We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for evening dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borsso Bistro

Borsso Bistro
Kiralyi Pal u. 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
36-1-7890975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,582 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $26 - $53
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: A cozy and charming bistro in the heart of Budapest. French-hungarian cuisine, excellent reviews about the kitchen,and the presence of the owners all the time. Live jazz music every weekend!
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good for evening dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The overall environment were very nice. Actually after 21:00 there was live soft music by to very young and talented duet. Food was well cooked and tasty. People were very helpful and polite.
I have seated outside and for warm nights definitely be seated outside.
However, food portions were rather small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    445
    161
    51
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Recently took my wife to this restaurant which I was lucky enough to book last minute on a Friday night. The ambience can be described as French inspired with a hint of traditional Hungarian along with the food which was excellent .

Courses were very well presented, flavours used were amazing in our dishes.

The service was also excellent we were treated like VIPs ,would throughly recommend any one to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our first meal in Budapest. At first we thought it was quite expensive. However we had a fantastic meal! Later we discovered that the value was actually quite good, especially when you look at the quality of the food. Good experience. Try it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just wandered into this restaurant by accident and were very impressed, both by the way we were treated and by the really delicious food. Little touches like bringing us a spoonful of cheese with honey as a starter and like the good advice we received about wine made this into a very special evening. Highly recommend the duck - mmmm. Lovely atmosphere too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Great food and people to match"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you're after a big bowl of steaming goulash and golf ball size dumplings, this restaurant is not for you - but if you want sophisticated food that a top class restaurant in any capital city would be proud to serve up, then do not miss going here. The menu is short but every dish that our party of four tried was a perfectly judged balance of flavours and elegantly presented. The rabbit goulash was surprisingly delicate, the beef cheeks a kaleidoscope of intense flavours and the ribeye steak just pink and perfect. The star of the show, however, had to be the blueberry charlotte which on it's own justified the air fare to Budapest - a mouthfull of bliss! A small ,well judged winelist complimented the style of food and the staff struck just the right note with their friendly welcome and helpful advice. We loved it so much that we returned for a "just as successful" encore. And how many millions of Forints did all this cost us - about £32 a head including wine and service. Try getting food of that quality at that price in Central London!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borsso Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Borsso Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borsso Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.