We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Hostel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bell Hostel & Apartments to your Saves list
Bell Hostel & Apartments
Szent Istvan krt. 24, Budapest 1137, Hungary   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #12 of 160 Budapest B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a small hostel on the two top floors in an apartment building. I think this hostel suits travelers who are looking for a central location to stay in Budapest. The hostel itself is very quiet, mainly I would guess because of the consideration of the ordinary residents that also live in the building.

Some noise from the street can be heard throughout the day and night. The building is situated at a big street with quite a lot of traffic passing through, which also has trams that operate on a tight schedule around the clock. I could hear the trams when I was lying in my bed, but I had no problem to sleep anyway.

The hostel is easy to reach from the airport with the public transportation network. One bus and one metro line gets you to the Nyugati metro station, which also is the location of the train station for national and international train connections. I checked out the city in google earth before I left my home country, and that made it even easier to find the location of the Bell Hostel.

The staff was very nice, friendly, cheerful, welcoming and helpful. It was a pleasure to arrive and get all this attention and help with tips of what to see and where to find it. The very nice woman that received me took her time to help me without any rush at all. I have stayed in hostels all over the world, and I do not think that I have ever felt welcomed to this degree anywhere else. It was a really good start on my four nights stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here after a conference at the Corinthia. This is a gem of a place. I had a room facing the central courtyard, so the room was quiet. Friendly and helpful. Brilliant value for money. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Extremely well located, new furniture, clean. Small but well equipped. Quiet. An extremely nice play to stay in Budapest, which I would definitively chose again. The staff is very helpful and nice. Only lacking is reception service (can be reached by mail or phone).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Its a well located hostel located on a 4th floor of a building in the st.istvan körut, one of budapests mainstreets. Staff was effective and friendly. Rooms are spacious,clean and well decorated. But as you have to keep the windows closed it gets very hot during the day, and air conditioning costs extra. My room (the green one) headed to the street, which meant a lot of noise during the night, so i had to keep the windows closed also at night. Be careful as there might be some weird drunk or crazy people around late at night.
Price is a bit high for budapest, but after all it was ok!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Bell Hostel is conveniently located near the Nyugati pályaudvar train station on the eastern "Pest" side of Budapest. From Budapest airport, trains run consistently to Nyugati station. For the equivalent of a couple of dollars per person, you should be able to reach your room from the airport in less than an hour.

The hostel is located on the 4th floor of a mixed-use building which houses some businesses, the hostel, and residential apartments. The hostel itself is two different levels and the 5 or 6 rooms overlook both the inner courtyard of the building, and the main street along which you enter the property. There is a small elevator which runs adjacent to the staircase for those with heavy luggage.

As others have described the hostel office is open only limited hours each day, but the owners or employees are very responsive if you call or email at any point during your stay. The property offers simple ammenities - two kitchens with everything you need to store or prepare food, two shared bathrooms, five or six bedrooms, a main lounge, and an outdoor balcony. During our stay the hostel was not very full, so there was no competition for bathrooms and the overall property was immaculately clean. The beds were foam mattresses, and pillows and towels were provided. Free wi-fi was available more or less throughout the whole property although some of the corners in our room had relatively poor reception. One small drawback was that the property still doesn't seem to offer hair dryers - there was one our first day, but it appears to have belonged to another guest because it disappeared after that first day.

The staff will give you a good overview of Budapest, and can get you set up with Hop-on-Hop-off bus tickets, or a Budapest pass. We didn't use either of these services because we found walking around the city to be a generally pleasant experience. The staff recommended excellent restaurants for breakfast and dinner at very reasonable prices.

If you're looking for luxury you're probably better off in a hotel than staying at Bell Hostel, but for a clean, well-located room in Budapest you can't go wrong with this property.

Room Tip: With temperatures in the 70's or 80's (F), we found that our courtyard facing room stayed ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just back form six night in Budapest. We stayed in the" little apartment" at the bell hostel. The apartment is small but would be great for a couple. Perfect location for visit.Very clean and great base. Very close to train, metro, tram and bus. Loved the 2 tram along the Danube to the city centre. The owner is full of information and very helpful. Fantastic City.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed there for a week and liked the accomodations. I liked that the guesthouse is small only a four rooms upstairs, so there is not much traffic. I stayed in a room overlooking the inside court on the second floor. Our room was clean, the bathroom was ok. The size of the room with double bed was perfect. The room was also quiet. However there is no A/C so the room got hot during the day. There is a pretty well equipped kitchen downstairs and a computer with internet connection. We speak the language so we did not really care for the lack of reception. The only problem we fiding the place inside this huge building, and the difficulty of carrying our luggage up (the elevator is small). The best part of the guesthouse is its location. We would stay there again. The owner also let us keep our lugagge all day at the guesthouse since our departure was 11 pm and had no place to keep our luggage.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Hostel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hostel & Apartments

Address: Szent Istvan krt. 24, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Hostel&Apartments provide comfortable, spacious and clean private rooms and apartments in the city center. Main attractions, shops, supermarkets, clubs and pubs are in a walking distance and we are easily reachable by public transport. The use of guest kitchens, internet (Wifi as well), tea and coffee, towels and linen are all included in the price. Guests have the opportunity to buy tickets for different sightseeing tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bell Hostel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Hostel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.