We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go and see/taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auguszt Cukraszda

Auguszt Cukraszda
Kossuth Lajos utca 14-16. | between Astoria and Ferenciek tere, Budapest, Hungary
+3613376379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 1,680 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Dessert, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Coffee and cake shop in downtown Budapest, one of the oldest companies in Hungary. New: now we serve breakfast and lunch as well on weekdays!
Subotica, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just go and see/taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to a coffee-shop at Kossuth Lajos utca (since there are 3). Quiet, nice place. Cakes are excellent. I really do recommend one with 3 kinds of chocolate and one with lemon filling and a touch of levander! Delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    22
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Experience Not To Be Missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Went there on our first day with wife and daughter. It was the best way we could imagine to start our short break. The cake ( I had ginger and never normally eat cakes) was amazing. The surroundings were stunning, and the history of the family over the years, and how they beat adversity is fascinating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ace coffee shop- definitely the best hot chocolate ever! The pastries were of a high standard, the staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was calm and quiet (a welcome change from the bustling city). It roughly worked out at £4 each for a cake and coffee- bargain for the quality you receive. If you want a warming coffee in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere then go to Auguszt Cukraszda.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Best coffee shop I have been to in Budapest downtown. Only a few minutes from Elisabeth (Erzsébet) bridge. Really delicious cakes, salty things like spinach or ham stuffed little rolls. They say it's the oldest confectionery in Budapest, still owned by the same family. Very friendly service, and nice interior also. You must try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This beautiful shop is an oasis in downgtown Budapest! They serve fantastic cakes, try the traditional Hungarian Dobos cake, or the Somlói Galuska, but the strange named XC cake is my favorite! It is near Astoria metro station, a must see (and TASTE) ! Ask about the family history! It is amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auguszt Cukraszda also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Auguszt Cukraszda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auguszt Cukraszda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.