We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are no double beds at all...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Expo Congress Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Expo Congress Hotel to your Saves list
Expo Congress Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Expo ter 2, Budapest 1101, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“There are no double beds at all...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in November. Me & my Girlfriend were tired when we checked-in arround 10pm, and we just wanted to have our room. I booked with double bed and I asked (because the hotel website says...) towels, bathrobes and slippers for the spa. When we entered in our room suddenly I have noticed that missed my requests... After we had to wait so long to get an other room with double bed. But of course it was the same! They put two single beds together... Ridiculous. Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. We didn't have sugar & salt on our table. We couldn't use the spa finally because it was not working during the day, just only mornings & evenings. We were completly satisfied only with the Sky Bar on 12. floor. Great view & we had excellent service! So the hotel is okay but not 4 stars at all...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Inter04!

We appreciate your feedback which you recently posted on the Tripadvisor.

It seems that we did not deliver the level of service which you expected from our hotel and we do apologize for that. Please be assured that we hold an official inquiry to avoid any similar situations in the future. Thank you also for highlighting our satisfying services like the Sky Bar.

We do hope we will have opportunity to welcome you again in the Expo Congress Hotel.

Kind regards,

Bobák Gergely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    35
    13
    13
See reviews for
32
61
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Relatively new Hotel with good breakfast. Me with wife and the couple of our friends, stayed here for 5 night's. Choose this Hotel in Booking.com for the good price and for positive reviews.
Wi-Fi in every floor of the Hotel, but apparently weak signal or narrowband Internet. Because frequently was no Wi-Fi.
The breakfast was good and tasty, but no varied, every morning the same choice, with the same cheese's and same sausage`s. No salt on the tables.
For unknown reasons the Bar on the Saturday and Sunday was closed, when we asked why, the receptionist was no answer to explain. And was no room service on these evening`s.
Something else, the stuff no change towels everyday and no adding shampoo`s and shower gel.
The location of the Hotel a little bit far from the center. One lonely bus 100 from the near metro station, that stops working at 08:30 p.m.. And the night walk no so lovely on the Expo utca.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor rooms, good views from the top :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear AlexeyS771

Thank you for taking the time to inform readers of the Tripadvisor about your experience.

Our technician team has chechked the wifi connection and it seems like working fine,
next time please contact with the reception, they may offer you some other options like the free buisness corner. We will definitely give some advise to the restaurant according to your remarks.

Thank you again for your contact and for your time it has taken to inform us of your experience.

Kind regards,

Bobák Gergely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First a small negative - Slight odor in the room, but nothing major. Now, the good stuff: Breakfast was superb. The mini bar was well stocked. The hotel facilities were very nice - bar, spa, all good. The gentleman at the front desk (Andras) was more than helpful. He was working a 16 hour shift, and still took all the time I needed to talk to me, help me find things, make me feel very welcome. His English was great, and he also spoke German. Made a GREAT impression first thing when I arrived. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Dan M!


We would like to thank you for the kind feedback about your stay in the Expo Congress Hotel.
It is good to learn that the reception staff in our hotel played a huge part in your great impression . It has always been our aim to hire employees with a positive attitude. We do hope that your next stay will be absolutely flawless!


You are always welcome to return to our Hotel.

Kind regards

Gergely Bobák
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip this September.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the receptionist was professional and polite.

The breakfast was a big disappointment for a 4 star hotel.
Very little to chose from, and the service was a total disaster.
No spoons, no salt and not sugar substance on the tables and not anywhere in the dinning room. When I ask for them, it took a long time to receive them.

I don’t recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear gyuri_juli!

Thank you for leaving us a comment on the Tripadvisor public website.
We understand your time is valuable and it means a lot to us,
please be assured we will carefully examinate this case.
Your feedback as always, is a base for our further improvement.
Thank you again also for highlighting the positive experience
according to the reception service. Please feel free to reach me directly at:
reception@expohotel.hu

Kind regards

Gergely Bobák
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We chose this hotel on a friends advice and we are now thankful for it. The rooms are big enough, very clean, comfortable and decorated with great taste! They serve a big variety of food for breakfast and it's all very well cooked, not to mention the very pleasant staff who make you feel like home! When in Budapest, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear

Thank you so much for this fantastic, detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us: such as the comfort and the decor of our rooms. We are very happy to learn that you were well looked after by our employees.

You are always welcome to the return to Expo Congress Hotel.

Kind regards,

Gergely Bobák
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrovaradin, Serbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First good thing - parking! After that, very friendly, positively and polite staff on reception. Very good English. The rooms are very comfortable, large, clean, room fridge has a basic. For that price, of course.
Staff at reception, when we were checking out, be was kind and tried to keep order, although was very crowd at this time.
All recommendation!
We are often in Budapest. For less of one month we will go again in Budapest. I am sure that will we choose Expo Congress Hotel again.

What is not good?
Hotel is maybe bit a far from city center.
In our bathroom shower cabin is not correct and water dripping out, all bathroom is wet (room at 7th floor, last room in right corner...). But we were to tired to we call reception.
At the breakfast was very crowded and, maybe, the food is a bit a poor.

Room Tip: If you choose some room on highest floors, and if room turned to city - you have a wonderful view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear PublicNet!

I appreciate your generous feedback you posted on Tripadvisor some days ago. Thank you for your nice remarks about the Hotel and for complimenting the reception staff. We also appreciate your honest feedback in regarding to the bathroom and the breakfast, we noted that it could have been even better.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the Expo Congress Hotel!

Kind regards,

Gergely Bobák
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It s a good hotel with good sleep. The room is gd but the toilet is not clean propely. Good breakfast for and is really value for money. The only comment is the sky bar is not open on autum and winter thwn therebis nothing to have after 10pm. It shoild have some alternative in autum and winter time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear PHDavidBrown!

Thank you for choosing Expo Congress Hotel during your recent trip to Budapest.
Your remarks are very imortant to us, the guest comments are the base of our further improvement. We would like to let you know that any time when the Sky Bar is not available the Bar next to the restaurat works instead of it.
Again, thank you for writing and sharing this experience with the travellers world.

Kind regards,

Gergely Bobák
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
ACHAT Premium Hotel Budapest
#122 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#123 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Danubius Hotel Arena
#180 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#139 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Congress Hotel

Address: Expo ter 2, Budapest 1101, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Congress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expo Congress Hotel looks over the Budapest Exhibition Centre, East of the centre of Budapest. The hotel offers a bar, sky bar and restaurant and 160 standard and superior guest rooms designed for the modern business traveler. For visitors wishing to see the sights of the city, the downtown area is easily accessible by bus or metro in less than 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Expo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expo Congress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.