We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Mamma

Trattoria Mamma
Hercegprimas u. 3., Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+3612675268
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the best meals we have had in Budapest. The service was first class and the food was fantastic. You will not leave hungry because they do not skimp on the portions.
The restaurant is used by the locals and that is a good indicator it is good value.
Most likely go back tomorrow.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your opinion is quite a compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    72
    38
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not so much Italian as a change.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice as we were struggling with the convoluted rich and unnecessary combinations in the typical Hungarian restaurants. Whilst the main courses were not strictly Italian we enjoyed the pizza, bruschetta and pasta dishes that we tried. Prices were reasonable and the ambience pleasant. Staff were a little rushed. Conveniently situated close to St. Stephen's Church. To be recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

to start with WOW.......... what a fantastic Italian restaurant, serving traditional Italian food to a very high standard, I don't think I have ever tasted Italian food cooked so well. Traditional home made tiramisu that just melts in your mouth.. The service is excellent as is the restaurant its self, the menu is first class, it may be a little difficult to find, but its well worth hunting out, you will not be disappointed, Its very good value for money, Did I mention the food is Fantastic !!! (its approx 20 yards from the President Hotel)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Wow. I am honored. Feels really good to satisfy such an experienced traveller. Thank you for sharing it with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food, shame about the table location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having recently visited Budapest we stumbled across Trattoria Mamma by chance, the food was lovely (Veal & Duck), as was the wine. The waiter was quick and efficient, although i did notice towards the end of our meal the restaurant did get a bit busy and perhaps because of this we did not get offered a dessert menu. I'm sure in summer our table by the door would have been brilliant but as it was snowing outside it would have been nice to have been seated elsewhere without the constant draft, particularly as there were plenty of tables when we arrived without reserved signs on. Nevertheless we did enjoy the meal and the decor was nice so i would return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. please accept the fact that guests can take all seats that are not reserved. As I have explained in my previous answers, guest may be late to occupie their reservation. I am sorry for the inconvenience, please reserve a table next time. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Favorite destination in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Every visit we make in Budapest includes a tasty lunch/dinner in Mamma!
We traveled from Timisoara once only for a dinner in Mamma, even we have good Italian restaurants here, too!
We tried most dishes from the menu, but we cannot decide which one is the best.
Staff, food, atmosphere, all are great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerek, Owner at Trattoria Mamma, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the really nice review, I am happy you appreciate the work of our staff and take time to share your experience with other travellers. thanks for the nice words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mamma also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Trattoria Mamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Mamma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.