We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was excellent, service wasn't” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bouchon

Cafe Bouchon
Zichy Jeno utca 33, Budapest H-1066, Hungary (Terézváros)
+36 1 353 4094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“The food was excellent, service wasn't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had dinner here during our first night in Budapest, which was only a 10 min walk from our hotel. Of course it wouldn't be a trip to Hungary without trying authentic Hungarian food, thus I had to have the Hungarian Goulash and it was excellent.

The only issue was the service, the waiters didn't seem very friendly and when I asked for a table by the window, I was told it was for a reservation, yet it was never occupied during our entire visit there.

The food however was great and made up for the lack luster service. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    151
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food in nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We dropped in without a reservation but the staff cleared a table for us even though they were relatively busy. Friendly and attentive service, relaxed atmosphere and good food! Not the cheapest place to eat out in Budapest, but well worth the price. The French chocolate cake was delicious! Would eat here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming service and traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were greeted like old friends and given lovely service. The menu was traditional Hungarian dishes, lots of meat, fish and sauces. We especially enjoyed the Tokay grape salad, along with salmon with pesto. Do reserve in advance because the locals love it too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Found it on Tripadvisor and I'm so happy I did! Small restaurant but great menu, especially for authentic Hungarian food. Also great wines for normal prices and very friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As a group of nine rather 'mature' friends, we were made very welcome, and found the restaurant lived up to all the excellent reviews. There was a large family party group in on the ground floor but this in no way impeded the excellent service and delicious meals we enjoyed in the gallery.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bouchon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bouchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.