We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but supplies of cakes were running low!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auguszt Cukraszda

Auguszt Cukraszda
Kossuth Lajos utca 14-16. | between Astoria and Ferenciek tere, Budapest 1053, Hungary
+36 1 337 6379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Coffee and cake shop in downtown Budapest, one of the oldest companies in Hungary.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice, but supplies of cakes were running low!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

They had fun out of their famous cream slice so we had to settle for some average cakes. These were nice but alone weren't worth the trip. I hope supply meets demand in future.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    33
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“One of the best in my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful and tasteful pastry, only as can be tasted in Hungary. Turos cusa, it is your choice for sure!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“definitely stands out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I tried a few Cukraszda places. This one definitely stands out.

I suggest trying other places first so you have a basis. This place cost slightly more than others, but still very affordable.

A must if you are nearby.

My one complaint is that it closes quite early.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Kreme of the crop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited the cafe on Kossuth Lajos utca - apparently there are others in the city - for afternoon coffee and cake and what a delight. The drinks were good but the Kreme cake was delicious - I could have eaten it again. Just looking at the picture above is making my mouth water!

The bill was a pleasant surprise too. About half the cost of a similar treat at Gerbeaud. Not as grandiose as there but a really nice interior nonetheless.

Pleasant young waitress too. All in all, definitely to be recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were staying in a hotel just across the street and decided to skip our breafast there in favour of this cafe. Unfortunately, we didn't find it something special. Yes, they coffee and cakes were tasty but the waiter girl was a bit rude (maybe she was having a bad morning? I don't know). Nothing special at all. It's even a bit of shame that we couldn't enjoy the visit as much as everybory else seems to do.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auguszt Cukraszda also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Auguszt Cukraszda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auguszt Cukraszda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.