We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for comfort food, big portions and tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boom & Brass

Boom & Brass
Vigado u. 4-6, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+361 877 7788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #729 of 1,864 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“OK for comfort food, big portions and tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My hungarian friend wanted me to post our experience. My friend's mother (they are quite wealthy) goes regularly to this restaurant and particularly as a teenager this was the treat place to go. It has lots of the comfort hungarian dishes and they are served well. the klezmer band was playing to different nationalities so it felt aimed also at tourists. The portions are more than ample and the service good. There is just so much better....

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    106
    60
    41
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

During our short trip to Budapest we ate here twice. The menu was very varied and not over priced. Cuisine to satisfy western tastes and local dishes as well. The presentation was excellent and the food first class. One down-sider was that the 'service charge' was rather high and although it was on the menu it was not prominently displayed. Would I recommend it there - YES.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The food here was just OK. The Hungarian Goulash was very thin with little taste. The waiter was hard to find after he brought our food making it hard to pay. In a great location though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londion
1 review
“Poor service and bad attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff had very bad attitude they dropped the Cutlery on my partner and was not very apologetic. Food was mediocre.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good food in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant has been done up quite well and has a modern feel to it. The staff, while not overfriendly, were polite and spoke good English. Food was good at a reasonable price considering it is on one of the main squares in Pest, and much of the menu is made up of Hungarian dishes. Far cheaper than the Gerbeaud across the road but similar price to the Hard Rock Cafe. Other than these restaurants theres not a huge deal close by without either going to the major hotel restaurants or walking further from the river.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boom & Brass also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Boom & Brass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boom & Brass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.