We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice personell, not nice area and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Actor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Actor Hotel to your Saves list
Actor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viola u.10-14., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Actor Business Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice personell, not nice area and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The main problem with this hotel is location. I think this is simply not a good place for tourists. Keeping in mind that Budapest is relatively small city the distance to the city center and other attractions is too big. You must go 10 minutes to metro station and go a few stations, usually you need also to change to bus, tram, other metro line. The hotel is located in a very strange area with many dangerous places. Going across this area during a day is quite frightening. During an evening or night - I did not tried. Too many strange people looking like criminals, too many homeless people.

Nevertheless the hotel offers quite fine rooms which are big. Room are not cozy because of lack of any carpets but, as I wrote, they are spacious. Personel is nice and helpful.

I was quite surprised by a lot of noise. They made some renovation or whatever. The worst thing is that they made a lot of noise starting from 7 o'clock!!! I was happy with WiFi but it worked very poor.

To sum up advantages and disadvantages:
(+) price
(+) good personnel
(+) big rooms
(+) WiFi in rooms (poor quality)

(-) location,
(-) dangerous places when you go from metro station to the hotel
(-) a lot of problems with WiFi
(-) noise

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry though that you found the hotel average. Thank you for mentioning that you received outstanding service from our staff. It was great to see that you liked the room and it's size. While building our hotel we paid special attention to the needs of guests who suffer from allergies, therefore all our rooms are carpet free. You can request slippers at reception, especially if you feel uncomfortable.

Budapest is the seventh largest city in Europe and covers an area of 525 square kilometres (202.7 sq mi) within the city limits, therefore i wouldn't call it small, but it's really depends on personal perspective. From the main tourist area (district V., Váci street) our hotel located about 2 km far (a good 20-25 minutes by walking). However with public transport not more than 15 minutes (included walking to the metro station which takes about 5 minutes if you use a shortcut :). All the main sights of the city is reachable only with 1 vehicle change. I'm always ready to give advice on how to get to the chosen place.

We have never received any negative feedback from our guests about thievery or anything like that, therefore the area is totally safe and peaceful even after midnight.

I will look into it to find out what caused the noise starting from 7 o'clock. I would like to apologise any inconvenience caused.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Konstantin Kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    27
    7
    14
See reviews for
11
47
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was in Budapest for a conference, and stayed here four nights. The room was large and clean, and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. The hotel is on a quiet street, a half-block from a street with a tram line. The continental breakfast is quite decent, although the poorly lubricated conveyor-belt toaster emits a strange squealing sound like the giant ants in "Them!" (1954). The staff are helpful, and have good English. The two elevators are efficient and fully adequate. The air conditioner was generally adequate for some very warm days, and was not overly noisy; the digital thermostat was appreciated. This is a rather newish property, which could benefit from better maintenance: the phone (which I didn't need) was not working, and the drain plug in the sink would not open with its lever but could be removed manually. Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We just came back from Budapest and because of friends' recommendations, this is the first time we stayed at the Actor Business Hotel but it won't be the last. We traveled to Budapest several times over the past 12 years and found our "permanent hotel" from now on.

The hotel is clean, room and bathroom spacious, the most friendly staff available 24/7 ,free Wi-Fi . It's close to public transportation and only a 10 minute ride to the Center of the City . We found Eva at the front desk especially helpful as she was very knowledgeable about
"what was going on" in the city during our time in Budapest.

We would give this hotel and the staff our highest recommendations

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I don't even know how I stumbled across this hotels website, but I did, and am grateful for it. We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights, having met a friend there for our year trip to Hungary, to visit friends and family. Where to start...room was fantastic, clean and spacious. Staff, who actually understand what 'customer service' means...professional, helpful, friendly (especially Eva on the front desk)...all staff speak English. Breakfast (which was included with our room) was simply delicious, great presentation and selection. LOVED the free high speed Internet (which truly was fast) and hotel location. On a quite neighborhood, which was perfectly situated close to the Metro, buses etc....hop, skip and a jump away from Buda. This has become 'my hotel of choice' when in Hungary. Reasonable rates, clean, friendly staff, great restaurant, perfect location...what more can one ask for??

Room Tip: Try and get a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I liked the hotel so much that I've been there 3 times. Last time I was there with my friends and it was great.The hotel is very clean with very comfortable beds and heating floor :) There's free WI-FI and TV but only few channels in English. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood but it's easily accessible with major transportation. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I find it very good for business trip or big groups because the restaurant is big and can also be used as a conference room with projector. The food quality is great but maybe a bit expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. Modern rooms with big bathroom and comfortable beds. Staff was friendly and helpfull and 24/24 hours in our services. Lunche and dinner was delicious. Hotel's location is about ten minutes from Budapest's center, with a metro or bus stop nearby the hotel. An excellent choice for someone who will visit Budapest!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for four nights, to celebrate new years in budapest. The hotel is modern, with a nice interior, clean bathrooms and comfortable beds and a friendly staff. The location is about ten - fifthteen minutes away from the city center with either metro or tram (you can buy 24/48 or 72 h public transport cards at the airport when you arrive.) The hotel is located in what I assume is a fairly good neighborhood in Budapest, and there's not much traffic in the street outside.
Although we stayed here during the new years weekend, the value was phenomenal. We paid about 220 euros for four nights from 29th Dec to 2nd Jan. per couple. (except for the city tax witch was 1 euro per pers, per night.)
The only down-side I can recall was the breakfast, witch was 10 Eur. per person per day. I recommend finding a nice cafè or restaurant in the city. There's also a bakery and supermarket just around the corner.

+ Great value
+ Clean and modern
+ Free wifi
+ Air Con
+ Comfortable Beds

- Expensive breakfast
- Not much going on in the hotel bar
- Just two out of 50 TV channels in English (Sky News and TLC)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Actor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actor Hotel

Address: Viola u.10-14., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Actor Business Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Actor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actor Hotel Budapest enjoys a peaceful location close to the Danube river and Petőfi bridge, just blocks away from the Grand Boulevard. Klinikák metro station (M3 line) and the main tram line (No. 4-6) are only 500 m away.We ensure free transfer from and to the airport on prior request in case of minimum 3 nights continuous stay. This service is available between: 7:00-22:00 everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Actor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Actor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.