We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free taxi transfer
Ranked #11 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel very much. Personnel is very friendly and helpful. The room is comfortable and clean. The hotel lies in a very nice part of Pest: Central but in quiet street near the Opera.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear”Barextra”, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your excellent review on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you had a pleasant stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments and were satisfied with our services. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    264
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
231
558
79
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Opera Garden while visiting Budapest for a short winter break and cannot recommend it highly enough. The hotel is within a beautiful old building and the interior is chic and modern whilst retaining original character. The hotel is arranged around a central courtyard which would be wonderful for relaxing with a drink in the summer. Our room was spacious, stylish and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a luxury feel. What really made our stay special were the extra touches: a complementary welcome glass of wine in the room on arrival; complementary mulled wine on a little table by the lift every evening; a personalised note from the housekeeper every day; champagne at breakfast; high-end complementary toiletries. The staff were warm and friendly yet professional. The location of the hotel is ideal for anyone visiting Budapest on holiday. It is within a 5 minute walk to two metro stations on different lines. However, we didn't feel the need to use the metro at all (despite -10C temperatures), since the Opera Garden is situated right in the middle of everything. We didn't know Budapest at all before we booked our hotel, but were pleased to find that just about everything we wanted to reach (restaurants, cafes, ruin pubs, the terror museum, city park, the danube, the inner town, etc) was within walking distance.

This hotel is excellent value for money and can't be recommended highly enough. Very classy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear”Ellen S”, I would like to thank you for taking your time and effort to post your comment on Tripadvisor. It was a real pleasure to read that you liked the style and design of the hotel and were satisfied with your room including its amenities. I was also glad to be heard that you could take advantage of our extra touches. We found these important in making everyone’s stay more enjoyable at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. Thank you for the appreciate words regarding our location and for recommending us to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I just cannot fault the whole experience of staying here.

We had one apartment with 1 x double and 2 x single beds for 4 nights. Complimentary wine on arrival, mulled wine in reception each evening to keep out the -18 deg C temperatures in early February were delightful and unexpected. The breakfast range was impressive and included for cold and cooked fare. No problems at all with the self service offered.

The rooms were first class air conditioned and were 5*. The Opera Garden as it impiles is conveniently next to the Opera house with good 'metro' and tram connections to the rest of this city. Local bars and a range of cafes and restaurants are all within walking distance. We would recommend visits to the 'ruin' pubs to mingle with the locals and feel you are away from home.

We can'y wait for an excuse to go back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear”davepen54”, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on Tripadvisor. I was glad to read that you concerned our location good and were satisfied with your rooms. It was also a pleasure to be heard that our buffet breakfast menu have met your expectations. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The front desk is very helpful. Upon arrival, they have already prepared all kinds of tourist information and booklets for us. When we ask for direction, they have always answered with smile and useful instruction. When we ask for them for advice on restaurants, they have also provided very good range of choices.

The room is clean, spacy , with full facility kitchen.
The breakfast is also very good with many variety and choices.
Location is very nice, easy to find. And two metro lines are within walking distance. City centre is also within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear”Bryan1974”, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your excellent feedback on Tripadvisor. I was absolutely pleased to read that reception staff’s service exceeded your expectations and found them to be both helpful and attentive. I was also delighted to be heard that you were satisfied with your room and its cleanliness. In addition I was glad to read that you concerned our location good and enjoyed the buffet breakfast at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. Let me thank you again for recommending us to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in January and found it to be exceptional. From the moment we arrived (door to door service by the airport minibus) we were made to feel welcome by attentive and pleasant staff. We travelled with friends who had the next room. Both rooms were modern, exceptionally clean and well-equipped. The air-conditioning was responsive and this felt like a four-star hotel at two-star prices. Breakfast was plentiful and offered lots of choice. Free champagne was on offer with breakfast and coffee to go was always available. In the evenings this was supplemented by the treat of warm mulled wine to go (also free), setting us up nicely for our walks through this wonderful city. We spent 4 days in Budapest and could kept have ourselves entertained for another week. The hotel was ideally situated for exploring the city, close to the national opera house. We cannot recommend the Opera Garden or Budapest highly enough and would love to return to both.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear”4DonnaC”, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience on Tripadvisor. What you describe is what we are working hard day by day to achieve and to provide for all of our guests. I was delighted to read every comment you made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Budapest, and we absolutely loved it!! It really made the trip that bit more special.

Location-wise, it's a nice 5/10 minute stroll from the city centre, parliament building, and about 20 minutes from the palace.

The service and the room itself couldn't have been better. They really thought about the small details, like the complimentary bottle of wine with a welcome note on our arrival, to leaving a small note on our bed the first time they came to clean the room.

The staff were also extremely helpful and very friendly, from the front of house to the restaurant, everyone was nice.

Couldn't recommend it more!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear”husso23”, I would like to thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure to read that we could make your stay a memorable one here at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip, one night in January. The hotel is small, with rooms located on two sides of quiet roads just off the main area of the City Centre. The rooms themselves are modern and functional, with kitchenette, wifi and good facilities. The reception staff are exceptionally helpful and the recommendation of a good quality restaurant for dinner was exactly as predicted - good value, good food and good service. The only criticism is the breakfast room, because as soon as three or four people come together the serving area becomes rather crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel face a pedestrian only street - so very quiet indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operagardenhotel, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear”lesjon”, I would like to thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments was enjoyable. I was delighted to be heard that you found hotel staff to be both helpful and attentive and were satisfied with your room and its amenities. I was sorry to read that you experienced the breakfast room seams small during peak hour and trust that apart from this we will have the opportunity of welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,858 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hajos Utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#10 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.