We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borsso Bistro

Borsso Bistro
Kiralyi Pal u. 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
36-1-7890975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,602 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $26 - $53
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: A cozy and charming bistro in the heart of Budapest. French-hungarian cuisine, excellent reviews about the kitchen,and the presence of the owners all the time. Live jazz music every weekend!
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Cosy and friendly atmosphere in this delightful bistro. Plumped for testing menu with matching wines and was not disappointed. The food was delicious and could not fault the service. We were recommended by friends and would definitely pass on this restaurant tip to others eating in Budapest. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    452
    165
    52
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Went for plain lunch an experiented real tasting fest.
Had tasting menus A and B. delicious, light, more into general European cuisine rather than local.
Staff very attentive, go in depth explaining how they match food and wines.
Def recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is an excellent value modern Hungarian restaurant. The ordinary menus are good value but, if you go for one of their tasting menus (with wine) you get an experience that would cost a lot more in other Western European capitals.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really nice restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant last week with my wife and really enjoyed it! We did a 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing and the food was amazing, by far the best we had while in Budapest. It was a Tuesday night and we didn't have a reservation but it didn't matter as it wasn't very busy. The waiters were friendly and the service was very good and although quiet the reataurant still had a nice atmosphere. It cost £100 for the food and wine for the both of us but I consider this excellent value considering the quality of the food. Excellent restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Boutique Restaurant with Creative Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had dinner at this nice and cozy restaurant. The service was great and the waiter was very friendly and professional. His wine recommendation was suitable and smart.
The food was great - choose the duck liver (one of the best appetizer I've ate in Budapest) over the soups and you won't be sorry.
The main courses were great as well. The french cuisine is recognizable with in the Hungarian dishes.

It is one of the worthiest restaurants is the old city.

Although, I wish they'll change the chairs to more comfortable ones :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borsso Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary

Been to Borsso Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borsso Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.