We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budpest from 12th floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expo Congress Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Expo Congress Hotel to your Saves list
Expo Congress Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Expo ter 2, Budapest 1101, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Slovenija
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budpest from 12th floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Very nice hotel with nice rooms and fantastic view from bar at 12th floor.
Stuff is also nice, breakfast heavy continental and delicious. Lots of parking spaces. Need to pay deposit 60eur in case you are spending on your room account. Great value for reasonable price. Recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    74
    31
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
53
15
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the Expo Congress Hotel for an week. This was our first visit to Budapest. We found an awesome offer on Hotels.com which was "stay four night, pay for three" and even that was -50% off. The hotel is pretty new and has all the services and ammenities that an visitor might require.

There is an restaurant at the bottom floor, which is bit expensive but serves quite nice food. Most of the time during our visit it was completely empty. In the morning the buffet breakfast is avaible there (normally included with the room price).

On the top floor you can find the gym, baths (including an yakuzi, finnish and turkish sauna) and the Sky Bar. There is also the possibility to enjoy the scenery on the big balconies or sunbathe.

One big challenge is getting to the centrum and back from the hotel. There is an bus-station opposite the hotel from which you an take an local bus (number 100) to the closest Metro station (Pillango Utca) which is on the M2 line. If you catch the bus it will take about 15-20 minutes to get to the centrum (Deak Ferenc Ter). To get back to the hotel I would suggest that you go to the last station on the M2 (Örs vezér tere) and head to the bus station next to it. There you can find the same bus (number 100) which will take you to the hotel. On weekdays the bus drives the route every 30 minutes until 21.30. On saturday the last route is driven at 14.30 and not AT ALL on sunday.

Get an Legenda Pass to move around Budapest using the metro, trams and busses (you can buy a three day pass at the hotel and an 7-day pass at the dock! http://www.legendapass.com

There is an big shopping centre at Örs vezér tere which is an great place to eat, find souveniers and spend some time and forints.

Here are some of the positive and negative things listed:
The GOOD.
- Pretty good value for money (especially outside the tourist season).
- Excellent breakfast that will keep you satisfied long in the day.
- Impressive ammenities. Especially the yakuzi and sauna will help you recover after a long day.
- Spacious and clean rooms with excellent beds.
- Good air conditioning which can be manually adjusted.
- High speed WiFi (up to G-specs)
- Free parking.

The BAD.
- Service isn't always very nice. Especially the people working at the reception should get their attitudes checked. We are paying customers even if we are travelling on budget!
- Location is a bit challenging. It takes some time to get around.
- Elevators are exceptionally slow. When larger groups are checking in at once you might want to consider using the stairs.
- TV has only 2-3 english speaking channels available.

Conclusion: maybe not 4-stars, but 3++ ! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expodirector, General Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment! We are starting a hotel shuttle service running to downtown and to different other locations, which will make it easier to get around in the city. I hope you will enjoy this service on your next trip to Budapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Nice clean hotel, parking is Ok, breakfast very good, the only think is that they asked me a deposit (extra) 60 euros in order to open the mini bar of my room. Public transportation is close about 1 km.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

stayed there for 2 nights, very clean and big rooms, good quality breakfast, just a bit far from the centre, and needs more tables at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Before review I have to say I get this hotel on hrs.com 3 nights in double room with breakfast for only 98 euro (total). For that money I couldnt ask for more. Hotel is great, room is new, great bed, clean and modern bathroom, fast wi-fi, free parking, great and rich breakfast. the best thing is free wellness.After sightseeing you can relax in new and clean jacuzy on 12. floor with the view on Budapest. There is also free fitness.

Ok, hotel isnt on best location but with car you have 2 minutes to the nearest metro station (free parking) and you get to the center in 15 minutes. You have also a bus that takes you to the metro station.

Great hotel and best price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

for a new hotel, it lacks the basic modern technology such as voice mail for the room guests. I had to run down to the lobby each time i want to leave a message for my colleague who was not in her room.
sink drain was clogged on the day we checked in- phone did not work so i could not inform the hotel (did not want to wait for the very slow elevator and get down to the lobby to tell them because i was already V V tired.). it was repaired the next day after we told the receptionist.
heater- it did not work!! I set it at 26 and it stayed 21 all day, then i turned it up to 30- highest setting, then it went to 20! blanket was not thick enough for that temperature. When i brought it to the front desk's attention, all they said was- o, there's a lot of rooms that had heater problems! ??? so, that makes it ok???
Deliver problems- i left a bag of candy which i paid 11,000 for to be delivered to my friend's room at 706. She never got it. after 2 days of tracking it, it was delivered to someone else's room in 1012. Have no idea how 706 can end up in 1012??
convenient location for exhibition was about the only reason one would ever want to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I booked to stay here for 5 nights as I was attending an exhibition at the SYMA Centre. It is a nice hotel as it only opened about 6 months ago, and so everything is spotlessly clean and the rooms are modern, and quite large. To be honest, I don't think many people knew about it - I think there were about 6 other rooms taken during my stay, and I rarely saw another guest throughout the 5 nights I was there.

The real problem with the hotel is the location. I chose it as I thought it was close to SYMA, and I would be able to use public transport to get into the city centre. However, it is situated on a road which is not ideal for walking along as a lone female - quite quiet, lonely and probably about three quarters of a mile to the nearest Metro station. As a result I spent a fortune on taxis in order to get everywhere I wanted to go (including the SYMA Centre).

There were only a couple of small issues with regard to the actual hotel/service. The heating/AC system is a bit of mystery - I couldn't get it to warm up really, and it is quite noisy, so even if I had been able to make it work, I wouldn't have been able to sleep with it on. One night I actually slept with 2 duvets over me to try and stay warm! The other strange occurence was to do with the service - the reception staff are extremely helpful, they speak good English and will happily book taxis, but I had an odd conversation with another member of staff...I ordered room service most nights, as there are NO restaurants close by. All went well until night 3 when the member of the staff suddenly pointed out that service wasn't included. Perhaps I am strange in that I do not generally tip staff who bring the room service to my room unless they are unusually helpful, but unfortunately because of his limited English, I wasn't sure what he meant - I thought he might mean that a 10% supplement might be added to my bill on checkout, which I thought was a bit out of order. I put down the phone and thought I should check and so called reception - the man on the end of the phone went very quiet and then said he would "sort it out", then calling back and saying that the problem was solved - Basically the room service staff were requesting a cash tip from me. Bearing in mind there were about 7 guests in the whole place, they can't have been particularly busy and I really didn't appreciate being made to feel awkward about the fact that I hadn't tipped for the previous two nights. The room service menu, for the record, is a bit limited, and not great quality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Expo Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Congress Hotel

Address: Expo ter 2, Budapest 1101, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Congress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expo Congress Hotel looks over the Budapest Exhibition Centre, East of the centre of Budapest. The hotel offers a bar, sky bar and restaurant and 160 standard and superior guest rooms designed for the modern business traveler. For visitors wishing to see the sights of the city, the downtown area is easily accessible by bus or metro in less than 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Expo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expo Congress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.