We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borsso Bistro in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borsso Bistro

Borsso Bistro
Kiralyi Pal u. 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36 1 789 0975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $17 - $53
Cuisines: French, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: A cozy and charming bistro in the heart of Budapest. French-hungarian cuisine, excellent reviews about the kitchen and the presence of the owners all the time. Live jazz music every weekend!
Walldorf, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Borsso Bistro in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hungarian fusion cuisine in a romantic, old world setting with excellent, low key live jazz guitar. Wine selection only includes one rosé, otherwise, OK

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    207
    66
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very good food, great friendly service! The fish soup was outstanding. Local wine was very good. Keep in mind It's not home style Hungarian but more towards fusion and I'm not saying that in a bad way at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Nouvelle Hungarian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had just arrived, it was pouring with rain, we were tired, looking for a simple meal of "proper" Hungarian food and the lass at the hotel suggested and booked this place for us. Now no disrespect to the Bistro, but this offers a more upmarket nouvelle cuisine presentation of the national dishes and is reflected in the price. The food was very good, and the wine list (exclusively Hungarian wines) comprehensive. So this is not a place for everyday food; more that special night out. There is accompanying music from mid evening. Service was exceptionally good and the surroundings excellent. Pity it wasn't really what we were after that day

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice, quaint, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at a nearby B&B and wandered in here for a snack. It's a nice little place, but a little steep on the pocketbook in comparison with similar places we'd found in Budapest.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Protein Rich and Very Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Typically I order a vegetarian dinner but decided to go with the waiter's suggestion and try a meat dish. Delicious. Oxcheek in a rich, thick sauce with homemade dumpling type noodles. My friend ordered a somewhat lighter dish of homemade noodles, duck confit and vegetables. This is a place we will want to revisit. Since we are here for two weeks, we made reservations for a return visit. If we are lucky, the live music will return to play "Take Five". Fun evening. Good wine list.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borsso Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borsso Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borsso Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.