We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best - Why Go Anywhere Else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auguszt Cukraszda

Auguszt Cukraszda
Kossuth Lajos utca 14-16. | between Astoria and Ferenciek tere, Budapest, Hungary
+3613376379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Dessert, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Coffee and cake shop in downtown Budapest, one of the oldest companies in Hungary. New: now we serve breakfast and lunch as well on weekdays!
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best - Why Go Anywhere Else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This review refers to the Auguszt location on Feny utca, in the second district near Széll Kálmán Tér.

I have been to Auguszt several times, to get cakes and pastries to take away, and to have coffee upstairs. Everything they make is excellent, and you can tell they use quality ingredients. Although known for their cakes and sweets, they make the best Pogacsa I have had in Budapest. The ladies downstairs do not speak much English, but they are always really helpful when I try to ask them for help or recommendations. If I have company coming over and need something special, I know whatever I get from Auguszt will not disappoint. I love having a place like this were I can simply trust that everything will be good!

The cafe upstairs is super cute and the service is friendly. They speak English upstairs, too, which helps.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    24
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best cukraszda in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The best cukraszda in town , good service, wonderful ambiance, trully recomend! Will return for surse!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Linton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited this coffee shop in the summer last year amazing that this little cafe was in the heart of a busy area!
Hop the Metro and sample the delights for yourself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Old establishment, tastey cake, But DUBLE PRICED !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After reading the goods about this place , me and my freind go their, as 2 of us like cakes.
The place was open many years ago and you can see it. we taste 2 traditional cakes and coffee.
it was tastey and excatly the right taste. but the same good as in many other places. just their its 260-350 forints, and here its cost over 600 forint. 220 forint = $1. your cohice- your money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwkoop, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a must-do when visiting Budapest: eating a brilliant Auguszt cake with delicious hot chocolate. The hot chocolate at Auguszt was the best hot chocolate I've ever tasted in my life!
I can also recommend the sachertorte, but there was also 1 cake I wasn't fond of: the cherry poppy seed cake. I might offend Hungarians by saying this, because the poppy seed is a very important ingredient in the Hungarian kitchen, but I just don't really enjoy the taste of the poppy seeds.

When asking for the bill, you will be surprised by the extremely low prices for your food (just 500HFT, which is around 1,70 eur, for hot chocolate). So just give the personnel a huge tip: they really deserve it, because they are very kind, helpful and hard workers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auguszt Cukraszda also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Auguszt Cukraszda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auguszt Cukraszda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.