We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is happening in Casa, no.1 hostel in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Musica Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de la Musica Hostel to your Saves list
Casa de la Musica Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   16 Vas St. | 8th District, Budapest, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Everything is happening in Casa, no.1 hostel in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was directed to this hostel when the hostel I was staying in nearby (which was quite a nice place I must mention) could not extend my stay there, and how fortunate was this!! Casa is large hostel with all the usual hostel facilities as well as own bar! and large terrace!! Accomodation is very adequate, you have multiple stay options in differently decorated rooms. You have your clean room, own locker in the room, easy access to showers, wi-fi through whole building, comfortable reception with computers, kitchen you can use, bicycles available for rent, secuity code to get in to the building and secutiy cards to access rest of areas (security is important!), and other essentials you are looking for in a hostel. But what really makes this hostel stand out is its character and its friendly outgoing staff, and these two points make all the difference.

Large terrace is a nicely decorated place, with a bar which opens in the evening and plays nice music, and a small swimming pool (yes you can swim in it!!!!!) which makes it a perfect place to meet your fellow travellers and enthusiastic and interesting Hungarian staff. Hungarian guys who work there have a very easygoing and welcoming attitude, don't hold yourself back with questions about Budapest, Hungary, its culture, people, or any other topic really. You will meet a range of interesting characters who you will have no problem communicating with due to there outgoing attitude and great knowledge of English. Once you meet other travellers and Hungarian staff while having a beer at the terrace you will find yourself preparing for a great night out as Hungarian staff is able to recommend you a range of mainstream and alternative places to go out, and actually has no problem joining you, or bringing you along with them if they have a chance. The atmosphere is truly amazing. It's easy to see that the staff is not only doing their job, but also enjoys it very much.

What else can I say about the hostel? It's a very lively place as I already mentioned, which I loved of course. The terrace bar will shut at 10pm, by that time you will probably move to one of the city bars/clubs with other people staying at the hostel, but if you are having such a good time, or possibly still planning your night out, that you are still there at 10pm, well, make your way down to ground floor to a bar called Roham (you will see it when you will enter the building) which is open until late. It has inside and outside areas, friendly staff, live shows sometimes, etc. Casa is the perfect location to really have fun. Again query staff on locations, Budapest has a whole range of things going on, so I am sure you will find something for your taste, just don't be shy and speak to staff about your preferences and expectations. I am not going to go into detail about what Budapest has to offer as it has to offer very very much, just search for an article on it. So If you are up for an adventure in Budapest you must stay in Casa De La Musica.

Room Tip: Please make sure you book in advance as this hostel is a very popular one in Budapest, in summer tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
24
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

If you are going to Budapest, you have to stay at Casa de la Musica. It is cheap, the staff is the friendliest that I have encountered in a year’s worth of traveling in Europe, and the beer at the Hostels terrace bar is only about 1.5 euro/pint.

While other hostels charge you for towels, soap, and the like, Casa does not. They always have someone in reception—which is open 24hrs a day—and that person is always ready to help you find what you need. They also have lockers in reception for free.

The location is also great. You’re just about a 5-minute walk to Szimpla, the first ruin bar. It’s a gigantic bar that you must go to, so you might as well get a hostel that’s close so you can stumble home relatively quickly and safely.

Budapest is hot, so it’s great to be able to take a dip in the perfectly cold inflatable pool that the hostel has on the terrace. Seriously, just get up in the morning, get a beer, and recover in the pool. It’s the best way to do it.

Since Budapest is somewhat spread out, rent some bikes also. The hostel has several that you can rent for just 5 euro.

There is really nothing bad that I can say about the hostel. If you don’t stay here, then you are staying at the wrong place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

First thing; the price. So cheap! The staff are the nicest people you'll Ever meet, there is wifi and a Very nice bar. The welcome drink is the craziest thing Ever though. If you're going to Budapest you Would be stupid not too stay at casa de la musica!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

At first i only wanted to stay for 2 days, but then I spend more than 2 weeks in the Hostel and experienced all ups and downs.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They sometimes go to a party or a Bar with you, when they end their shift.
The cleaning ladies are friendly and there every day to clean the toilettes, rooms, etc.
There are dancing classes and rooms troughout the building, you will hear a lot of music, but will also see a lot of niece girls or boys if you want to.
I was even allowed to make BBQ in the Hostel Bar and serve some people with my food.

After all it is all the time the people who make a good Hostel and not the Hostel itself, and if you are a friendly person, then you will have a good time here. I had i know and i will be back, even if it is just for a beer and some shittalk and jokes with the staff.

What i didnt like was that i had to leave this place, i tend to get stuck in nice places.

And dont forget to visit the Roham Bar dowstairs for a Friss Limonade and if you give them tips, then the drinks will be better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

One of the best place I ever seen. Class lessons are so funny, this place is always full of music and life. Staying in the pool on the terrace bar was so great ! The center of Budapest is really close, all the area around the hostel is full of locals pubs, restaurants and clubs ! The staff is amasing, so nice, they help you all the time, give good advices (If you go there trz the bike tour, best day you can spend in Budapest to discover the city !!!) and even show you good places to go after their work. You can spend time with the people who work there when they stop working. And you can make barbecue if you're a good cooker ! I'll be back one day and live there Alex !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

There is a lot going on at Casa de la Musica, dance classes/practices on both nights we stayed there, which could be heard from anywhere in the hostel, with practice rooms throughout the building, half the time we thought they were going to come through the roof.
In addition to the there are VERY thin walls - to the point that a normal volume conversation from the room next door kept us awake.
Hot water ran out two out of the three days that we stayed and locks on the shower by our room did not seem all that secure - just a loose hook over a metal clasp.
Good points: free wifi, communal kitchen, helpful staff and free city map.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Pros:
- Good location
- Friendly and hepful staff
- Hostel is clean and the furniture and painting seem new
- Wi-fi in the rooms
- Bar in the ground level of the hostel

Cons:
- Horrible mattress
- No privacy at all: transparent curtains, common balcony with full view of the room, common bathrooms without lock
- Bathrooms: strange organization, smelly, some toilets and showers don't have a lock, and some without hot water

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de la Musica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Musica Hostel

Address: 16 Vas St. | 8th District, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa de la Musica Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning to visit Hungary? Backpacking in Budapest? Looking for a place to stay or a meeting point for your group? Organizing a festival and you want to rent studios?You will find it all inCASA DE LA MUSICA HOSTEL AND CULTURAL CENTERColorful and affordable accomodation in the heart of Budapest!We offer bright, spacious and clean non-smoking 4 to 12 bed dormitories and private rooms up to 90 guests, along with several free services and activities inside and out! Enjoy our terrace bar, ground floor café, basement concert hall or the dance classes upstairs - there is always something to do in the Casa! And if you feel like going out: just ask our staff members about organized tours all around the capital and the countryside - you will leave with the best memories of Hungary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Casa de la Musica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Musica Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.