We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel that just needs to get the basics right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President Budapest to your Saves list
Hotel President Budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hold utca 3 - 5, Budapest 1054 , Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Salford, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel that just needs to get the basics right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel President on business and the overall experience was good, the location of the hotel is great and very central and breakfast was good. My room was comfortable and clean but didn't really have very much natural light. Also the tea/coffee tray is appauling! Two flimsy plastic cups with very poor quality tea and coffee. Overall I would recommend as a base in Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    153
    93
    40
    25
See reviews for
34
151
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week holiday and it was nice and grand when entering. The staff were nice and nothing bothered me about this stay. Clean and basic. However we would have preffered a room with a window facing outside. Having said that, that's just my personal taste. I would return here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I chose to stay here on the back of reviews I had read and certainly the location was excellent and a 5 minute walk from my meetings. The hotel was clean and efficient. However, despite the Hungarians being impressed at my hotel choice, because it has a helipad on the roof- my room was pokey and small and the only natural light was from window which opened onto the indoor "atrium" (read corridor). The room was too dark have the lights off and as a woman you can imagine I didn't want people from the atrium looking in. The very good thing was that the Wifi was excellent- very fast and I got lots of work done.
For those looking for hotel central to all the tourist sites and reasonably priced I would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is, at best a two to three star hotel
The rooms are terribly small, there is no bath only a shower
It isn't a five star hotel at all, at best it has the features of a budget hotel. The only good thing about this hotel is its location and thats about it in all honesty

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. The suites may be better, I don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our welcome to Hotel President was nice enough. The gentleman on reception went through the usual, breakfast times etc. When we got to the room though, it was a different story. No shower. I paid for an Executive Suite which is supposed to be a cut above the rest and sadly it was grotty and without a shower, which meant we spent most mornings sat in the bath trying to wash that way. Upon talking to reception I was told "but your in an Executive Suite. There are no showers in the Suites", as if this was something everybody should know and accept as being a universal truth. We were told she could downgrade us to a regular room which have showers and that was all that could be done. The room was missing bits of carpet and the furniture was badly stained (I have photos). Also, they have a nice note in the room stating that you should count everything upon your arrival as, if on your departure they decide that anything is missing, they will assume that you are a thief and charge the cost of the item to your bill. Avoid the breakfast option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and we had a great time. The rooms where great, but small. It was mirrors over the bed and around the bed, quit nice actually, we loved it :) The breakfast was just okay, nothing more. We also tried the spa on the hotel. We had to pay entrance fee to get to the pool area. It should be included, but it was not expensive, but very unnecessary and irritating. 2800 HUF (12 USD). The staff was very kind and helpful. The prices was also reasonable, we paid 28000 HUF pr night (112 USD) breakfast included. Nice hotel, we would love to stay here another time. LUPS

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel five years ago and it was great back then. Now it’s only good location which hasn’t change. The only great thing about this hotel is location.
Hotel needs renovation (dirty walls, old carpets ect). They changed toiletries to the cheap ones and it's not good. It's four star hotel which can't afford uniforms for staff? Housekeepers walks in shorts and very open t-shirts, at breakfast room all personnel wears different clothes, don't have name tags, so it's difficult to understand to whom ask for something. Low quality food at breakfast.
And the worst part was check-in procedure. I don't blame that poor girl, who had no idea what she needs to do - but you can’t leave her alone in reception, without any training. She didn't find my reservation (she let me understood that it's my fault, because I made booking the same day and no one checks bookings so often (?!)), I showed her confirmation. I asked, but she didn't let me go to the room until she decides what to do (she was in panic, trying to call somebody, after just looking at her notes). And we had to stand in front and wait. After a lot of time she finally found our reservation and we asked for a double room. She gave us twin. We called to ask, maybe they have double room available and she explained, that all rooms in this hotel have only twin beds, double beds don't exist in this hotel. Really? :) After two nights I moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with natural light (not inside view), but they probably won't care about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Budapest

Address: Hold utca 3 - 5, Budapest 1054 , Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President is a brand new luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent István Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Váci utca (Váci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel President Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.