We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - Bad folklore show” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kiraly Restaurant - CLOSED

Kiraly Restaurant
Tancsics Mihaly u. 25. (Castle District), Budapest 1014, Hungary (Várkerület)
+36-1-212-8565
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Várkerület
Sandnes, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food - Bad folklore show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice resturany with good food. But don't expect to much from the Folklore show! The livemusic was nice...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i could not have been happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I brought a group of 23 people to Király Étterem for dinner and a folkloric show. I was nervous since lots of folkloric shows can be touristy and group dinners can be mediocre. But was I happy! It was the best meal that I had in Budapest and the show was professional. The mini orchestra's music was wonderful and the folkloric dancing and singing was perfect. The show itself was about 25 minutes, just enough time, and the live background music started at 7:30pm and was still playing when we left just before 10pm. The delicious food was only superseded by the attentive waiters and their dedicated service. My entire group of 23 were very happy and glad that we went here. The room is beautiful with a stain glass ceiling fixture. I could not have been happier. When you combine the quality of the food with the entertainment, it is really a good value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lunch was so good we came back with friends for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Kiraly was recomended so we walked the two blocks from the Hilton to use their WiFi for free and have a nice lunch. The food was good and the service excellent so we brought two couples we had met on our trip with us when we came back for dinner. The food again was excellent. Moreover they had live music and folk dancing. The music and dancing were better then they had on the river cruise we had just seen two nights earlier. This is a restaurant we would go back to again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, IL
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Geared for tourists but a fine option to get gypsy music and local food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by our cruise line personnel, both for location (near our hotel) and the entertainment/live folk dance show. We figured it would be touristy but decided to go for it because we did want to experience Hungarian music and folk dance.

They offer a fixed menu (3 courses with drinks) for a set price of about US $45 at this writing in June 2012. This seemed to be a better way to sample a variety of courses than by ordering a la carte, though that was possible as well. Food tasted acceptable, though nothing to get excited about.

The music started at 7:30 p.m. and continued until about 9:45 with just a very small break. The music was enjoyable; we were looking for a cultural experience, after all. The dancers had limited room to dance and we felt we had just a small taste of their talents, clearly designed for a tourist situation. The musicians went to different tables to play requests, but then were quite bold in their request for a "suggested" 20 Euro tip. If you want to have conversation, this restaurant is not a good choice during the music hours. If you want a taste of Hungarian food and music in the Castle Hill district, in a restaurant where waiters speak at least some English (and perhaps other languages), this is a good choice. The restaurant does take credit cards but offers a 10% discount for cash.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
2 reviews
“Put this restaurant on your list when visiting Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Arriwing late in the evening the concierge of our hotel recommended us this restaurant. And we were blown away - elegantly presented delicious hungarian food and wine, excellent service and fantastic live music - it was a classy show!

We went back a few days later, having not quite the same excellent experience, especially regarding the timing and the presentation. The folk dance performance (which we didn't see the first night) was to much - the show should be the food and the service.

During our stay in Budapest we also visited a restaurant with a recommendation in the Michelin guide - and comparing - if the Kiraly could keep up the standard of the first visit it would definitely have one too. So, when you go to Budapest, add this restaurant to your list!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiraly Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiraly Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.