. Lucky we did as it saved so much time and hassle and worked out only a little more expensive than the trains.

The breakfast was perfect, offering the right amount of quality Continental and cooked breakfast options so not to have too much waste, sparkling wine was also on offer which was a nice touch. The staff were very attentive and would arrange for anything if you wanted something that was not laid out on the counters, from a smoothie to a freshly cooked omelette.

The room was lovely and clean with plenty of space and lounge about in after a day wandering the city. We received our request of a top floor room which had a great view of the roof tops, it just added something extra to the room. It was a nice touch to provide a ‘quote for the day’ by the domestic worker after the rooms had been cleaned.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again if we return to Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.