We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free taxi transfer
Ranked #11 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived late on the Monday and was welcomed there was warm mulled wine to greet you an smiling staff the room were very cleans an had everything you needed in them the breckfast bar was amazing a little of everything an the staff could. Not help you enough would really recommend the jacuzzi and ste room were really goo aswell

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear”Toniacolin”, Thank you for sharing your excellent review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments and were satisfied with the services we provide. I also would like to thank you for recommending us to other travelers. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    249
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
215
530
76
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at the Opera Gardens Hotel. The rooms are well appointed with a fully equipped kitchenette. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is extremely clean and the rooms are serviced to the best standards. Thanks to the friendly waiters who remembered what we needed and happily supplied the correct meals after my dental implant surgery.
The hotel is very close to the Opera and all the important tourist attractions, buses and metro.
Superb value for money all round.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear”Sohrab E”, Thank you for taking your time to post your fantastic comment on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to be heard that you concerned our location good. I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with our cleanliness and hotel staff’s services exceeded your expectations. We are also well prepared for dental patients’ needs. Thank you for highlight it. I would like to thank you again for recommending us to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Opera Garden Hotel from September 15th to the 19 of 2012. The hotel is located about two blocks from the State Opera House. While the opera was not actually performing until September 25th or so, the tour of the opera house was well worth it. Back to the Hotel. It is modern, clean and very cheery. The staff from the receptionists to the chambermaids, and the waiters in the breakfast area were extremely helpful. The hotel is built in a somewhat quirky manner. The elevator for example is outside in a central courtyard but somehow it all works. The breakfast area is tiny and set on two levels, both inside. However, there is a connected outside area that we used when the mornings were not too cool or there was no rain in sight. Our first room there was on the 2nd floor (actually the third floor in the US). It was long and narrow and we we not altogether happy in it. But since the hotel was full we were not able to make a change. The hotel loosened up a little the following night and we switched to a slightly smaller but more workable room on the 1st. floor (remember, the 2nd floor) which we were much happier with and stayed there for the remaining 3 nights. The staff was very helpful in making the change and gave us several options to consider. There was no price differential.
Breakfasts were plentiful with both hot and cold offerings. It is plainer than the big hotel chains but perfectly adequate. The hotel is on a corner with several cafe's underneath and across the street so at night there was some noise. I believe practically all the rooms face a street with noise. However the windows when closed adequately quieted the rooms. The location is about an 8-10 min walk to a metro stop (the Opera station naturally). There are lots of good restaurants within a short distance. We found a good Italian restaurant about 15 minutes walking from the hotel but there are loads of choices to be found in the neighborhood and each has traditional Hungarian entrees as well as ethnic specialties available. Back to the hotel. In summary, we enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel with it's professional, cheerful staff and its clean lines an recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: Rooms we stayed in had a small kitchen and mini-bar. Prices were reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear”Joel_in_PA”, I would like to thank you for taking your time and effort to share your thoughts about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you found hotel staff to be both helpful and hospitable. I was pleased to be heard that we could make your stay more comfortable with the room change. Furthermore it was also a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our buffet breakfast and all in all you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was in 001. I had a little loft up as the bedroom with a tv. The ground floor has a tv, dining table, a small but full kitchen with a water boiler, microwave, stove, kitchenware, fridge, and a free of use safe. The icecream in the fridge looks extremely tempting but I successfully resisted them. Their wifi is free and good. The breakfast has all I love, bacon, eggs, bakery, müsli, coffee machine, tea, juice, all kinds of cheese. The random find was the hair straightener I read about on the table. They also have sauna but I didn't get the chance to use it. The location was perfect for my visit to the state opera. The receptionists were very nice. After I checked out, I came back to hang out in their lobby using their Internet while waiting for my next business. They even offered me tea while waiting. I'm absolutely in love with this place. Surely I'll come here again if I visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear”TDLemon1900”, I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you were satisfied your room and its amenities. It was also a pleasure to be heard that our buffet breakfast menu have met your expectations and concerned our location perfect. Moreover I was delighted to read that our colleagues could make your stay a memorable experience. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

a big YES. started with my mistake and a wrong date booked on HRS, special nonref rate.. Balazs from the hotel helped me immediately and changed the date to the proper one without any penalties. I arrived on Saturday, earlier than check in starts but was offered a room just around noon. all other details like in other reviews: nice comfortable room, clean, with a small kitchenette, big bathroom and high quality cosmetics, good WiFi, great breakfast, perfect location etc etc. I had a fantastic time and now I send all my colleagues to this hotel. oh, my number one is Kata from the reception :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear”zigWaW”, I would like to thank you for taking your time to place your honorific comment on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that we could make your stay a real experience at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I was also pleased to be heard all the appreciate words regarding our services and facilities. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel in a very nice location, Nice room with good service and helpful reception. The breakfast buffet includes lots of stuff - including pan fried vegetables + unlimited champagne.

Metro stop around the corner. Tram one block away.

Just one block for the Cathedral where the night life focuses. There one can buy wine by the glass (out of zillions of choices) and sit on steps of a huge Cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, spacious and clean comfortable rooms. Location perfect and no street or traffic noise as hotel is on a pedestrianised street. Great bathroom and shower. Staff friendly. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.