We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for students and younger people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De La Musica Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa De La Musica Hostel to your Saves list
Casa De La Musica Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   16 Vas St. | 8th District, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for students and younger people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I loved this hostel. The people were incredibly nice, laid back and very helpful. It's right next to the Jewish quarter which means cheap good restaurants, great pubs and clubs, and it's only a few metro stations away from all the attractions. Super cozy decor, bright colors and comfortable rooms.

On to the less good. It did not bother me at all because I can sleep through anything, but there is a pub downstairs so there is music playing well into the night. There is also a dance studio in the third and fourth floor so there's music playing during the day as well. Also, if you have back problems don't stay here, the beds are not very comfortable. Lastly, try to remember how much you are paying, and that for that reason a lot of students stay here, students who like to party, so be prepared, if you choose to share a room with other ppl, to have people coming in well into the wee hours of the morning...quite possibly drunk ;) Again, it didn't bother me at all, I actually loved it, made friends and ended up partying with said friends, but it is definitely a loud, happy and young hostel.

Take the free Budapest city walking tour! It was really good, enthusiastic fun tour guides and great pointers on food, souvenirs, where not to go, a fantastic city map and newsletter! Enjoy Budapest!

P.S. When going to Budapest, definitely invest on a 24 or 72 hr metro/tram pass. It's inexpensive, and worth it because they are strict with their transportation system. Waaaaay cheaper than taxis and safer too because taxis will try to cheat you. A good map of the tram/bus/metro is also good, unlike other cities I've visited, i.e. Prague, their stations are not well labeled at all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    51
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
31
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

about 10 of us rocked up in Budapest to this place, and were instantly welcomed in, shown to an impecably clean room with fresh linen, then cajouled downstairs to their terrace bar and given a free shot of incredibly strong palinka and dined on some lovely freshly prepared food for the price of a few quid. WOW, talk about a welcome. there we sat around on their terrace, sinking beers which were so cheap we couldnt quite believe it! We mingled with the owners, who were friendly, laid back and informative, and other travellers before setting out into the night of budapest to have a great night in a wonderful city!

On the recommendation of the owners, we had dinner at the most fantastic jazz type restaurant around the corner, i couldnt quite believe the price for the quality of food. then we went to some sick club on the other side of the block up all these graffitied stairs, playing dubstep with more cheap beer.

The hostel is lovely and clean, comfortable and in a great location. by far the best hostel ive ever stayed at!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

With a group of 4 people, we stayed in casa de la musica hostel in a 4 beds dorm room. We were not expected such a great venue for the money we paid. Great room, superb wallpaper makes it moore warm. Great, helpfull staff, lovely receptionist - ANITA - they gave us a coplett itinery how to spend our time in the city, to cover the most as time allowed. Budapest is great, even when is cold. Out of 9 country I have been travelled on my Europe trip far the best hostel I ever stayed. Thank you for the moorning coffees! Keep up the good job what You are doing. Thank you.

Room Tip: if you are 4 like us go for the 4 beds dorm , spacefull and nicely decorated. Or go to doubles or tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Wow, cannot fault this hostel! Girls dorms were great, lovely wallpaper. So so cheap- I mean I know the rest of Budapest is also cheap but this hostel in Paris for example would be around £30 a night! The hostel is very nicely decorated and has a great bar as well as an independent bar on the ground floor which is great for a drink and super cheap. Breakfast is served from 9-12 which kinda demonstrates what a party hostel is as most hostels serve breakfast til 9-9.30.. This does mean that the hostel can get very noisy and unlike many other hostels I didn't see any kids or families here! There are also dance sessions in the morning that take place in the hostel for locals which cause a lot of noise as the whole place vibrates with it but I didn't mind although some people would. Great breakfast too for about £2.80 which was yoghurts, cereal and then either eggy bread or scrambled eggs and bread in very generous portions! Hostel is in an amazing location within easy reach of the centre and there's a great ruin bar a 8 minute walk away. The kitchen is also great in the hostel. Only complaint is the luggage room or lack of. Luggage just left openly on floor and anyone can easily take it. On coming back I lost my bad and the staff weren't very helpful. It turned out it was under a sofa on the other side of the room but i don't know how it got there and it could have easily been stolen instead. Apart from that everything is perfect and they even provide you with linen! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was directed to this hostel when the hostel I was staying in nearby (which was quite a nice place I must mention) could not extend my stay there, and how fortunate was this!! Casa is large hostel with all the usual hostel facilities as well as own bar! and large terrace!! Accomodation is very adequate, you have multiple stay options in differently decorated rooms. You have your clean room, own locker in the room, easy access to showers, wi-fi through whole building, comfortable reception with computers, kitchen you can use, bicycles available for rent, secuity code to get in to the building and secutiy cards to access rest of areas (security is important!), and other essentials you are looking for in a hostel. But what really makes this hostel stand out is its character and its friendly outgoing staff, and these two points make all the difference.

Large terrace is a nicely decorated place, with a bar which opens in the evening and plays nice music, and a small swimming pool (yes you can swim in it!!!!!) which makes it a perfect place to meet your fellow travellers and enthusiastic and interesting Hungarian staff. Hungarian guys who work there have a very easygoing and welcoming attitude, don't hold yourself back with questions about Budapest, Hungary, its culture, people, or any other topic really. You will meet a range of interesting characters who you will have no problem communicating with due to there outgoing attitude and great knowledge of English. Once you meet other travellers and Hungarian staff while having a beer at the terrace you will find yourself preparing for a great night out as Hungarian staff is able to recommend you a range of mainstream and alternative places to go out, and actually has no problem joining you, or bringing you along with them if they have a chance. The atmosphere is truly amazing. It's easy to see that the staff is not only doing their job, but also enjoys it very much.

What else can I say about the hostel? It's a very lively place as I already mentioned, which I loved of course. The terrace bar will shut at 10pm, by that time you will probably move to one of the city bars/clubs with other people staying at the hostel, but if you are having such a good time, or possibly still planning your night out, that you are still there at 10pm, well, make your way down to ground floor to a bar called Roham (you will see it when you will enter the building) which is open until late. It has inside and outside areas, friendly staff, live shows sometimes, etc. Casa is the perfect location to really have fun. Again query staff on locations, Budapest has a whole range of things going on, so I am sure you will find something for your taste, just don't be shy and speak to staff about your preferences and expectations. I am not going to go into detail about what Budapest has to offer as it has to offer very very much, just search for an article on it. So If you are up for an adventure in Budapest you must stay in Casa De La Musica.

Room Tip: Please make sure you book in advance as this hostel is a very popular one in Budapest, in summer tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

If you are going to Budapest, you have to stay at Casa de la Musica. It is cheap, the staff is the friendliest that I have encountered in a year’s worth of traveling in Europe, and the beer at the Hostels terrace bar is only about 1.5 euro/pint.

While other hostels charge you for towels, soap, and the like, Casa does not. They always have someone in reception—which is open 24hrs a day—and that person is always ready to help you find what you need. They also have lockers in reception for free.

The location is also great. You’re just about a 5-minute walk to Szimpla, the first ruin bar. It’s a gigantic bar that you must go to, so you might as well get a hostel that’s close so you can stumble home relatively quickly and safely.

Budapest is hot, so it’s great to be able to take a dip in the perfectly cold inflatable pool that the hostel has on the terrace. Seriously, just get up in the morning, get a beer, and recover in the pool. It’s the best way to do it.

Since Budapest is somewhat spread out, rent some bikes also. The hostel has several that you can rent for just 5 euro.

There is really nothing bad that I can say about the hostel. If you don’t stay here, then you are staying at the wrong place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

First thing; the price. So cheap! The staff are the nicest people you'll Ever meet, there is wifi and a Very nice bar. The welcome drink is the craziest thing Ever though. If you're going to Budapest you Would be stupid not too stay at casa de la musica!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Corvin Point Hostel
#70 of 557 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Unity Hostel
#140 of 557 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Hotel
Marco Polo Top Hotel
#144 of 557 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2Night Hostel
#181 of 557 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
District I / Buda
Santico Art Hostel and Guesthouse
Terézváros
HBC Hostel
HBC Hostel
#56 of 557 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Musica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Musica Hostel

Address: 16 Vas St. | 8th District, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa De La Musica Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100-bed hostel with 4,6,8,10,12-bed dormitories, female-only rooms and private rooms. Free Wifi & PCs, free coffee & tea, fully equipped kitchen, summer bar and pool, bike rent & tours, free maps, free linen, no curfew or lock-out! Discounts for groups! We are a few steps away from sightseeing hot spots, cultural monuments, ruin bars and party places! The Casa is designed for the curious traveler: rent a bike from us, ask about our organized tours, enjoy our terrace bar Bikini Beach and the summer pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa De La Musica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De La Musica Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.