We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Gourmet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe La Terra

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caffe La Terra
Boszormenyi ut 44-46, Budapest H-1124, Hungary
355-0605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,234 of 1,783 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
workington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Almost Gourmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Unassuming from the outside and with a rather peculiar name our Sunday Lunch was delicious! I had broth, salmon and dessert! My partner also a 3 course! Plus 2 soft drinks with meal and coffee to finich! Well, served, well presented, fulfilling and delicious!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The biggest asset of La Terra is definitely the ccok. Food has always been great, whenever we visited. The atmosphere is very nice and service is friendly and welcoming at all times. Have been there with kids too - they loved it as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you visit Budapest, don't miss to visit this excellent restaurant! Okay,it's not in the city center, but not so difficult to get here! Take the tram number 59 from Szell Kalman square and get off at Kiss Janos altabornagy stop or if you come from the DEAK square, get on the bus numb. 105 and get off at the final stop.
The atmosphere is very good, nice to being there, good comfort....The staff is very kind, polite!
The foods are excellent, fantastic taste: we had a dinner (6people) and we went for different foods : all of us was amazed!!!!!! Taste some wine as well!
The price is good! In the city center you can not find a restaurant like this with this quality for this price!
If you are hungry in Hungary, go and test is!!!! You will be addicted to it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantasic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Modern, clean design inside, in the summer there is also service on the terrace. The food is good with interesting combination of the ingredients. The Mediterranean Duck Ragout soup with Boletus (Boletus edulis, a tasty mushroom popular also in Hungary) was tasty, and the chef’s recommendation: Turkey Breast Filled with Duck Liver and Grapes, served with a Grapey Risotto was excellent. The Fillet Mignon of Pork with Boletus Ragout (my mother-in-law’s choice) was a little dry and tough. For dessert choose the Chocolate Soufflé with Raspberry Ragout and Vanilla Ice-cream – it’s really good. There is a small but good selection of Hungarian wines (also by the glass), or if you prefer beer they have the original Pilsner Urquell (my all time favourite). What makes Caffe La Terra really shine is the friendly, professional service: fast and attentive with a warm smile from Diana.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“VERY happy return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I had the very good fortune to return to this restaurant and we were confronted, in a different season, with a different, seasonal menu but exactly the same excellent standards as before.

I have to admit an error though. The "59" tram is the one that takes you there from the Buda city centre, not "49". Perhaps it was remembering Diana that previously took my mind off things!

As an aside there's a stupendous confectionery/bakers about twenty yards away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe La Terra also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Caffe La Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe La Terra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.