We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Hostel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Bell Hostel & Apartments to your Saves list
Bell Hostel & Apartments
Szent Istvan krt. 24, Budapest 1137, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 159 Budapest B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The apartment had everything it offered beforehand, and the service was perfect!
We were 11 people from work going to a co.gress in Budapest, and this really was the best.place we could have stayed. We highly recommend it :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice apartement on the 4th floor with elevator and private terrace. Super well located near the metro Nyugati Palyaudvar. Very quite and clean.The owner Gabor gave us plenty of nice info about Budapest and is always available to help. Good address and we'll surely choose this option again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Its a flat, so you have a lot of Independence.

Its great located, you can walk to any historical place or to the river, on less than 10 mins.

Gabor, the owner, its a well educated and really nice guy, he'll help you with any special need.

Room Tip: If you go in summer time, you should pay for the AC remote control (I think 5 euro per night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I can't review this place as a traditional hostel, as I was here in a group and we rented the whole place for the week. However, if there are 8 or more of you travelling, I can certainly suggest this option as cost effective.
Great location on the Pest side next to Margit Bridge, it's only a 15 minute walk to the stunning Parliament building.
Supermarkets, bars, cafes and restaurants are all nearby, and there is even a decent ruin pub a short walk away. A metro stop 2 mins up the road gives easy access to everything Budepest has to offer.
For those using for the same purpose as my group, the location provides a great base for Sziget festival, only 10 mins walk from the boat service to the island, or a short walk or tram journey across Margit bridge to pick up the train.
As for the place... 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms, 5 bedrooms, a rooftop terrace and a communal living space, the place worked really well for our group of 10.
My only suggestion for improvement would be putting more single beds in the rooms to accommodate "non coupley" groups. Also, bear in mind the air con is charged extra if you are booking in the summer (5 euro per room per night) - you WILL need it if!
The owner was especially welcoming, friendly and accommodating, even organising very reasonable transfers to/from the airport and buying a load of bottled water to help us cope with the 42 degree heat!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just stayed at the Bell Hostel as a group of 10 in the 5 bedroom Hostel (as apposed to the smaller apartments)

Trip over to Buda was for a return to the Sizget Festival and to be frank location wise i can think of a better place to stay. The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the Ferry landing point to the east side of the festival, or was a 5 minute walk from a Metro station that could get you either round the other side of the festival site, or most anywhere in the city on public transport. Takes about 20 minutes to the Gellert spa or the half an hour to Szechenyi spa, both definite requirements if you are going to do the festival or the city properly.

The hostel itself is a good size, with 2 kitchens, roof terrace, lounge area (with 2 double sofa beds in) then 2 double rooms and 3 large triple rooms with a double and single in each. There was more than enough space for all 10 of us to have a bed each, and plenty of room at all times. The terrace catches the sun nicely in the morning too which is a bonus. Just about everything required is provided. The Boiler packed up the day before we arrived but Gabor (the owner) sorted this double quick so issues on arrival, also there was some minor issue with the AC (of which all rooms have at extra charge) but again this was fixed straight away so no real issues at all. There is no Hifi, but other than that everything you need is there. There are plenty of local shops including a small SPA 2 minutes from the door and then a Lidl a 10 minute walk north.

I didn't see the individual apartments, but if the standard of the large hostel is anything to go by i would have no hesitation in booking them or it again in future, in fact if we return to Sziget or Buda again i would absolute be looking to book one of the properties, location price and service are all excellent.

Gabor the owner was a huge help in getting us organised for the festival, speaks very good english, and told us he had been renting apartments out for 10 years, and it really shows in terms of service. As a group we have been staying in apartments all over the world for a number of years, and i can honestly say i don't remember a better experience through from initial inquiry all the way to check out. He arranged transport to and from the Airport for a very reasonable cost, and as a cheeky bonus got us a limo for the return journey which capped off a fantastic week in the sun.

Absolutely bang on, and highly recommended if you are going to Budapest, not much else to say really!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Really central location within walking distance of most attractions, friendly and helpful staff, very clean and quiet and spacious room. Good cooking facilities. Would definitely stay again. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Bell hostel is a very good place to stay in Budapest
It is near to underground, to the river, to the castle and another important places in Budapest.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful.
The hostel is very clean, tidy, comfortable furnished
I recommend to stay at hostel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Hostel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hostel & Apartments

Address: Szent Istvan krt. 24, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Hostel&Apartments provide comfortable, spacious and clean private rooms and apartments in the city center. Main attractions, shops, supermarkets, clubs and pubs are in a walking distance and we are easily reachable by public transport. The use of guest kitchens, internet (Wifi as well), tea and coffee, towels and linen are all included in the price. Guests have the opportunity to buy tickets for different sightseeing tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bell Hostel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Hostel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.