We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Centrum Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest Centrum Hostel to your Saves list
Budapest Centrum Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nador utca 26, 1st floor 3 door bell 11, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, after that we travelled with a rental car trough Hungary and Croatia. Even though we didn't plan for this, we decided to go back to Budapest after a few days and went straight back to this Hostel, as it was the best place we've ever been.

The Hostel is beautifully renovated, and everyone was quick to become friends with the owner, Alex, a guy who was born to be an awesome host. He'll give you awesome tips on where to go out, eat, or to do whatever you like. He is a local who knows all the best places in Budapest and he'll even get you all kinds of discounts and such. Alex works very hard to keep the hostel clean and to keep everyone happy, his was always happy to help us no matter what it was.

The rooms in the hostel are just fine! The matrasses were comfortable, and the room and our bathroom were perfectly clean (and looked brand new).

If you like to mix with other people, the living room is awesome. We met open minded people from all around the world in this hostel and going out with these hostel guests was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    14
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
18
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Budapest Centrum Hostel was a great place to stay in Budapest. It is located in the middle of the city center with everything on walking distance, including public transportation. The rooms, bathroom facilities, kitchen and the hall were very clean. The hostel is renovated recently so everything is new. The rooms are functional and nice to stay in. The hostel is situated on the second floor and has an elevator. There is an in-room lockerbox and the common area's are equipped with a video monitoring system. The hostel has a fully equipped and clean kitchen. Free WiFi included.

Alex, the owner and host of this hostel is very kind and offers a great service (and breakfast!). He knows everything about Budapest and can arrange tickets and discounts. He will arrange anything for his guests. Alex arranged a bigger (two-person) bed for our tall traveling companion and even bought a bigger fan against the warm nights. Alex offers washing facilities for a small fee and he makes a great breakfast!

The Budapest Centrum Hostel is the best place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ideally located near the centre of Budapest, this hostel is a good pick for your weekend getaway. Clean, simple and quiet, what else do you need ?

The host (Alex) gave us quite a lot of tips, and was able to point us in a few good directions, very helpful. Can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My friends and I were visiting Budapest for the first time, with very little research we were slightly apprehensive about what to expect of the people and the city in general.
We were greeted at the entrance of the building with a lovely big smile from the hostel owner Alex who led us through the quirky landing into the hostel.

To my surprise the hostel which looked more like a big spacious apartment; was very much to my taste, with very high ceiling and floor to ceiling windows. The common room had an open plan kitchen, a large dining table and sofa's to lounge in. Our room was very clean and spacious with an en-suite bathroom; very comfy beds and it even a safe for your valuables (which we did not need to use as the hostel was very safe and secure).
The whole place had quirky features with contemporary decor but most of all it was impeccably clean! The hostel has everything to offer from clean towels, iron, tea/coffee to even a hair dryer!

Alex (the owner) is such an amazing big hearted guy, he was our first encounter of a Hungarian person in Budapest and I cannot stress how hospitable, friendly and accommodating he was towards us. Alex has a fantastic sense of humour and personality which will suit all types of people, he had us in stitches within the first few hours whilst advising us of all the best places to visit in Budapest.

If you are a looking for a good value for money accommodation which is central to the heart of Budapest, comfortable living, extremely clean with a very friendly and hospitable host, then this is the place to stay in.

It was more than just an accommodation for me; it was a fantastic hostel experience (especially as it was my first time). I can honestly say that I will be going back to this hostel when I return to Budapest again; we are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

alex is a great host and he is the perfect guide of this wonderful city: his personal touch and his recommendations make your stay unforgettable.. the hostel is super cozy, very clean, central. simply excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wow what a great place, we arrived late at night after a long journey, the guy who runs the place gave us a warm welcome, and really made us feel at home, although we only stayed a short time, it is one of the best hostels we have stayed in clean and comfortable, with great food, I can definitely say that when we return to Budapest, we will be staying there again a big Thank you from us.

Room Tip: just talk to the guy who runs the place, nothing seems to be too much bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my best hostel experience so far. I can't believe what I got for my money; it was clean, comfortable, centrally located and absolutely fantastic! We enjoyed local and homemade produce during breakfast and tea and coffee was available throughout the day. I really can't complain about anything.

Alex is one of the nicest guys you will ever meet. He can adapt easily to guests of all backgrounds and makes an effort to get to know you. Alex has a great sense of humour. He is very comfortable to be around and easy to talk to, we enjoyed some great conversations.

Alex is very accommodating and does his best to meet your needs. He spent some time with us (and all the other guests who arrived during our stay), to give an induction and some good tips and advice on things to do and see in Budapest. This was really helpful and made our holiday easier to organise as we only had a couple of nights in Budapest.

I hope to come back to Budapest and when i do i would definitely be booking this hostel again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Centrum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Centrum Hostel

Address: Nador utca 26, 1st floor 3 door bell 11, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budapest Centrum Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budapest Centrum Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Centrum Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.