We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Italiana L'ARANCETO

Osteria Italiana L'ARANCETO
Dorottya utca 8 V Distrct, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+3612693534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #282 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $24 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We selected the restaurant based on tripadvisor recommendation and it was even better than expected. A small and cosy restaurant. The service was very friendly. The wine recommendation was a perfect match with the excellent food, Next time in Budapest we know where to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    59
    18
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“One of the best Italians in Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We wanted a change from our usual favourite italian place (Pom O'doro), so based on the mainly good reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to give it a go.

The restaurant is pleasantly presented, with trattoria style exposed brick walls mixed with contemporary fittings. This is a small restaurant, but the table spacings are good. Seating was also comfortable.

We arrived for Sunday lunch and it was not very busy at all. Other reviewers have also observed this restaurant can be quiet - I think this may be the location, but I can confirm it is nothing to do with the quality of the place, which was excellent for us on this day.

We decided to take a relaxed, slow lunch since we had little to do that day. To start, we ordered some prosecco. Although this appeared to be Brut, it was a little sweet for my liking, but still perfectly okay. Unusually, it was served in ordinary wine glasses rather than champagne flutes. It would also have been nice to have a greater choice of prosecco. The wines were reasonably priced however, and the rest of the wine list was quite comprehensive although we had trouble ordering any Montepulciano so we opted for a Primitivo instead which was fine.

Starters were perfectly good and well presented: Caprese salad, rocket salad with tomatoes and bruschetta. The bruschetta was especially good, being very garlicy.

The mains were good too, the gnocci and truffle tagliatelle were excellent.

As one other review remarked - the desserts are not made on the premises, but were nevertheless very good.

The service was friendly and efficient too.

I would give this restaurant full marks and 5 stars, but I just think it falls short on very very small details, in comparison to Pom O Doro and other top Budapest Italians: It is similarly priced to the top Budapest restaurants, but the service isn't quite as polished as it is in other places. The napkins are paper. There are no Champagne flutes for the bubbly. They didn't have the choice of wines listed in stock. There is only one Prosecco available. This list goes on. These are tiny details that are easily remedied, but just fall short of the competition.

Still, this place is better than most of the other Italians in Budapest. It's just challenging the better ones in terms of price.

I will definitely visit again, if I can't get a table at Pom O'Doro.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were staying just around the corner at The Best Western Parlament and as it was raining wanted a restaurant nearby. This was the first decent looking one we came across. Simple Italian cuisine well cooked. My wife and I enjoyed our meal which was not expensive and was served quickly by a friendly waitress. Just what we wanted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A taste of Italy in Budpest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service coupled with tasty food makes l'Aracento a great place for dinner. Best espresso in Budapest!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

L'aranceto offers simple homecooked Hungarian style italianesque cuisine. Unfortunately the Shrimp Risotto was not at all nice. The Chicken fillet was ok however; Just like in Italy though, things on the menu are exactly as listed (i.e. no vegetables, you need order any side dishes separately).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Italiana L'ARANCETO also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Osteria Italiana L'ARANCETO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Italiana L'ARANCETO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.